We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a staycation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2051 Shelter Island Drive, San Diego, CA 92106   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #16 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Vista, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfect for a staycation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

We met up with some friends that came into town for a few days for a convention. We booked a room at Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina the last night of their stay. This hotel has an excellent location, wonderful staff and we used all the amenities. Walked the harbor, used the hot tub both days, had a coffee in the lounge/bar before heading out to dinner at Bali Hai right down the street. We had breakfast the next day out on the patio by the pool and looked over the harbor. Just spent one night and only 40 miles from home but felt like we had a nice little vacation!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,320
    692
    160
    46
    25
See reviews for
791
928
67
169
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (546)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, CA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

I don't know why I waited so long to do this review. Guess I got caught up in the Holiday Ratrace and forgot. At any rate, I am pleased to give this hotel the best rating possible. We have stayed at the Island Palms 3 times. This time, we stayed 4 nights beginning the day before Thanksgiving 2013 It just happened that my birthday came within those days, too!

I can honestly say that I have never stayed at ANY hotel where the checkin and checkout process is so quick and easy. The staff here is so kind and helpful. I always feel like more than just another guest. One of the staff, Ebony, even sent me a personal email a couple of days before our visit regarding our stay.

On this particular visit, we ate Thanksgiving dinner at their restaurant. They had an amazing special menu for the occasion. It was a very relaxing dinner with a nice view of the peaceful marina.This could become a tradition!

Oh, our room. We stayed in a 2 room suite with 2 bathrooms overlooking the marina. We had lots of space in a very clean facility. Such a feeling of tranquility sitting on the balcony overlooking the marina.I would definitely reccomend paying extra for a marina view.

We've stayed at other hotels in San Diego but there is none with such a peaceful, quiet setting with a great helpful welcoming staff. I am anxious for our next visit.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for a marina view. The Casa Marina Building has great views and is close to cover...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

We just completed a very good 3-night stay on Shelter Island. The room was comfortable and clean. The grounds of the hotel were well-maintained, including the two pools and the two hot tubs. The tennis courts (complimentary) are in good shape too. The front desk staff were really helpful in mapping out our days. We found the hotel's location to be very convenient for exploring San Diego. While there really isn't much in walking distance, San Diego is set up for driving. There were some good bakeries and small restaurants nearby and the key roads to travel further were only two minutes away. Would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Marina side is a bit quieter and a nicer view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

I had read many reviews about this hotel and was pretty confident it would be great. And it was. The only tiny glitch was that we had requested a marina view room and were assigned a bayside one. However, the front desk easily fixed it and we ended up with what we wanted. All staff is extremely helpful and friendly. My kids loved the pool and my husband loved looking at the boats in front of us. They have bikes for you to borrow to explore Shelter Island and it is easy driving to SeaWorld or downtown from the hotel. We got caught without any food the first night and did find room service expensive (they also automatically add 18 percent gratuity to your bill and it is not written on the menu so we ended up tipping twice!), but there is an excellent Thai place nearby and other restaurants for take out. Pizza Nova was recommended by the front desk and it was EXCELLENT. We really enjoyed our breakfast and the friendly waitress at the hotel restaurant. We would definitely return to this hotel.

Room Tip: I am not sure of the differences between the buildings, but we definitely loved being on the marina...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

Very pleasant surprise. Excellent location and very good accommodations. Quality suite set between the yacht marina and a bay over looking San Diego skyline. Beach and park across the street were clean, crisp and welcoming. Sea lion ventured by the public dock while sea gulls and pelicans perched all around. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

We just completed a 5 night stay and loved every minute of it. Excellent location, facilities, staff and restaurant. We were upgraded to a suite that overlooked the marina, pool and hot tub. All of the staff were very friendly and helpful, I would definitely recommend this hotel. The price was reasonable and the weather was beautiful. Thanks Island Palms.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okemos, Michigan
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

Modern, clean and large rooms plus very good services.
Beautiful view and perfect neighborhood.
Very polite staff provides you with everything you need.
In my next trip to San Diego I definitely stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Address: 2051 Shelter Island Drive, San Diego, CA 92106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in San Diego
#18 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#40 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on San Diego's Shelter Island, the Island Palms Hotel and Marina is surrounded by the blue waters of San Diego Bay. Nestled among 6 acres of lush, tropical landscaping, this spectacular setting overlooks our private yacht marina and San Diego's largest yacht basin. Features and amenities include 227 beautifully-appointed guest rooms and suites, 2 heated waterfront pools and spas, waterfront restaurant and bar and over 6,300 square feet of water view meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, BookIt.com, EasyToBook and getaroom.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel And Marina
Best Western San Diego
San Diego Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.