We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2051 Shelter Island Drive, San Diego, CA 92106   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #14 of 269 hotels in San Diego
Sa Diego, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

The location is great, near the airport and downtown San Diego. Nicely surrounded by water. You can bicyle to down-town in about 45 minutes (flat bike path). Nice ocean air. Nice vegetation surrounding the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,753 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,016
    551
    130
    38
    18
See reviews for
629
715
55
133
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (440)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mesa, Arizona
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We stayed 2 nights in the Casa Del Mar Buidling Mini-Suite. Oh my, it was like a little apartment! Our room was perfect. Good sized room with nice somewhat private patio. The outside landscaping was awesome. We weren't facing the water which was actually pretty nice. That meant we didn't have a lot of people walking by. We will definitely stay there again the next time we're in San Diego.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuna, Idaho
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Great Hotel.Wonderful pools, close enough to everything, but don't feel the crowd. Just 20 mins. to Pacific Beach. Great views of the Marina.Brigatine Restaurant just down the road...good service, good fish tacos.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tucson, az, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Luxurious rooms, sincere staff/customer service. Beautiful grounds. Customer service is excellent. We travel alot and seen rooms that are repulsive and wonder how they can stay in business. However, Island Palms is reverse. It is absolutely the most beautiful hotel in the country.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Bear Lake, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Great place to get away and relax in the Sun. We parked the car and enjoyed the local amenities on foot. Saw Melissa Etheridge in Concert at Humphrey's (Less than a quarter of a mile away). We left after a two day visit rested and refreshed. Everyone at the Hotel was superb. We have stayed here before and I am sure we will be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Once again we were more than pleased with this Hotel and their staff,,in our opinion the best in the industry,,always gong above and beyond your expectations !! Beautiful room with excellent view of the bay, great food, and wonderful service. Special thanks to Danny who helped with our reservations, and Nicki who took time to book a bay cruse for us when we were unable to get through to the ship !! Our room as always was immaculately clean, thank you house keeping !!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Recently had the pleasure of two short stays here and enjoyed every minute. The location is on Shelter Island and I had a marina view. The rooms were large and comfortable, the pools relaxing, the bar friendly and the food and service was fine. I enjoyed morning coffee on the patio, watching the boats and boat people and an afternoon cocktail watching the sailboat races. There is a park across the street where you can watch the cruise ships arrive and depart.
This property is not convenient to downtown but if you have a car it is perfect. Complementary airport shuttle and wifi is provided. The main factor that made my stay here so enjoyable was the competent, friendly staff that went above and beyond in helping me. Everyone from the front desk to the dining terrace appeared to like their job and it shows. I will certainly stay here again when I visit San Diego.

Room Tip: I love the marina view rooms, room 139 in particular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Address: 2051 Shelter Island Drive, San Diego, CA 92106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in San Diego
#17 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#38 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on San Diego's Shelter Island, the Island Palms Hotel and Marina is surrounded by the blue waters of San Diego Bay. Nestled among 6 acres of lush, tropical landscaping, this spectacular setting overlooks our private yacht marina and San Diego's largest yacht basin. Features and amenities include 227 beautifully-appointed guest rooms and suites, 2 heated waterfront pools and spas, waterfront restaurant and bar and over 6,300 square feet of water view meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Venere and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel And Marina
Best Western San Diego
San Diego Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.