We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still the Best Place in PB” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Capri by the Sea by All Seasons Resort Lodging

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Capri by the Sea by All Seasons Resort Lodging to your Saves list
Capri by the Sea by All Seasons Resort Lodging
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   4767 Ocean Blvd, San Diego, CA 92109   |  
Hotel amenities
Northern California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Still the Best Place in PB”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

We have stayed at Capri By the Sea a few times now and are never ever disappointed with the location. This time was still tremendous. We had our whole family staying in two two-bedroom condos. They were great and were clean and in great condition. We love the parking and the security. Our entire family was so impressed by the location and the convenience of the condos for family dinners.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    54
    26
    8
    8
See reviews for
105
56
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chichester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Had a 3 day stay with our family at Capri by the Sea. We stayed on the 12th floor in the 3 bedroom apartment. It was like a lovely home from home. The view was SPECTACULAR. Loved the California beach neighbourhood with great restaurants and beach walks. The outlook from the apartments was beautiful, every morning at sunrise pods of dolphins were playing in the sea. Just incredible to see. Nice apartment, security & underground parking. Pool, jacuzzi and beach. The beach is your front garden ! Can't wait to go back. Highly recommend .

Room Tip: The penthouses are nice, that's the 2&3 bedrooms. Works out as cheap as a standard hotel if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

Been here, off and on, for more than 25 years. Now in Unit 509. Everything in perfect condition! Great place for a wonderful beach vacation in San Diego!
My understanding is that Capri was built, right next to the ocean, and then nothing else like was allowed, because it blocked the view from farther inland. Thus, there is absolutely nothing else like it! It is truly a great travel secret.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

I have stayed at Capri by the sea resort (San Diego) for 5 nights.

*Front desk staff are very kind and helpful (5/5)
*Ocean View is fantastic - stayed on 4th floor (5/5)
*Great location (close to Mission beach, easy to get to San Diego Zoo, Sea World, I-5 highway) (4/5)
*House keeping is bad (2/5) - When we got into the room, the garbage bins were not empty, some used dishes and wine glasses were in the sink, lots of dust in the carpet and sofa.
I had to call the front desk to send housekeeping to clean up. I'm not sure if they clean the bed (blankets & pillows) in regular basis.

Room Tip: You need to make sure the room is clean enough to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

As everyone else has said, the location simply cannot be beaten. Amazing views out over the pacific from the sixth floor, including dolphins, just wow.
Allocated parking underneath the building was fine and being pretty much the only high rise in the area it was certainly easy to find.
Reception staff were very polite and helpful, as were security.
Pacific beach itself, loved it! I've read a few comments on various review sites saying it was a bit 'lively' and attracting a college age clientele as a negative aspect of the area. As far as I can see it added to the whole feel of the place, certainly no unpleasant rowdiness, in fact quite the opposite, very friendly and polite. Maybe this is because we were used to United Kingdom teenagers, sullen, miserable, sometimes aggressive, no doubt due to the endless rain they have to endure.
It was a short walk out onto the main street for a variety of shops and restaurants which i'll be reviewing seperatley (but the Baked Bear was awesome).
Our condo itself was excellent, clean, comfortable and well equipped for all out needs. Beds were lovely and the beach toys left by previous occupants certainly helped us enjoy our stay.
The pool complex, although a block and a half away (short walk out the back of the carpark) was also really good, well maintained and a lovely water temperature in the main pool (even if the spa was seriously hot).
Would certainly recommend Capri by the Sea to friends and would make it a regular haunt but for the 11 hour flight from the UK.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Let me start by saying you will love the ocean views. It doesn’t get much better than staying right on the water. Now for the unit; The place was dirty and run down. For 300 dollars a night you would think it would be nicer. The place NEEDS a paint job, new carpets a refreshed bathroom, closet. Baseboards are missing, toilet seat is disgusting. The bed in the master is foam and sunk in the middle. Time for a new bed! I would also fire whoever does the housekeeping. They do not know how to clean. I give this place 1 star and that’s only for the ocean view.

Room Tip: Corner units are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

First let me state that this is not an hotel, it is a condo high rise for which at least two companies rent out units for the individual owners, which can be confusing when checking in. We rented through All Seasons Resorts. The building consists of 1, 2, and 3 br units all with ocean view. One feature that immediately struck us was that the hallways were outside and the bedrooms in the one bedroom have windows to the outside hallway. I suppose this type of outside corridor is not unusual in a California high rise, but it means that dirt from the concrete floor of the corridor gets tracked into the units. Also there can be a draft through the doors. There is no air conditioning in these units. They can get warm in the afternoon sun, but cool off at night.

My wife and I stayed there in March 2014 for 3 nights. The hotel is located in the hopping beach community of Pacific Beach. On the weekends it is a busy, fairly noisy area.

We experienced two different rooms: 804 (1 BR) and 712 (2BR). The first room's fridge failed during the night and the alarm on the fridge beeped all night and kept us awake. The manager moved us to a new unit in the morning. They were very helpful to us in making the move quickly and deserve credit for that.

The rooms all have a wonderful view of Pacific Beach right below the building. Given they are on the beach, they have a lot of security on the doors and a 24 hr security desk. They also have a lot of issues with sand getting tracked into the rooms, despite the hi-rise nature of the building. Both rooms had updated kitchen counters and bathrooms. The furniture varied but in 712 in particular it was worn and tired - lots of scuffing and scratches. The carpeting in 712 was very dirty and covered in stains. This was noted in a review of that unit from 2010. There was no carpeting in 804 and the floor needed a more serious cleaning than sweeping, as did some of the furniture. The kitchen equipment was limited and only2 towels for dish drying were provided. There were no beach towels in 712. Due to the individual nature of the ownership, the furnishings and level of upkeep seem to vary a lot. We payed for a premium room, which was supposed to be modernized.

If you are expecting a sparkling clean, modern, updated apartment, you will not get it. If you want a place right on the beach, with beautiful sunsets outside the window, this may be for you.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Capri by the Sea by All Seasons Resort Lodging? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capri by the Sea by All Seasons Resort Lodging

Address: 4767 Ocean Blvd, San Diego, CA 92109
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 53 Specialty Lodging in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Capri by the Sea by All Seasons Resort Lodging 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Capri By the Sea, an idyllic setting for your next active vacation or quiet retreat. Located just north of the historic Crystal Pier along the famous boardwalk that parallels an endless sunswept beach, guests enjoy carefree seaside living in spacious and modern 1- and 2-bedroom condominium suites. Each condo faces the ocean and offers stunning panoramic views through double-sliding glass doors and from private Juliette balconies. An endless number of dining, shopping, entertainment, and nightlife opportunities begin right outside your door and await you in nearly every direction. Three miles to the north lie the eclectic neighborhoods of La Jolla and San Diego Underwater Park. Three miles to the south you'll find Mission Bay, home to Mission Bay Park, picturebook marinas, and of course, Sea World. Wake up each morning to the sound of seabirds and gentle waves. Cook breakfast in your fully furnished kitchen, then relax in our private swimming pool or jacuzzi, or step out onto the sandy shoreline for a swim or some beachcombing. Return in the evening to prepare a meal on the outdoor grill or retire to the rooftop terrace to take in an ocean sunset. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TravelClick, BookIt.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Capri by the Sea by All Seasons Resort Lodging reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capri By The Sea Hotel San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Capri by the Sea by All Seasons Resort Lodging, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.