We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, dirty outdated and dangerous room.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa

Save Saved
You added Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   3999 Mission Blvd., San Diego, CA 92109   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 269 hotels in San Diego
Peoria, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good location, dirty outdated and dangerous room.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Pros:
Grounds are well done, the birds and the lobby, the restaurant onsite was good. The location and view are great.
Cons:
We booked a bayview suite at $330 a night. Not cheap. We expected a clean updated room.
What we got was a rundown, dirty room. The carpet was so dirty that white socks turned black in hours, there was sand and dirt in the corners, the tile in the bathroom was chipped and cracked, the sofa was torn, the pull out was all lumpy and the wall paper in the bathroom was held in place by rusty staples. The pull out bed had bugs in it and had to be changed. There was a large spider hanging from the ceiling that my husband walked into. The one time I went to the front desk to ask for help with their wi-fi, the man had the immediate tone that it was my fault, then went on to say about 5 times that their wi-fi was working so it must be my computer. Not a helpful attitude. At check out the lady asked how my stay was, I mentioned the above things to her....she said sorry but never offered a price adjustment or even a meal at the restaurant to compensate. This was a good hotel in the 90's but lack of room renovation at poor attitudes at the hotel have soured their reputation in my eyes. If I don't hear from the hotel I think I will contact my credit card company to see what they can do about a price adjustment.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveling CA, Manager at Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
We were very disappointed to hear your stay was not as you had hoped. Your comments are not typical of our guest and we want to assure you we take these comments seriously. We have inspected all the suites and could not find any bathroom that was not in perfect condition. There could find no staples and that is defiantly something we would never do. We have spoken to our housekeeping department about checking the fold out beds more regularly, even if they are not used, to ensure they are perfect for each guest. We do offer free Wi-Fi and have limited staff on to help people who have issues with their operating system so I am sorry if there were no technicians on at the time of your frustration. We hope you will give us another try as we can assure you this was not a typical stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,692 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    845
    490
    210
    95
    52
See reviews for
575
425
50
238
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (504)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

A lovely hotel, really big rooms, friendly staff. Only down side is its a bit far away from San Diego centre. Other than that, would return any time. :) Suggested to use public transport to the city centre as its a $40 cab ride. Same with Sea world. Right near beach and some fast food restaurants, also starbucks only minutes away.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Angelo, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at The Catamaran Resort for the holidays. Traveling from Texas it was nice to find a hotel that was close to everything. Once you get to the hotel you can park and leave the car. There are many restaurants and things to do withing walking distance of this place. The staff was very friendly. The hotel has rooms with kitchens so we were able to make a few meals and saved some money. You will not believe the views from this hotel, they are amazing. We will be back

Room Tip: We called the hotel and they gave us a better price than Expedia and we were able to request a King...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

The Catamaran is at a great location, close to everything you need. Good, clean, large rooms, great views from the balcony. Great food and service. The gym is fantastic and the Spa exceeded expectations.

Stayed August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutter Creek
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Over the past 25 years the Catamaran Hotel has become my 'go to' destination in San Diego whether for business functions or for vacations. The hotel excels in terms of physical location with immediate access to Sail Bay, the Pacific Ocean, San Diego's extensive bike trails and more within-walking-distance restaurants than one could visit in a month. The tropical grounds with an abundance of flora and fauna are expansive and are extremely well cared for. I have always found the staff to be competent, professional, and courteous. Many of the same staff have been on site for years. Conference and breakout rooms are plentiful. In my opinion the biggest down-side to this property is that some rooms could use freshening in terms of replacing the carpeting and replacing cracked floor tiles and porcelain fixtures. Other rooms would benefit with the addition of a small micro wave oven. Since I spend very few waking hours in my room and do not prepare meals there the positive attributes of this facility far outweigh the negatives.

Room Tip: My preference is any sunny room with a view of Sail Bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

The resort is located on the bay and the beach is just on the other side. Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. Many things to do around the resort especially for people who like to go to night clubs (not me). The breakfast was affordable and great.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Stayed, with wife, for a week to attend a conference held at the hotel and a little extra 'down' time.

I felt when booking that the rooms were on the expensive side but as my conference was held in the Catamaran we didn't really have a choice of hotels – so I don’t know if the prices are ‘normal’ for the area of San Diego.

Rooms in the tower were large, reasonably equipped, comfortable but not luxury and could definitely benefit from some smartening up – felt a bit drab.

Excellent location within easy walking distance for restaurants and beach on the Pacific side, not to mention being right on the Mission Bay beach. Grounds are nice and it’s easy to walk/jog to the nearby path on the bay shore. Service was ok but not great and virtually none of the staff ever spoke unless directly asked a question, not even a ‘good morning’ – not that it spoilt our stay but was noticeable after a while.

The ‘in hotel’ restaurant was expensive and not fantastic but as there were so many just outside we only used it once.

Pool is a reasonable size with sunbeds - busy during afternoons, but never full during our stay.

Would I stay here again? Probably yes for the location but probably not if I was paying!

Wanted to rate the Catamaran at 3 ½ as better than ‘Average’ but not ‘Very Good’, settled for 4.

Excellent food at the little Mexican take-away next door!

Room Tip: Tower rooms are big and have limited cooking facilities if you don't want to use resturants all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa

Address: 3999 Mission Blvd., San Diego, CA 92109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#5 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#9 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#55 Family Hotel in San Diego
#71 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#98 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our HOT Tip: Like the Catamaran Resort on Face Book and save up to 15% off the best available rates. The Catamaran’s 313 rooms and suites are spacious and tastefully appointed with their own balcony or patio. Mission Bay, the world’s largest aquatic park, is at your doorstep and the enticing waves of the Pacific Ocean are just 100 yards away. Enjoy marvelous views of the California coastline or stunning city skyline from every part of our beach resort. In San Diego, activities and local attractions are never far away. Visit the world famous San Diego Zoo, historic Old Town, and SeaWorld. Whether staying at the Catamaran Resort for pleasure or business, you’ll experience San Diego, one of Southern California’s most exciting cities, in all its fascinating and colorful detail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catamaran Hotel Mission Bay
Catamaran Resort & Spa San Diego
Catamaran Resort San Diego
Catamaran San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.