We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beach lovers paradise!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa to your Saves list
Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   3999 Mission Blvd., San Diego, CA 92109   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Up to 15% off room rates
Ranked #27 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Boston
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Beach lovers paradise!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We were a little skeptical about this hotel when we booked it on one of the online sites. However we were pleasantly surprised upon arrival. The front desk clerks were so friendly and our rooms in the tower bldg was huge! My husband and his brother are runners and every morning they would run along the ocean or the bay. The brother ran all the way to La Jolla cove! We love the outside fire pits for lounging and drinks in the evening. Location is great - close to freeways, downtown, La Jolla, Zoo etc. Also check out the cool little Mexican restaurant on the same block - yummy authentic food and cheap! Will definitely stay here again!

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,171
    620
    244
    104
    68
See reviews for
740
580
67
311
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (707)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Checking in to the Catamaran Resort the staff was so helpful. Heading to our room amid phenomenal landscaping, exotic ducks, ponds and parakeets was enchanting. Our room provided an amazing view of the bay. We walked everyday along the boardwalk watching surfers,
boaters, kids playing on the beach, it was just wonderful. You can rent any type of water toy. The location was excellent. We just had a wonderful time and are already planning our next visit
to the Catamaran Resort Hotel.
Marcia Vincent

Room Tip: We were in building 600 with an amazing view of the bay. Prefer the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

This was our third time staying at the Catamaran and we are looking forward to our next return. Great hotel for families! We prefer the bay for our children and spend our days playing on the beach. Great water equipment available to rent.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

The hotel is beautiful with waterfall in the lobby, palm trees everywhere. Loved the gorgeous parrots and all the ponds with koi and ducks. The hotel is on the bay, or go across the street to the beach. Very nice

Room Tip: Try to get a view of the water, our view was palm trees and a sidewalk
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

Things we loved:
- A REAL crib for my daughter
- The ponds stocked with ducks and koi. We lucked out, our balcony was ground floor and looked right over the ponds. Toddler fun!
- The spa was lovely, and the staff were very kind and accommodating
-Proximity to 2 beaches, sea world and various restaurants
- The TV only tried to sell the spa, not everything at the resort!!! With real HD channels. No outrageously priced PPV.
- The Bahia Belle boat was a nice activity
- the landscaping/parrots/fish/ducks
- a well laid out hotel. Our room was steps from everything.
- Low Key, understated, calm
- Hot tub is very warm and amazing
- Great price point

Things That Could Be Worked On:
- Quality of housekeeping varied
- room service food was not that great, but the restaurant was good
- bathrooms need updating/upgrading

We loved our stay here. The staff were always very attentive (answered calls with our name). Too bad the room's phone kept disconnecting us.
I would definitely return. Thanks Catamaran.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ensenada, Mexico
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Great location if you're going to Sea World, Mission Beach area.
My 5 year old was in love with the Big room and the view, and of course those great ponds with lots of fish and ducks. The parrots made a great impression too.

Really nice hotel if traveling with family, since the room had a kitchen, two beds, Sofa and several chairs. A balcony with a nice view of the Bay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemet, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

For the most part we enjoyed are stay here.Two things that annoyed me though,first was the maintenance man that was using a leaf blower at 8:30am Sunday to clean the parking area below our room.The bathroom window was open and it sounded like he was right outside our door.As you can see in the picture I included,the housekeeping was not real good,the bathroom floor was somewhat dirty and had dried pee stains near the base of the toilet.Other than those things the stay was very pleasant and the staff is professional,courteous and helpful.

Room Tip: Pool side rooms can be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa

Address: 3999 Mission Blvd., San Diego, CA 92109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#8 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#8 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#56 Family Hotel in San Diego
#71 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#96 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 315
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our HOT Tip: Like the Catamaran Resort on Face Book and save up to 15% off the best available rates. The Catamaran’s 313 rooms and suites are spacious and tastefully appointed with their own balcony or patio. Mission Bay, the world’s largest aquatic park, is at your doorstep and the enticing waves of the Pacific Ocean are just 100 yards away. Enjoy marvelous views of the California coastline or stunning city skyline from every part of our beach resort. In San Diego, activities and local attractions are never far away. Visit the world famous San Diego Zoo, historic Old Town, and SeaWorld. Whether staying at the Catamaran Resort for pleasure or business, you’ll experience San Diego, one of Southern California’s most exciting cities, in all its fascinating and colorful detail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, BookIt.com, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catamaran Hotel Mission Bay
Catamaran Resort & Spa San Diego
Catamaran Resort San Diego
Catamaran San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.