We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel is at a great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa to your Saves list
Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   3999 Mission Blvd., San Diego, CA 92109   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save 15% Off Lowest Rates
Ranked #26 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Hotel is at a great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is within walking distance to many restaurants and great places to Hang out. It's great for families with children. It offers great access to the bay. Wonderful if you have little ones. There are no waves to knock them down. The bayside crowed is more relaxed than the ocean front side. The food is great, a bit pricey considering all the other choices you are surrounded by.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,998 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,045
    564
    227
    99
    63
See reviews for
673
518
61
276
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (627)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

I stayed at this resort for the first time while attending a yoga conference, which almost filled the hotel. We were upgraded to a suite at no extra cost in the tower. The service was excellent and friendly, the grounds are quite beautiful, the location cannot be beat - on mission bay, and a walk across the street one block takes you to the ocean side. Ten minutes from San Diego airport and about the same to downtown San Diego. Biking distance to La Jolla. The restaurant, bar area, and beach were all beautiful and well maintained. There was also plenty of space in the room and the kitchenette was fully stocked. An extra is the duck pond and jungle walk through the grounds, along with the tropical birds who love to chat with you. Overall, it was an excellent value and I would definitely come back.

Room Tip: Rooms on the odd number side of the tower have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quartz Hill, California, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

This hotel was booked by my husbands employer for a 3 day conference. The first thing I noticed was the friendliness of the staff just passing by. The grounds are beautiful. However, the first thing I noticed about my room was there was an adjourning door between the bedrooms, not near the front as in most hotels. The reason is I could hear the lady in the next room talking. I went to put my water in the refrigerator but there was nine. The website said there was one. Then there's the arrangement of the room, very difficult to watch tv while in bed as its to the side of the bed. The next morning off to breakfast. The food is very good but extremely costly. The service by, wait he didn't introduce himself. He only returned after I had finished my $12 chilaquiles. Then left the bill and didn't return. So I am not a light sleeper but in my room 361 n the tower we must be next to a machine room. There are noises at all times of the night that are a bit startling. Then there is the morning jackhammers, a.k.a. thumping of the showers from next door and various floors. Evidently the hot water causes the pipes to rattle. Then last night one of the ducks must have been in the mood for love under the moonlight as he wouldn't stop quacking. I guess I should've have said something early to the front desk but I'm not paying for this room otherwise I would have. One of the best parts for me was Chadwick, the cockatiel. He had me from hello. Be sure to visit the parrots so beautiful. I would stay here again but never in the tower. This was not a place to relax!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

This was not the first time we have been to the Catamaran. We return because the setting is wonderful, the staff friendly and accommodating and the rates reasonable for the value received. Several times we have had our young grandchildren with us and it is a pleasure to enjoy the beautiful beach on the bay without worrying about waves and undertow. Outstanding!

Room Tip: The views toward Mission Bay have spectacular views of the beach, the bay and, in the distance, down...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Cajon, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

My husband & I are born and raised locals. Our favorite place to stay and get away in town is the Catamaran. Great location, staff is incredible friendly and accomodating, beautiful views, LOVE the brunch. Cant wait until our next stay. Thanks to the Cat for all you do to earn our business!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We and all of our wedding guests stayed at the Catamaran for our wedding. We had a blast! We loved going to brunch, the bar, the watersport rental and the Bahia Belle. Our bridal suite was right on the bay and was the most beautiful view to wake up to in the morning! We had a great stay and would recommend it to anyone needing a stay-cation or someone visiting--you will definitely feel like you're on vacation!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

My wife and I arrived Feb 13th to attend a wedding planned for the weekend. The Catamaran was provided to us as the resort hotel of choice. The front desk gave us a room in the tower on the top floor. When we got to the room we noticed a couple of things. The view was outstanding, but the tower's age was apparent. The carpet had shown its years and the sliding glass doors were loose enough that the chilly air was coming in; plus the noise of traffic. We couldn't see staying in this room for a week. We returned to the front desk and explained the situation. The front desk rep went to work and got us a suite on the ground floor facing the bay. Pricing stayed the same. We were thrilled with this alternative; and appreciate the action taken by the front desk to address a customer's needs. This change made our 1 week stay an outstanding experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa

Address: 3999 Mission Blvd., San Diego, CA 92109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#7 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#8 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#55 Family Hotel in San Diego
#71 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#96 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 315
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our HOT Tip: Like the Catamaran Resort on Face Book and save up to 15% off the best available rates. The Catamaran’s 313 rooms and suites are spacious and tastefully appointed with their own balcony or patio. Mission Bay, the world’s largest aquatic park, is at your doorstep and the enticing waves of the Pacific Ocean are just 100 yards away. Enjoy marvelous views of the California coastline or stunning city skyline from every part of our beach resort. In San Diego, activities and local attractions are never far away. Visit the world famous San Diego Zoo, historic Old Town, and SeaWorld. Whether staying at the Catamaran Resort for pleasure or business, you’ll experience San Diego, one of Southern California’s most exciting cities, in all its fascinating and colorful detail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, AAA Travel Services, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catamaran Hotel Mission Bay
Catamaran Resort & Spa San Diego
Catamaran Resort San Diego
Catamaran San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.