We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2051 Shelter Island Drive, San Diego, CA 92106   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #16 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Omaha, NE
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

The location of this hotel can't be beat! It is close to the zoo, Sea World, harbor cruises, Seaport Village, Old Town, USS Midway, Gaslamp Quarter, and the airport! The view of the bay is gorgeous! Our room was clean and had everything we needed. Our only complaint is that the free high-speed internet was very intermittent. It went out frequently and you had to get a new password to use it every day. I would highly recommend this location and will stay here again if I visit San Diego in the future!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,304
    689
    157
    46
    25
See reviews for
785
919
66
167
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (543)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

This is a big best western with lots of bungalows and two story buildings that either look over the marina or the entrance to San Diego harbor. 
The rooms are very nice and even have a safe (not typical for a BW). 
One of the many highlights are the pools and hot tubs distributed all over the hotel. We really enjoyed our stay after spending 3 nights in a downtown San Diego hotel this was a getaway to relax and enjoy. Two things I have to mention on the "not so nice side": Jut over the bay is San Diego's naval base so low flying helicopters every 15 minutes until late in the night were a common source of noise and disturbance. This is one of the few, if not the only, BW were breakfast is not included although its cheap with the relatively high price at least some coffee and toast should be included. 

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We will definitely return to this property when we return to San Diego. We had a suite in the Casa Del Mar building and were thrilled with our room. We had 2 comfortable queen beds, nice sitting area, a lanai, and a good sized breakfast nook table. The refrigerator was tiny and didn't hold much, but it served its purpose. Shelter Island is wonderful - a fishing pier and walking path that faces Coronado Island on one side, and a marina on the other side. The small pool by the Casa Del Mar was OK, but the pool near the main building was much better than your average hotel pool. The service was fantastic, free parking, free wifi (though it kicked in and out), and best of all, this hotel is very handy to many of San Diego's attractions. Downtown, Old Town, Gastown, Cabrillo Monument, Ocean Beach, USS Midway, Seaport Village, Fashion Valley, and the airport are all within a 15 minute drive - incredible!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springboro, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Never been to San Diego, so was so surprised of how beautiful it was. We chose this hotel by chance and readers reviews and was not disappointed. It had the view , pool, resturant, and the spacious rooms and balcony was wonderfull. The rooms very clean, comfy beds and we enjoyed the kitchenette. The bay was right across the street(which is dead end street,so not a lot of traffic). My sister drove down from riverside California which made the trip so special, I only get to see her once a year. We had. Wonderful time enjoying the hot tub, pool, and the little happy hour pub. This was an excellent spot to stay, shot drive to gaslight district, rides up the coast line and spectacular view of pacific ocean! The day shopping over on Coronado Islabd and beach day so, so much fun. We are planning a trip in september to go back and hopefully get the great deal on the Best Western, would even like to get the second floor in the middle building, now I forget the name of that bul
Building, but the service there is great and Im sure they will Remember us. We are great guest! I'll let you know how it turns out , catch ya later.

Room Tip: The second floor facing the bay excellent choice if you don't mind the traffic, but great views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We booked a "King Suite" in the Casa Del Mar building and were a bit disappointed at how average the room was for the price.
First the room was not ready at check in time, then we realized there really wasn't an elevator, then the TV remote failed to work, and the heater had an extremely noisy fan combined with confusing controls. The patio was so narrow that it was hard to get past someone sitting in a chair and only two metal chairs were provided with no table.
There were two bathrooms (one with a great shower), plenty of towels and the room was quiet.
The restaurant was the hidden gem in this mediocre place - it had great food and great service.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at this hotel last week. It was better than the pictures. We had a regular room with 2 queen beds that were really comfortable. In front was the water and a pier where people were fishing. You could also see downtown from there across the water. In the back was a marina with alot of beautiful sailboats. The 2 pools were heated which was wonderful because it got really cool at night. There were also 2 hot tubs (1 at each pool) and by the pool we used the most there was a fireplace which was nice. There was plenty of parking and it was free. Really beautiful area with restaurants and yacht clubs all down the street. Really close to the couple things we went to (Balboa park and the USS Midway). We didn't eat at the restaurant so I can't comment on that but we peeked in and it looked really nice. We would definately stay here again if we go to San Diego.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Address: 2051 Shelter Island Drive, San Diego, CA 92106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in San Diego
#17 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#40 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on San Diego's Shelter Island, the Island Palms Hotel and Marina is surrounded by the blue waters of San Diego Bay. Nestled among 6 acres of lush, tropical landscaping, this spectacular setting overlooks our private yacht marina and San Diego's largest yacht basin. Features and amenities include 227 beautifully-appointed guest rooms and suites, 2 heated waterfront pools and spas, waterfront restaurant and bar and over 6,300 square feet of water view meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, BookIt.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel And Marina
Best Western San Diego
San Diego Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.