We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay on Shelter Island” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2051 Shelter Island Drive, San Diego, CA 92106   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #12 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
Write a Review

1,964 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,151
    610
    139
    43
    21
See reviews for
691
811
60
148
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (489)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canby, Oregon
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012 via mobile

Very nice room and property except I couldn't believe how thin the walls were with respect to privacy. Could hear loving couple next room till 0230 with my wake up at 4. Have not had this since I left trailer house in park 40 years ago!!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wjorman, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Thank you for the feedback and I apologize for the noisy experience. We will certainly address this issue and I wish we would have found a quiet room for you. If you ever come back to the Island Palms please reach out to us at ip-reservations@islandpalms.com so we can ensure you have a more tranquil experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belo Horizonte, MG
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I've stayed in this hotel in November '12, and I was afraid of picked up from the internet. It was a great surprise. First of all, free parking in front of your pavilion. Casa del Mar room is big, with enough space for stocking our blackfriday shops, and confy king bed, new LG lcd 42'' tv, has a safe and enough space in bathroom. For the room, negative points are carpet floor and old furniture. Nice restaurant for breakfast, lunch and dinner, but expensive if not included in you reservation. Good location (less than 5 miles to SeaWorld, Gaslamp Quarter, USS Midway, Coronado and San Diego Zoo, excellent view from San Diego Bay or Island Palms Marina (depends on what you choose in your reservation). Not expensive average daily rate, fair price for what you get. Employees at night shift are very friendly (very rare to see it), and nice clean up service. Wifi = modem 56k connection (lot of lag)... If you want real connection, you should buy it online with 5 bucks per stay (you must be there first to buy it).
After all, what can I say? Nice choice to spend a week on there.

Room Tip: Choose Casa del Mar room, make the reservation on the internet than you can save some money. More fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wjorman, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Muito obrigado Raphael! We’re very happy that you chose to stay at the Island Palms and that everything went so well. The Casa Del Mar junior suite is definitely a great room if extra space is needed for a long stay or Black Friday shopping. I’m really sorry about the WiFi issues you experienced and we've had the signal tested to make sure the bandwidth is at the appropriate level throughout the hotel.

We hope your travels bring you back to San Diego sometime and that you choose Island Palms once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Had an early Janurary stay and it was wonderful. Got a good rate as apparently there was construction work going on but we didn't see or hear anything of it. Really peaceful place out in the bay. Staff were really friendly and helpful. There isn't that much within short walking distance though and if you want to see much of SD, I'd certainly recommend a car.

Thoroughly recommend the hotel though

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wjorman, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Thank you for the magnificent review and we’re so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. It’s almost been a year and we hope you’ll come back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mastic, New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Wow is pretty much how I could sum up my feelings about this hotel. The room was awesome, the service was incredible, and the setting is probably the most beautiful I have ever experienced. If you go to San Diego- STAY HERE. I'll explain why.

This was our first trip to California. We only had 4 nights/5 days total so we divided it up between LA and San Diego (2 nights in each location), since we wanted to see both. After spending 2 nights in LA, we drove the coastal route (Laguna Beach = beautiful) to San Diego.

After a great deal of research, I had chose the Best Western because of its reasonable price and ideal location (close to everything); as well as its beautiful setting. We arrived at the Best Western and all of my expectations (based on pictures and TripAdvisor reviews) were proved correct. The hotel is located on "Shelter Island", a small strip of land in the San Diego Bay, with beautiful views of the San Diego skyline and surrounding mountains. Kona Marina is on the other side of the "island" (not really an island). Across the street is a beautiful park and fishing pier. On both sides there are walking trails and benches, so you can really sit back and enjoy the views (and amazing San Diego weather).

The room was also incredible. We had a suite in the Casa Del Mar building. The suite had 2 queen beds, a very large living area and a small kitchenette. We also had our own private patio with chairs. The view out of the room's windows was beautiful because of the greenery- it looked very tropical. The beds were comfortable and everything was very clean.
We also had breakfast at the Blue Wave (on-site restaurant), which was very good. The service there was also great- very nice staff.

You can be in Downtown SD in maybe 15 minutes; the SD Airport in maybe 10 minutes (traffic permitting of course); the zoo in less than 20. It's close to everything. There are also plenty of services nearby including shopping centers and restaurants.

Overall I'd definitely recommend this hotel! You won't be disappointed if you stay here while in San Diego. In fact, you'd probably be disappointed if you didn't stay here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wjorman, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Thank you for this awesome 5-star review! It’s so nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you had such a great experience in San Diego. Hopefully you can make plans to come back and stay longer next time! We’ll be happy to hold the same room for you!!

Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrieta
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We have driven by the hotel hundreds of times, even eaten at the restaurant a couple of times. We were looking for a place to get away and relax, this was the perfect place!! Quite relaxing location!! Sat on the patio and watched the ships come and go!! Beautiful scenery!! We will definitely return!! And have already recommended it to friends!! We had one little issue with the bathtub not draining and they sent someone right away and fixed it!! They even sent a housekeepper in to clean the tub!! Very thoughtful!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wjorman, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Thank you for staying with us! It’s so wonderful to hear from our guests when they are pleasantly surprised with their experience. We do hope that you’ll become one of our regular guests and that we’ll see more of you!

Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Address: 2051 Shelter Island Drive, San Diego, CA 92106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in San Diego
#17 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#37 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on San Diego's Shelter Island, the Island Palms Hotel and Marina is surrounded by the blue waters of San Diego Bay. Nestled among 6 acres of lush, tropical landscaping, this spectacular setting overlooks our private yacht marina and San Diego's largest yacht basin. Features and amenities include 227 beautifully-appointed guest rooms and suites, 2 heated waterfront pools and spas, waterfront restaurant and bar and over 6,300 square feet of water view meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Best Western, Hotels.com, Travelocity, AAA Travel Services, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Venere, Despegar.com, Otel, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel And Marina
Best Western San Diego
San Diego Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.