We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Best prices from these 7 sites
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2051 Shelter Island Drive, San Diego, CA 92106   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #13 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We used this hotel as a last stop before flying home due to its location to the airport (5 mins)
The hotel is well positioned and also has free parking
The staff were friendly and the pool with has lovely views of the marina

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wjorman, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Thank you and I'm glad to everything went well. We hope you'll come back and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,835 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,066
    574
    136
    39
    20
See reviews for
655
751
57
139
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (458)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fountain Hills, Arizona, Usa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

This hotel has outdone itself with friendly, helpful staff. From the front desk to the gardeners, everyone is happy and accommodating. Our room was beautiful and the views were outstanding. We loved watching the large naval ships coming into port from our balcony. I loved the fact that we could choose what time housekeeping came. It made the day hassle free.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wjorman, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Thank you so much for the wonderful review! It's so nice to hear such great feedback and I know our staff will be happy to hear your very kind words.

We hope to see you again soon!

Bill Orman
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

My husband, almost 3 year-old son and I stayed here over the weekend along with our friends and their 2 year-old and it was perfect. I've been to San Diego many times over the years but never knew about Shelter Island and am so glad we discovered it. The hotel is wonderful and is definitely well suited for families with children. The two pool areas are nice and the restaurant serves a variety of food. We stayed in the Casa Marina building and the rooms were really nice, especiallly considering we only paid $132/night plus tax, and that's during peak season. The area the hotel is in is great as well. It's in the marina so there are tons of boats to look at and many restaurants within a mile or so. We grabbed the strollers and walked to a local restaurant one night and were really happy with the experience. Overall, this is a great hotel and we'd defintely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
balle danmark
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We had a lovely suite for to. Nice vue to the water, and promenade. Fantastisk hotel, food mad People's . Nice garden, vue over the marina. Tale a trip to downtown, is take about ten min to drive. Over the Big brige, to a wonderful Island.

Room Tip: Groundfloor rooms are évry larges
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S.F.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I tried Best Western Plus Island Palms after reading several positive reviews. I usually stay at bigger name hotels but thought I'd try something different for once. Went to San Diego for 4 day Sea World, Zoo, Safari Park trip and a walk on the USS Midway.
The pics made the hotel look better than in person. Maybe I was in the older part of the hotel or maybe there isn't a more renovated part.
The cost for a small single room with a king sized bed:
Day 1- $153 for the room, occupancy tax-$16.07, San Diego Tourism tax-$3.06, CA Tourism tax-.13
Day 2- $180 for the room, occupancy tax-$18.90, San Diego Tourism tax-$3.60, CA Tourism tax.15
Day 3 was the same cost as Day 2

The positive part of the hotel was the location. Right across the street from the water and somewhat secluded on Shelter Island.
The negative was the room still had the old in the wall air conditioner. The room was small for basically $200 a night. The shower was remodeled but I don't know if being on the ground floor or what caused the shower and bathroom to have the odor of sewage emitting from the drain pipe. It was constant for 3 days. Couldn't get another room since the hotel was full according to the front desk. The smoke detector battery alarm went off at 5am. I called and was told someone would change it immediately. 10 hours later it was still beeping. I called again and was told the same thing again. A hour later I went to the front desk and asked for a battery and I'd change it myself. Only then was the battery changed within a few minutes.
The personnel were friendly, just dropped the ball.
The bed was the worst. The mattress had a huge dip in it and unless you prefer sleeping with your knees bent up to your chest (exaggerating but not really) you were going to wake up hurting.
The hotel reminded me of a place where they made renovations and tried to upgrade the rooms with marble tile and other amenities but never finished. In the end, it's just a Best Western...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Address: 2051 Shelter Island Drive, San Diego, CA 92106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in San Diego
#17 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#38 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on San Diego's Shelter Island, the Island Palms Hotel and Marina is surrounded by the blue waters of San Diego Bay. Nestled among 6 acres of lush, tropical landscaping, this spectacular setting overlooks our private yacht marina and San Diego's largest yacht basin. Features and amenities include 227 beautifully-appointed guest rooms and suites, 2 heated waterfront pools and spas, waterfront restaurant and bar and over 6,300 square feet of water view meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel And Marina
Best Western San Diego
San Diego Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.