We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, nice staff, great view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2051 Shelter Island Drive, San Diego, CA 92106   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #13 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, nice staff, great view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

This is not your regular city hotel. It is located on Shelter Island, still central and close to amenities. Beautiful view from private balcony with cafe table and chairs. Two queen beds with new decor and huge bathroom. Mattress was comfy, linens were nice and I loved the pillows. Staff was very courteous and helpful. I was able to upgrade my room over the phone for minimal charge, so we could stay in the newer building. Only stayed one night, but had a very nice stay. I would recommend this to someone who wants to stay at a more unique location like Shelter Island. Sea World and SD Zoo were close by. I booked using my Air Miles, had good service there also.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,008 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,183
    619
    141
    44
    21
See reviews for
707
826
63
150
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (500)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Erith, Kent, UK
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We intended to stay for 3 nights in April 2013 as part of a touring holiday, but had such a wonderful experience we changed our plans and stayed for an additional night!

Great location and a good base for seeing the sights of San Diego. Had a very well appointed and quiet room on the third floor (Casa Marina) which has a great balcony view of the Marina and hills in the background (great sunset).

Customer service was excellent throughout (especially Kriss on the Customer Reception).
Would love to have the opportunity to stay here again. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We loved this hotel. Had booked it for two nights the week before we went and was over the moon. Fantastic location although not central but great for harbour, beach and prom. We had transport so was OK. The room was pristine. Clean, fresh up to date no faults at all. (why aren't all rooms like this one). The restaurant was great with a good menu great view of all the boats in the marina and the staff were so welcoming, friendly, courteous and charming. Delightful lady on reception, chatty server in the restaurant for dinner and the lady who did breakfast was very entertaining with her tales of the Royal Family and her devotion to them. Would recommend this little gem to everyone. Thank you to all staff for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: Just go for it, you wont be disappointed, if you are your too fussy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morro Bay, California
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Delightful BW Plus away from city noise and traffic located on peaceful Shelter Island, with views of either the bay or the marina. From booking to departure, our experience at this hotel was stellar. We were able to book a AAA rate that gave us a healthy percentage off a 2 story suite in the newer Casa del Mar building, with 2 bedrooms and 2 baths upstairs and a kitchenette, living room, bathroom downstairs, with a patio facing the pool, spa, and marina. (Breakfast can be negotiated when booking but rate will be higher). Excellent location for our visits to Old Town, Balboa Park, Point Loma, and the beach communities. Close to Sea World and the airport, with airport shuttle available every half hour. Only down side is that the beds creaked a bit, but the mattresses were comfortable. We had one dinner at the restaurant and it was decent and reasonable. Definitely look forward to returning.

Room Tip: Suites in the Casa del Mar wing are newer and overlook the pool, sauna, and marina.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salinas, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Great location being close to everything but still not being in high traffic area. We liked our room with two queen beds, kitchen and small living area with a flat screen TV that over looked the boats in the harbor including a small patio, grass and walking path next to the harbor. The staff is very nice, and the bar has specials for Happy Hour such as a great margarita and fish tacos. The bartender was excellent with a friendly personality and reported that they recently have a new chef.

Room Tip: Ask for the Casa Del Mar Building which is a newer building but smaller rooms unless you request a j...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phoenix,az.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

great hotel in great location. reasonably priced. food at conference was superior. staff was very nice and accomodating.room was spacious. has shuttle to airport and around city.had great view of marina and ocean. very quite and peaceful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fair Oaks, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

San Diego Hotels have become very pricey from several years ago when there was no convention center and Gaslamp was not popular.

we like staying on Shelter Island because the marina of boats is so peaceful and close to where we want to be and go.

The Junior suites are the best value for size of room, kitchenette and views. Some remarkable activity right in the Bay with all the Navy action, cruise boats, and recreational boats.

Room Tip: Best rooms face the marina as opposed to the street and Bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Address: 2051 Shelter Island Drive, San Diego, CA 92106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in San Diego
#17 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#38 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on San Diego's Shelter Island, the Island Palms Hotel and Marina is surrounded by the blue waters of San Diego Bay. Nestled among 6 acres of lush, tropical landscaping, this spectacular setting overlooks our private yacht marina and San Diego's largest yacht basin. Features and amenities include 227 beautifully-appointed guest rooms and suites, 2 heated waterfront pools and spas, waterfront restaurant and bar and over 6,300 square feet of water view meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, AAA Travel Services, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel And Marina
Best Western San Diego
San Diego Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.