We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable and accommodating staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa to your Saves list
Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   3999 Mission Blvd., San Diego, CA 92109   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save 15% Off Lowest Rates
Ranked #26 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
Arvada, Colorado, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very comfortable and accommodating staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Booked this hotel with only days to spare before our trip. Very good choice on our part. Great location. Only two small issues with our stay. You have to pay $13.00 per day to park and when we arrived the only room they had was a room with two double beds. So my husband and I couldn't share a bed. They were ablt to find us a room with a king bed a couple of hours later, but we were already all settled and had already taken showers, so we just kept the room we were in. Beautiful grounds, our room looked over a little pond and every morning the ducks kepts us entertained. We would stay here again. Just two blocks from the beach, lots to do!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,998 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,045
    564
    227
    99
    63
See reviews for
673
518
61
276
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (627)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

My husband and I live in San Diego but we were getting our house tented for termites. We booked a room at the Catamaran as a mini vacation getaway. The hotel is in a great location, bayside just across the street from the beach, and has beautiful grounds with ponds filled with birds and ducks. I highly recommend the American Breakfast package. The staff was wonderful and the room had a nice view of the bay. We hope to return again soon!

Room Tip: Some rooms in the tower have a bayside view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

It was a great hotel... a paradise in Mission Bay I was told from BlueVan Shuttle driver.

Service was excellent, the room was awesome. Good TV, good internet connection, so quiet, good contrast leisure vs. conference. It is nice to walk by exotic birds, duck, lake and palm tree's on your way from the room to the conference venue.

The conference venue has an excellent catering and magnificient view from mission bay beach.

I loved it! Stood there for one week. The lobby is a nice place to stay if you have a late-evening flight... no need to waste up time in the airport.

Room Tip: Rooms out of the tower on ground floor and in the garden are the best quality/price option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ogden, Utah
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

I have a meeting at this hotel every November. It's a great place to have a meeting if you keep from being distracted by the beautiful scenary! The hotel sits on Mission Bay in a quiet secluded setting that is beautifully landscaped. The Pacific Ocean is just across the street. Therre are lots of great resturants within easy walking distance and its a short shuttle ride to the airport. There is a wide variety of room types. All are OK, but some are definately better. The suites on the bay are nicest. The rooms in the tower are like most hotel rooms. The rooms in some of the other buildings are a little more dated. This would be a great get away spot for couples or a family.

Room Tip: The bayside beach suites are nicest! The tower has reliably updated and nice hotel style rooms. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinez, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Catamaran resort. I took advantage of the bike rentals and enjoyed the neighborhood and the beach. The dinner at Atoll was wonderful. The staff is attentive and friendly. The bed was uber comfortable. I would definitely come back.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I stayed at the Catamaran for a conference. I was so pleased with everything from check-in to check-out. Staff was super friendly, the grounds immaculate, and the food tasty. We had a suite and it was clean and had everything that one could need for a great stay. The beach was beautiful and it seemed that they had an activity for everyone, although I did not have time to enjoy it!!
Many great restaurants within walking distance and the views were beautiful. The waterfowl and parrots that reside there are beautiful and very well kept.
The spa was super warm which felt fab after a day of sitting in meetings. Very quiet at night for a restful sleep. Our room was kept super clean by housekeeping and well supplied. Would not hesitate to reccomend this great place to anyone looking to stay in San Diego.

Room Tip: Have no other rooms to compare it to. Ours was great!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We spent a week in San Diego, staying at the Catamaran Resort on Mission Bay. A short block from the Pacific Ocean. A wonderfully relaxing venue. The spa services are amazing, the Sunday Breakfast Buffet fantastic and the staff, for the most part, excellent. Easy to get to from the airport too!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa

Address: 3999 Mission Blvd., San Diego, CA 92109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#7 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#8 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#55 Family Hotel in San Diego
#71 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#96 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 315
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our HOT Tip: Like the Catamaran Resort on Face Book and save up to 15% off the best available rates. The Catamaran’s 313 rooms and suites are spacious and tastefully appointed with their own balcony or patio. Mission Bay, the world’s largest aquatic park, is at your doorstep and the enticing waves of the Pacific Ocean are just 100 yards away. Enjoy marvelous views of the California coastline or stunning city skyline from every part of our beach resort. In San Diego, activities and local attractions are never far away. Visit the world famous San Diego Zoo, historic Old Town, and SeaWorld. Whether staying at the Catamaran Resort for pleasure or business, you’ll experience San Diego, one of Southern California’s most exciting cities, in all its fascinating and colorful detail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, AAA Travel Services, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catamaran Hotel Mission Bay
Catamaran Resort & Spa San Diego
Catamaran Resort San Diego
Catamaran San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.