We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would not go back” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa to your Saves list
Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   3999 Mission Blvd., San Diego, CA 92109   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save 15% Off Lowest Rates
Ranked #26 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
San Diego
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Would not go back”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Stayed there for four nights in a bay view double room.

I loved the view from the room and balcony. The balcony deserved, however, more interior than two plastic chairs and a stool. Also the pool and jacuzzi was really nice. Other than that, I would not call this place a resort. Or recommend this place.

It is VERYinefficiently soundproof. You do here people talking with normal voices in the room just wall to wall. We had a spacious room, with a nice bed and TV.

Other than the TV, nothing in the room can have been bought during the last 15 years. The bathroom is probably from 1990. The shower is a disaster, it is in the tub, and tall people has to duck. Also, it was a very weak shower. Not suitable for a "resort" in my opinion.

Some of the staff were really at the wrong place, in the wrong profession. It was 50/50.
Had big problems with the wifi in my room. Called the frontdesk, who gaved me a number to some IT firm. When checking out I was billed for those calls. Hmm.. The wifi works so so from the pool area.

My first day there (and first day in San Diego) i called the front desk and asked if it was ok to drink tap water. Got so silly stupid answers that I had to tell here
1. I am a tourist
2. Since I am a tourst, I don't know what it's like here.
3. I am staying at a hotel

There was an unpleasant smell of old clothes in the restaurant. Maybe that is why I never saw someone eating there except during breakfast hours.

The gym was clean and they have everything you need there.

The gardens are very beautiful and well taken care of. Beautiful plants all over the place.

The cleaning ladies very really cute and did a great job.

Great location if you love to hang out on the beach side and there are lots of good restaurant around, especially on Garnet Avenue.

I would not come back to this hotel.

Room Tip: Take a room with bay view, it will be worth it compared to garden view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,000 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,046
    564
    227
    100
    63
See reviews for
674
519
61
276
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (629)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Just got back from our Jan 4-9th stay. We had a great time. This is winter season, so the gardens were not at their peak. That said, they were beautiful and the parrots, ducks and hummingbirds were a treat. The room was clean and comfortable. The bed was very comfortable. All the staff we dealt with were excellent, but the Concierge Allyne really made the difference. He pointed out sites to see, restaurants to dine at, and helped us plan our activities, so we wouldn't be wasting time or money. He helped us rent a car, they dropped off and picked up at the hotel. When it was good value he arranged a town car, and when it was easiest, he gave us directions to us the bus & tram to visit Old Town and go whale watching. What's more he listened to us about our preferences and our feedback. The lounge and restaurants are both very good too. One nice touch by the hotel- when it rained they set out baskets of umbrellas at each door. The only drawback was that our ground floor room was near a busy service pathway -see our tip for choosing a room

Room Tip: rooms either face the road, garden or the bay. Of the tower/garden rooms avoid ones that face the pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Beautiful setting and a laid back atmosphere make the Catamaran a great stay. Centrally located with bus stop in front of the hotel. Bar was very quiet in winter but from what I heard becomes quite lively and pleasant.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Minnesota, United States
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

My boyfriend and I really enjoyed staying here on our vacation. We loved our room (403) our patio overlooked a pond and you could see the pool area off to the right. We had a mini fridge in our room which was nice for storing bottled water, Coca-cola, and the block of cheese we bought at the CVS store (we stocked up on some snack food too). We hung out at Moray's Bar quite a few times -- they have a Happy Hour 3-6 pm. So you can get some reasonably priced drinks and apps. We ate breakfast at Atoll's and enjoyed everything we had. The bay was gorgeous and the Catamaran is a short walk to the ocean. We really enjoyed being able to walk to a bunch of different restaurants/bars. (Miller's Field, Beach Wood, PB Ale House, and some place called Duck something. A short car ride to Sea World, Gamplamp (20 minutes), Zoo (20-25 minutes). We decided if we went back we would definitely stay here again. Our only complaint was that the shower head was low and it didn't have a wide spray, but that was minor in the scheme of things -- it worked which was the important part :)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

I stayed the night in the Tower during a business Holiday party. Love love love the view of the San Diego Mission Bay. Front Desk Service was excellent. Room service was timely. Food was hot and yummy.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bel Air
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

My daughter and I spent Christmas week at the Catamaran and we could not have asked for a better holiday. I was a bit nervous because it was just the two of us and we were traveling from Maryland and had never been to San Diego, but was I shocked!! The Catamaran made our entire stay perfect! Our room was beautiful, the grounds were amazing, the gentleman at the concierge desk went well beyond their call of duty, the pool was perfect, the food incredible and so much more. When we return to see this amazing city...we WILL be staying at the Catamaran! Thank you for making our trip a very special one.

Room Tip: Room 404--beautiful pond view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

San Diego was the last stop on our honeymoon in the south-western united states and I am glad that we stayed at Catamaran. It nice. I was a little disappointed that everywhere else we went (in total we stayed at 6 hotels and travelled with 3 air lines) every other hotel gave us some 'thing' ( an up-graded room, or bottle of champagne) due to it being our honeymoon. At the Catamaran we got nothing - not even a room with a decent view. We spent 5 days looking the 'other' way over a car park. Gee thanks.

Despite my, clearly unrealistic expectations of customer service and hospitality, the room was adequate. There were a few issues
1) the shower/bath does not get hot enough. (I mentioned this at reception one morning and one of the maintenence guys went to have a look and told me i shouldn't shower when everyone else wants to if I want to have a hot shower). A shame because the other hotels we stayed in didnt have an issue with hot water and they welcomed the same number of guests or more.
2) where we were - with our wonderful car park view - it was quite noisy as there were lots of kids playing in the pool with at 11pm and someone having a party nearby.
3) It wasn't a problem for us but the hotel do hold conferences and so there will often be large parties of people, sometimes teenagers/young adults hanging around.

On the up-side
1) service in the hotel restaurant was excellent. The food was to-die-for-delcious but you can come into the restaurant from outside, you don't have to be a hotel guest. I do recommend having the brunch on a Sunday as we saw the food being set out and it looked fresh, tasy and such a wide variety. Lots of local families come for the sunday brunch so check that you don't need to book (sadly we left early on the sunday so didn't get the chance).
2) The landscaping and the gardens are a real selling point and very well kept.
3) The hotel runs a taxi service which is cheaper than the local taxis charge. I recommend using this service. It is very efficient and took us to both the Zoo and Sea World for a very reasonable price.

If you are staying long enough I recommend Bella Italia on Garnet Ave. The food is so good that it just melts in your mouth. I recommend the hotel taxi though coz after all that food you won't want to walk!

Will def. go back to mission bay but won't stay at the catamaran again - sorry!

Room Tip: Go for a room with a view - definately worth it. Oh, and wear ear-plugs. The hotel is noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa

Address: 3999 Mission Blvd., San Diego, CA 92109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#7 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#8 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#55 Family Hotel in San Diego
#71 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#96 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 315
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our HOT Tip: Like the Catamaran Resort on Face Book and save up to 15% off the best available rates. The Catamaran’s 313 rooms and suites are spacious and tastefully appointed with their own balcony or patio. Mission Bay, the world’s largest aquatic park, is at your doorstep and the enticing waves of the Pacific Ocean are just 100 yards away. Enjoy marvelous views of the California coastline or stunning city skyline from every part of our beach resort. In San Diego, activities and local attractions are never far away. Visit the world famous San Diego Zoo, historic Old Town, and SeaWorld. Whether staying at the Catamaran Resort for pleasure or business, you’ll experience San Diego, one of Southern California’s most exciting cities, in all its fascinating and colorful detail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, AAA Travel Services, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catamaran Hotel Mission Bay
Catamaran Resort & Spa San Diego
Catamaran Resort San Diego
Catamaran San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.