We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay, from start to finish!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2051 Shelter Island Drive, San Diego, CA 92106   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #15 of 269 hotels in San Diego
Sarasota, Florida
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
113 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“Perfect stay, from start to finish!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with some friends visiting from Florida. We didn't have a reservation, but were treated as though they'd been waiting for us! The check-in was fast and courteous, the rooms were clean and comfortable and the bed was heavenly. My room faced Coronado Island and the views were fantastic. Overal a perfect experience.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,695 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    981
    534
    125
    37
    18
See reviews for
603
693
54
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (422)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
greeneyes67
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We had booked a stay at this resort & at the last minute had to cancel due to a family member being hospitalized. We were to be charged a $128 cancellation fee, but after hearing our reason, Brittany waived the fee. Now that is REAL customer service! Believe me, we will be staying here at a future date!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

After a trip here in summer 2011 (when we extended our stay by a day because it was so good), I insisted we return as part of my 60th birthday celebrations. Initially we were disappointed. Although the room was as we recalled; very large with two good sized beds, a decent sitting area and a kitchen/dining area, it was very noisy. I had requested an upstairs room to avoid guests stomping about on our ceiling and that worked well. But we were opposite the smaller of the two pools and it was the end of spring break. So it was full of noisy kids with irresponsible parents until about 10.30. The pool itself does not close until 11.00 which is great for some guests but not for those wanting a quiet night in their room or even some sleep. I think the hotel needs to consider its pool policy or if not, to ensure that the rooms close to the pool are better soundproofed.

Then there was the baby in the room next door. Not much you can do about that if parents insist on inflicting their sleepless nights on others (we did not, choosing not to stay in hotels until our daughter was beyond the screaming stage and we sort of expect the same courtesy of others).

But the mark of a good hotel is the way in which it deals with problems and I can only commend both Danny and Bill for the calm, courteous and helpful way they dealt with us. This was to be the jewel in the crown of my celebratory holiday and it could so easily have been ruined. But they responded extremely sympathetically (especially given that we were a bit edgy having lost sleep) and found a room for us that was quiet and peaceful.

So I got the trip I had been dreaming about and went home happy. I would certainly return again and would recommend this hotel to others. The location, as others have said, is excellent for reaching everywhere in San Diego but without the hustle and bustle of being in the centre. Shelter Island is very quiet and peaceful.

We also enjoyed using the complimentary bikes for a slow cycle around the "island".

If you dont want to eat out, there is a Vons supermarket just a few minutes away in a large complex that includes a number of restaurants.

Room Tip: Rooms on the marina side of the Casa Del Mar building can get some noise from the small pool and hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

This is a nice, quiet hotel (especially nice for a Best Western!).
If you are planning to attend a Humphrey's concert, I would most DEFINITELY stay here. You will be within a block walking distance and the rooms are 1/3 the price....so you will save a lot of cash-olla.
The event space here is darling and quite reasonable for the area. The staff is courteous, upbeat and thorough. You'll love the bar/restaurant, delicious food with reasonable prices and a great wine selection.

Room Tip: Ask for the section with newly renovated rooms facing the Harbor on the upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange county
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

This is our first stay at this property. We found it to be upscale for a Best Western. The rooms are comparable to to an upper end hotel. The bathrooms were clean but small. We had a view overlooking the bay with a small balcony. It was quiet at night and the beds are very comfortable. We already made reservations for June!

Room Tip: we were in the Casa Del Mar building,,upscale and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, NE
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

The location of this hotel can't be beat! It is close to the zoo, Sea World, harbor cruises, Seaport Village, Old Town, USS Midway, Gaslamp Quarter, and the airport! The view of the bay is gorgeous! Our room was clean and had everything we needed. Our only complaint is that the free high-speed internet was very intermittent. It went out frequently and you had to get a new password to use it every day. I would highly recommend this location and will stay here again if I visit San Diego in the future!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Address: 2051 Shelter Island Drive, San Diego, CA 92106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in San Diego
#17 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#38 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on San Diego's Shelter Island, the Island Palms Hotel and Marina is surrounded by the blue waters of San Diego Bay. Nestled among 6 acres of lush, tropical landscaping, this spectacular setting overlooks our private yacht marina and San Diego's largest yacht basin. Features and amenities include 227 beautifully-appointed guest rooms and suites, 2 heated waterfront pools and spas, waterfront restaurant and bar and over 6,300 square feet of water view meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, BookIt.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel And Marina
Best Western San Diego
San Diego Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.