We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, first class service, highly recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2051 Shelter Island Drive, San Diego, CA 92106   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #12 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
england
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great location, first class service, highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We had booked a two night stay at the Island Palms in a standard room, duly arrived and went to check in. We were already very happy with the location, but things just started well and got better. The location is excellent, with the bay in front of you and a marina behind you, perfect. At check in were dealt with by a very friendly chap called Matt. He informed us straightaway that we were being offered a free upgrade to a suite, room 133 in the main building. I don't know why, but we were very pleasantly surprised. We went to the room and the second pleasant surprise greeted us.

The room was absolutely first class. It had a separate full kitchen area, fully equipped, a separate bathroom with lots of lovely towels, shower gels etc, a separate beautifully equipped bedroom and a main room with plenty of seating, tv etc. Off the main room were patio doors that led out onto the patio area that had sun loungers, table chairs, but best of all just 20 yards in front of us was a marina, full of moored boats and yachts. Absolutely stunning view. We were so impressed that we immediately went to reception, booked a third night on the spot. We had to pay slightly more for the third night, but it was very much worth it, especially as we had been upgraded for free anyway. The suite had excellent quiet air conditionning, all the facilities you could want. It was close to the pool area to, as well as the restaurant, and was just perfect.

We had a hire car, so we were able to explore San Diego very easily, and this hotel was simply great to come back to, relax, sunbathe on the patio, or at the pool. I should mention there is plenty of free parking here, and we always got a space very close. For me it was simply amazing to just walk out the front door of the hotel and see warships passing along the channel to either go to the docks or sail out to sea. We ate in the restaurant one night, sat overlooking the marina, and the food was very reasonably priced, service was excellent and the food quality was very good. The WIFI worked well, there is also a free to use PC by the restaurant entrance, and all the staff we came into contact were cheerful, friendly and very efficient. There are plenty of restaurants nearby, as well as takeaways, bars and shops.

We had a fabulous stay at the Island Palms, and San Diego is a lovely place to visit. I would have no hesitation at all in recommending this hotel, thank you for a great stay

Room Tip: Ask for the main building. Don't worry about staying here
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,951 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,144
    605
    138
    43
    21
See reviews for
686
805
59
147
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (488)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We arrived on a Monday and were greeted by a very friendly staff. The attractive junior suite with two queen beds (comfortable bedding) is ideal for a family of four as it is very spacious with a dining area and kitchenette. I believe most rooms have a patio which is nice to view the harbor or bay from. We had no problems with loud noise or unruly pool activity.
Shelter Island is a quaint and peaceful area of San Diego to vacation in. Bike usage was complimentary. The fitness room is small but adequate with quality machines in good working order. There is also a nice restaurant with a view of the marina and guest laundry on site.
This is a wonderful Best Western with a resort-like feel. The staff truly made our stay enjoyable. They were friendly, helpful and met our every request. The front desk even left a birthday surpise in our room which was very impressive!

Room Tip: A view of the harbor is peaceful. A view of the bay overlooks the main road in Shelter Island, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Marlboro, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

I have never stayed at a Best Western before. I always thought of the chain as a second rate hotel. After reading many great reviews of the Best Western Island Palms Hotel & Marina I decided to give it a try. The price was right and I loved the pics that I saw online. I was not disappointed. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. Great location, great rooms, good food (only had breakfast), and a great staff.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We arrived on a Sunday morning and fully expected to wait until the afternoon for a room since the hotel was sold out on Saturday. Instead we were immediately given the keys to a marina view room in the Casa Marina building. The room and view were beautiful. Front desk personnel at check-in and check-out were friendly, efficient and very helpful. We could not have been more pleased with the experience, and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colton
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We were in the area for a business trip at a different hotel and I booked a one night stay here to unwind after a stressful week. We were in the Casa Del Mar building. (FYI There is no elevator so let them help you with your bags. I made that mistake.) We had a view of the bay and loved it. Yes you see a parking lot too but just look past it duh. There are two pools at this hotel, you can bring food and beverage to both. The main pool was a bit overrun by kids so we went to the second one and it was a lot quieter. Also there is room service including bottle service to the room. I've stayed here twice and I will again. It is a bit pricy but I like the location better then hotel circle, parking is free and there are no resort fees like places on the circle and downtown. I reccomend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

My husband and I have been staying at this property for the past several years, and were looking forward to another great get-out-of-the-Phoenix-heat escape for a few nights.

We booked our room three months ago and requested a room in the Casa Del Mar building with a marina view. We mistakenly assumed that making our reservation that far in advance, and being repeat customers for such a long time, that we would have no problem getting the room we requested. Nothing was mentioned to us upon check-in, so we were very surprised to arrive at our room and realize that we were on the bayside of the building. We called the front desk and the customer service we received was less than adequate. The other disappointing issue was the condition of the room itself having black mold around the tile so the shower/tub enclosure, badly discolored stains on the tub bottom, worn carpeting, and the room being in need of repainting.

The next disappointment came later in the evening when we walked down to the on-property restaurant and quickly realized the restaurant had either changed management, or at least Chef's. Not only had their menu completely changed, everything that I ordered from the new menu was not available. What we did finally order was way over priced and the food mediocre .

I stay in hotels rooms on a weekly basis for business and generally receive a high level of customer service and find the properties to be in good condition. It is sad to see this property going downhill, but because of the lack of customer service, the property being in serious need of updating, and the restaurant being unacceptable, it is doubtful we will ever stay at this property again. We loved the location, but with so many other properties in the same general vicinity with better customer service and amenities, at lower prices, we will probably choose to stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: Try to get the marina side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trail, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We had an amazing stay! We chose a king room in the Casa Marina building facing the harbor and we got to watch people out in their boats while watching the sunset, gorgeous! The rooms were a great size and the shower was very nice! The area was beautiful as well. We were too early to check in so we decided just to wander around the island and enjoy the sun! The employees were all friendly and helpful! Can not wait to stay here again sometime!

Room Tip: Marina view, top floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Address: 2051 Shelter Island Drive, San Diego, CA 92106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in San Diego
#17 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#37 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on San Diego's Shelter Island, the Island Palms Hotel and Marina is surrounded by the blue waters of San Diego Bay. Nestled among 6 acres of lush, tropical landscaping, this spectacular setting overlooks our private yacht marina and San Diego's largest yacht basin. Features and amenities include 227 beautifully-appointed guest rooms and suites, 2 heated waterfront pools and spas, waterfront restaurant and bar and over 6,300 square feet of water view meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Best Western, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, AAA Travel Services, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel And Marina
Best Western San Diego
San Diego Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.