We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice in an expensive city” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2051 Shelter Island Drive, San Diego, CA 92106   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2 & Earn a Reward
Ranked #17 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Merlin, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good choice in an expensive city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

We stayed for two nights in Nov '13 at the BW Island Palms Hotel on Shelter Island in San Diego, CA. AARP price was $99.00 plus tax per night, for a room with two double beds. Our room was adjacent to the pool/Jacuzzi entrance. and was very quiet (until the tree trimming started on the day we checked out). Room was clean and comfortable. Good selection of TV stations and nice bathroom, with ample complimentary coffee and soaps, hair products. We parked very close to our room (free parking). Complimentary USA Today newspaper avail. in lobby each morning. Bar and restaurant on site. Breakfast room service available. Beautiful views of San Diego bay and good area for walking or riding the complimentary beach cruiser bikes available for guests. Would recommend this very affordable hotel, which is pretty central to all freeways in San Diego, but is very quiet and relaxing. No pets are allowed unfortunately. Slow check-out due to only one attendant at the front desk was our only small complaint. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,248
    659
    148
    46
    24
See reviews for
746
876
65
160
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (524)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

We were at Best Western Island Palm hotel for six nights. At the check-in, we received our first surprise: without any reason (thank you to the management of this hotel!), they upgraded our king-bed Casa Del Mar room to a beautiful Suite- 1 King bed, facing the bay (I requested the view to the bay) with a private balcony. What can I say, the room was great and really clean with a complete kitchen and two TVs. Most importantly, the staff was really nice and hard working. I will definitely return to this hotel even if I don't get a free upgrade next time!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Love love this place. Rooms are very clean and comfty. Nice to take a walk in the evenings. People are very nice and if you need something they do everything to help out. I felt very safe there. This is our 2nd visit and would go back again again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula, MT
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

I can't stop praising this place. Yes it's older, and yes not a modern facility, but it was really special. If you're looking to relax, this is the place.

Definitely get the bay view rooms. The marina is nice but the overall view of the bay is awesome. There is a start there, but it is seldom traveled. There is very little night life, but for relaxation, this is the place.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

We stayed 5 nights (10/29-11/2) for our first anniversary. This hotel is on Shelter Island which is actually right next to Point Loma (if your looking for food/shopping/entertainment options). There are great views of downtown San Diego across the bay. You can also see part of Coronado from the bay (at least that's what I think it was). There is not much on the island but its nice to walk around on the bay or marina. The hotel is actually across the street from the bay but the back of it sits directly on the marina. Our room was on the ground level with the windows facing the bay. There were chairs outside of each room on the marina side on the little patio that we could sit in. The room was clean and everything was in new/like new working order. We stayed in the last building (newly remodeled I believe, with the fountain in front {I can't remember the building's name}) of the resort. The parking was free and easy. It was great to go for a walk while watching the sunrise over downtown and the bay every morning. There were a lot of different birds (primarily seagulls and pelicans) and some seals in the bay. All of the sailboats and yachts in the marina were neat to check out. It was also fun to watch the different ships come into and out of the bay. It was a reasonably short drive to anything we wanted to see/do (downtown, Coronado, La Jolla, Nat'l. Monument, etc.) We will definitely be staying here again the next time we're in San Diego!!!!

Room Tip: I would definitely recommend a room facing the marina! The ground level is great because of the acce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky River, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

It is a pleasure to stay at this hotel. Very friendly staff, unique rooms, water view from either side of the hotel and very good restaurant food. If you care to go out for meals,there are very good places within walking distance. This a whole new experience compared to other chair hotels, and Shelter Island is a friendly hideaway far enough from the crowds in the Gaslight District.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

We stayed 2 days and really enjoyed the location. The staff was very helpful and attentive. We walked along the greenbelt, walked to a breakfast restaurant and sat in the jacuzzi. Downtown San Diego is close by and when we were finished running around, it was very pleasant to come back to our comfy room facing the Marina.

Room Tip: We had a corner room facing the Marina, very quiet. We also had chairs on the front "porch"...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Address: 2051 Shelter Island Drive, San Diego, CA 92106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in San Diego
#17 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#39 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on San Diego's Shelter Island, the Island Palms Hotel and Marina is surrounded by the blue waters of San Diego Bay. Nestled among 6 acres of lush, tropical landscaping, this spectacular setting overlooks our private yacht marina and San Diego's largest yacht basin. Features and amenities include 227 beautifully-appointed guest rooms and suites, 2 heated waterfront pools and spas, waterfront restaurant and bar and over 6,300 square feet of water view meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, EasyToBook, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Hotwire, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel And Marina
Best Western San Diego
San Diego Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.