We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2051 Shelter Island Drive, San Diego, CA 92106   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #12 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
Write a Review

2,002 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,177
    619
    141
    44
    21
See reviews for
704
825
63
150
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (498)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Rafael, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

I stayed at the Island Palms while attending my daughter's San Diego wedding. It was great in every way -- helpful, friendly staff; lovely accommodations; great bar and restaurant. I had a fantastic time in San Diego due in no little part to my stay at Island Palms. I look forward to staying here again and will recommend it to others.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

This property is large, beautiful and relaxing. The main pool was clean and relaxing. Its 8ft deep which is rare to see these days. Not crowded at all. Room was nice, pretty big, comfy, good TV. This place is just great and we will be coming back for sure.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Hotel rooms were very clean and appeared updated, employees were genuinely friendly and accommodating. The Island is quiet and has wonderful views of San Diego. The Best place to stay is the Marina Building facing the Bay side on 2nd or 3rd floors. The bay side allows for great views of the city and watching the Navy and other ships come and go. Great stay if your looking for a laid back area to stay that is close to Sea World, San Diego Zoo and numerous restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We just got back from San Diego and stayed at the Island Palms. The location is great with a beautiful view of the marina and one side and the bay on the other. Great place to run in the morning. It was in walking distance to many restaurants. The room was really warm when we arrived and we found out quickly that they did not have central air--only an air conditioner in the bedroom. We payed for a suite which was very nice, however, they did not have adequate utensils and pans for us to really cook anything. We called for a skillet and they did bring us a small one but it was not really ideal for cooking anything. We booked at Island Palms party because they did not have a cost for parking or WIFI. They did forgive the parking cost since that was something new. WIFI is free for only four days. Overall, I would recommend Island Palms, but I would also suggest to them that they might want to upgrade a few things. The furniture was very uncomfortable and there some things that were broken that need fixing. For the price, this was a very nice place!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Rancho
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Nice clean room although the first room we were assigned to had a air conditioner that was on its last leg. The room was facing Coronado lower level. We were moved to a smaller room where the refrigerator is in the bathroom, facing the parking lot but right by the back door on the marina side. Nice location. This room had a running toilet. Didn't care for the free bath soap, shampoo, etc. well guess it's not really free as I am sure it's in the price of the room. Not much to say just a lot of boats, fishing, campers and dogs. Close to airport if that's a must. Never liked the area when I lived there, as it's to touristy. Point Loma is a nice place to live, but don't think the area is rated for best restaurants, in san diego. Good spot if you are on a military business trip. Always have to pass the airport to get to the 5 or drive with the traffic and that is no fun at times, to many rental cars in the area. Overall the hotel is a good place and would return if I have to be in the area.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

We just stayed there and had a great time. The location was awesome for us. We had a lovely room facing the marina. The grounds were very well kept. They charged us $10.00 a night extra to park which wasn't cool but they upgraded us to suite with a kitchen at no extra charge which was very cool. Also, the toilet paper...a little rough for me.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Address: 2051 Shelter Island Drive, San Diego, CA 92106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in San Diego
#17 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#38 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on San Diego's Shelter Island, the Island Palms Hotel and Marina is surrounded by the blue waters of San Diego Bay. Nestled among 6 acres of lush, tropical landscaping, this spectacular setting overlooks our private yacht marina and San Diego's largest yacht basin. Features and amenities include 227 beautifully-appointed guest rooms and suites, 2 heated waterfront pools and spas, waterfront restaurant and bar and over 6,300 square feet of water view meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, AAA Travel Services, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel And Marina
Best Western San Diego
San Diego Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.