We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Resort in a Good Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa to your Saves list
Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   3999 Mission Blvd., San Diego, CA 92109   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Up to 15% off room rates
Ranked #26 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Katy, Texas
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Nice Resort in a Good Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We chose this resort due to many of the ratings on Trip Advisor as well as the price. The campus is very well maintained and right on the bay in a great location. There were pleanty of restaurants and places to go within walking distance (in the Mission Beach/Pacific Beach area).

The room was pretty nice. The beds were comfortable. The bathrooms were clean. They have a window facing the exterior hallway instead of a fan, so you're stuck having to open it after you use it unless you want passers-by to check out your business. It's not brand new by any stretch, but did not have a musty smell like I have encountered elsewhere.

We only used the restaurant for coffee and dessert, so beyond that I cannot speak. We did not use the spa, though there is a charge to use the spa pool and facilities.

Regarding service, when we arrived, we were told that our reservations were not for the dates which we had booked through Travelocity. The person at the counter was quick to point out that it is not ususally their fault, but was going to check anyhow. While I was on the phone with Travelocity, she found out that the snafu was in fact their fault, and we were given our keys. We booked a king room, but were given two doubles. The room we received was on the "back 40" - basically we had to walk around the outside of the resort to get into our room, and go back around to get to the beachfront. They charge $13/day for parking, which seems a little steep considering they only charge $10/day for non-guests.

All in all, it wasn't a terrible place. Like I said, it is a great location. Our activies ended up being downtown, and we probably should have looked at staying there instead. However, we would have missed the quiet atmosphere of Pacific Beach.

Room Tip: Make sure you specify that you want room access inside the resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,171
    620
    244
    104
    68
See reviews for
740
580
67
311
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (707)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

I stayed here the first week in December and found it to be a very enjoyable stay. The hotel is right on the bay so you only walk 50 feet to the water. If you want to spend time in the ocean, it's about three blocks away. It was easy to get to the airport and most city locations from the hotel as well. The grounds are beautiful and feature several waterfalls, koi ponds, and tropical birds.
The room was clean and of a nice size. The bed was comfortable, as were the pillows. There is free wi-fi in the hotel and that worked well. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful at both check-in and check-out.
There was plenty of parking and the rate was pretty good for a hotel in Southern California.
The pool and hot tub were fabulous. The hot tub was huge, which works well at a hotel when multiple people want to use the hot tub.
The bathroom was clean and the toiletries supplied were excellent. However, on two occasions there wasn't enough hot water. When I tried to shower at 5pm, there was no hot water at all. It also is one of those hotels that have the showerhead a foot lower than standard, so it's a real pain to wash your hair or face if you're over five feet tall. Despite that, I would definitely stay here again because everything else is so nice.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert AZ
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

After being extremely disappointed with the hotel we had booked, I called the Catarmaran and was given several options for that night. The agent even offered a temporary hold on the reservation without a credit card until I knew I could get out of my current hotel. THIS was service. The facility was just as great. Beautiful property, very nice room. For just a little more than our previous horrible hotel, we had two comfortable beds and a pull-out plus a kitchenette, vanity, full bath and nice view. The lobby was nicely decorated for the holidays and the kids loved the gingerbread house contest on display. I wish we could have stayed another night to take advantage of the spa, enjoy the beach, and everything else this resort had to offer!

Room Tip: Bay views are spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas city
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

It's a short walk to pacific beach. If you are with the family it's right on a inner bay that has almost no waves. Clean, hospitable, and good location. Loved our stay for our 5year anniversary. Sure to be back again.
The spa was also very pleasant!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kansas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

This hotel is clean,friendly,and has a beatiful veiw of mission bay.I would love to back again some day.Sitting out side on the patio was a wonderful expeiance.You can see jogers,boats,people playing volly ball.And at nights the lights of the city are spectacular.

Room Tip: The garden rooms are great.On the east side by the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrieta, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Great location. Hotel was beautiful for the Holidays! Valet and front desk were very freindly and helpful. Even held my car at the front so I could run into the party (I was extremely late for) and say my hellos before checking in. Room was clean and very large. Would stay there again!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

My wife & I are San Diego natives & now reside in Seattle, Washington. Staying at the Catamaran Hotel has been a family & business tradition for over 20 years. The grounds are lovely & well maintained. We enjoy all of the amenities this hotel has to offer; accessibility to the ocean, the boat rentals, poolside burgers, arcade for the kids, the private bay and boardwalk, delicious meals on the outside patio of the Atoll restaurant and complimentary romantic rides on the old paddle wheel boat "The Bahia Bell".
We have hosted 2 wakes & countless family reunions there and the staff at the Catamaran are generous, efficient, welcoming & accomodating. Charlotte in Reservations and Rhiannon at the Front Desk went out of their way repeatedly, to ensure everything was as we wished. We like to refer to the Catamaran as our home away from home because we have had so many happy experiences there with our family & friends. We will be back for sure and recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a great place, good location and great value & a friendly courteous staff.

Room Tip: During the summer, the south side rooms in the Tower offer a great view of the Sea World fireworks...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa

Address: 3999 Mission Blvd., San Diego, CA 92109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#8 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#8 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#56 Family Hotel in San Diego
#71 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#96 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 315
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our HOT Tip: Like the Catamaran Resort on Face Book and save up to 15% off the best available rates. The Catamaran’s 313 rooms and suites are spacious and tastefully appointed with their own balcony or patio. Mission Bay, the world’s largest aquatic park, is at your doorstep and the enticing waves of the Pacific Ocean are just 100 yards away. Enjoy marvelous views of the California coastline or stunning city skyline from every part of our beach resort. In San Diego, activities and local attractions are never far away. Visit the world famous San Diego Zoo, historic Old Town, and SeaWorld. Whether staying at the Catamaran Resort for pleasure or business, you’ll experience San Diego, one of Southern California’s most exciting cities, in all its fascinating and colorful detail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, BookIt.com, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catamaran Hotel Mission Bay
Catamaran Resort & Spa San Diego
Catamaran Resort San Diego
Catamaran San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.