We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Capri by the Sea by All Seasons Resort Lodging to your Saves list
Capri by the Sea by All Seasons Resort Lodging
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   4767 Ocean Blvd, San Diego, CA 92109   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Van BC
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2008

We stayed here in early March with another couple in a 2 bedroom suite on the 10th floor. Lovely views! The views and unit are just like they are on-line (which is not always the case!)The unit was well equipped (except for corkscrew which we replaced), quiet, pretty clean (not spotless). Lovely master bedroom with enclosed balcony looking out at the ocean.The second bedroom was not as nice & the vertical blinds needed a couple panels replaced .It looked out onto the exterior hallway. Nice rooftop deck but too breezy for sunning when we were there. The pool & hot tub are just 2 doors down via a public sidewalk (no alley that I could see as mentioned by another reviewer). The pool area was very clean & well maintained. The parking garage underneath is tight for larger vehicles but not a problem for our rental vehicle. Friendly & helpful security staff at front desk.

Ideal location for walking the beach or the boardwalk. Lots of restuarants & bars nearby plus shopping. Not far from La Jolla - you can walk there if you like walking but bus service is just outside the Capri. Other attractions closeby.

We would recommend Capri by the Sea and plan to return again!

  • Liked — views, location and amenities (and mature occupants/guests)
  • Disliked — 2nd bedroom could be nicer & updated.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    55
    26
    10
    9
See reviews for
108
58
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia Falls, Montana
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2008

The minute we opened the door, I felt like I was home. We stayed on the seventh floor, beautiful views, safe secure surroundings, everything we needed for a family of four for a 5 day stay. We brought extra beach towels etc, knowing that they only furnished one set per person. The parking was very tight, luckily we had a very small rental car. Our condo was clean, but "lived in". A little dusty here and there and the oven was not spotless, but who cares? with all the terrific restaurants etc close by, was I gonna use it? huh uh. The beds were clean and comfortable, lots of pillows. The bathroom was clean (short shower head), kitchen was well supplied (coffee maker, every conceivable appliance needed) even coffee and filters!! The pool area was lovely, although one "older" lady gave us ugly looks for appx 40 minutes, I think we were invading her "territory". There are pretty stringent rules set up by the home owners association, but I think that keeps out the "spring break party crowd". Grocery and drug stores very close, but had a HARD time finding a gas station. I am already planning a two week stay next year. I definitely had a tear in my eye when we closed the door to leave.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — leaving
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richmond, va
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2008

The location of this place was perfect for us, four adults with a 3 year old. You are right on the beach, great view, in walking distance to great restaurants. The pros: we were in unit 608 2 bedroom 2 baths newly renovated with stainless steel appliances nice sound system and decorated very well. Down side was no door to master bedroom, it is a large opening, although the place appeared fairly clean there was a qtr inch of dust on everything and no mop or anything to clean it with, large dust balls all over the floor. The stove had grease on it and the kitchen floor had some food on it. I would stay here again only would asked that the unit be checked for cleanliness before my occupying it. Some great restaurants to try are JRDN, Gringos, Bare back and Mama Mias, downtown try Rice.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — cleanliness
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2008

Before I get to the comments, we booked through All Seasons Resort Lodging. They were very friendly and when we had some problems (see below) they came very quickly to try to resolve the problems. I give them two thumbs up. To get the key you have to go to there office first which is on Mission street just west of the Capri.

We are of a very mixed mind in reviewing this condo. We stayed in two different rooms during our 6 day stay (712 was a 2 bedroom corner and 310 was a 2 bedroom). Our comments apply to both.

First the positives:
Awesome location right on the beach. Great views.
Lots of room - large rooms, 2 bathrooms.
Grocery, drug stores nearby.
Parking included and very convenient.
Seemed to be quite secure in that there was on-site security and fobs were required to get in.
Large heated pool with hot tub. Not ever busy - often we were the only ones there.
Beds were comfortable and linen (towels, bedding) appeared clean.
VERY quiet (I am quite sensitive to noise so trust me that the only noise I heard was the ocean).
712 being a corner had a extra view to La Jolla. 712 also had a large screen plasma TV.

Now the negatives:
Not really clean. The rugs, especially in 310, were quite stained. 310 had a vacuum so we vacuumed and could tell it had not been done before we checked in.
Questionable maintenance - no internet in 712 and no heat for the last 2 nights in 310. The All Seasons guy could not get the heat fixed but brought over a heater right away.
Pool was not far but required a walk down a dark alley.
Eating places in the area did not appeal to us and we drove elsewhere to eat.

Tip - Konos is a cafe just down the boardwalk by the crystal pier. Open early and serves great egg burritos. Recommended.

Tip - We used the towels from the room for the pool. Wear your shoes though as the alley can be hard on bare feet.

Tip - There are some homeless people about but we never felt unsafe and even walked along the boardwalk, to the pool and in the area after dark.

Tip - Our son got stung/cut by something in the ocean and his foot swelled up and turned black withing hours. Wear aqua shoes if you go in the ocean.

  • Liked — Awesome location and view.
  • Disliked — Stained carpets.
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ohio
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2007

I cannot rave enough about our stay at Capri by the Sea. We ended up getting into San Diego around 11:30 and even though check in wasn't until 3:00 we called and they were able to let us in early which was great. You cannot beat the location right on the beach and EVERY room has an ocean front view. Although the "porch" is small, (you can really only stand out there) watching the sun set is wonderful. Our condo (I believe was 809, one bedroom) was absolutely gorgeous. I wasn't sure what to expect based on other reviews but we got an amazing condo. It had granite counters, stainless steel appliances, and a huge flat screen tv. We rented a car (which I highly recommend) and there was a grocery store a couple blocks up so we could make our own meals. There was a rooftop area with a couple grills which was nice as well. I must also compliment the rental company Beachfront San Diego. My boyfriend proposed the second night we were there and the staff came in while we were at dinner to decorate the condo. They did a wonderful job setting a romantic scene and stayed late to get it done. We also had some problems with the tv but they came right over and fixed it for us. Overall we had a great stay!

Stayed October 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2007

We stayed at the Capri by the Sea from September 29 to October 6. We were also assigned 607 which is a sixth floor one bedroom apartment. The previous reviewed said the apartment was recently renovated - that surprised me a little, because it was nice - but didn't seem stunning in any aspect. It was clean and tidy thoughout - tiled floors everywhere apart from the bedroom, nice furniture, and TVs both worked. The bathroom was a little small but everything worked. It had pretty much everything we needed, we only missed a hairdryer.

The parking space assigned is a little tight - and we only had a mustang. Anything larger and you'll struggle. Because we were there in the off season, the beach and all around was quiet, but that suited us. I'd read that the area was kinda like South Beach, Miami, but it was more "downmarket" than that. Didn't love the Pacific Beach area. However - San Diego itself has lots of alternatives and the apartment location means you are just a few minutes drive from everything.

We LOVED San Diego and would recommend to anyone to go there. Whilst there, Capri on the Sea is a good option if you like the self catering condo thing. It suited us very well and provided good value for money.

  • Liked — location and views
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Capri by the Sea by All Seasons Resort Lodging? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capri by the Sea by All Seasons Resort Lodging

Address: 4767 Ocean Blvd, San Diego, CA 92109
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 54 Specialty Lodging in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Capri by the Sea by All Seasons Resort Lodging 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Capri By the Sea, an idyllic setting for your next active vacation or quiet retreat. Located just north of the historic Crystal Pier along the famous boardwalk that parallels an endless sunswept beach, guests enjoy carefree seaside living in spacious and modern 1- and 2-bedroom condominium suites. Each condo faces the ocean and offers stunning panoramic views through double-sliding glass doors and from private Juliette balconies. An endless number of dining, shopping, entertainment, and nightlife opportunities begin right outside your door and await you in nearly every direction. Three miles to the north lie the eclectic neighborhoods of La Jolla and San Diego Underwater Park. Three miles to the south you'll find Mission Bay, home to Mission Bay Park, picturebook marinas, and of course, Sea World. Wake up each morning to the sound of seabirds and gentle waves. Cook breakfast in your fully furnished kitchen, then relax in our private swimming pool or jacuzzi, or step out onto the sandy shoreline for a swim or some beachcombing. Return in the evening to prepare a meal on the outdoor grill or retire to the rooftop terrace to take in an ocean sunset. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and BookIt.com so you can book your Capri by the Sea by All Seasons Resort Lodging reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capri By The Sea Hotel San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Capri by the Sea by All Seasons Resort Lodging, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.