We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good if you have a car” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2051 Shelter Island Drive, San Diego, CA 92106   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #16 of 269 hotels in San Diego
Alberta
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Very good if you have a car”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

The rooms were spacious and immaculately clean, super comfy beds and pillows! Location had a great view but a bit far from major attractions, no problem if you have a car though. We really enjoyed the hot tub at night, a really nice way to relax after busy sightseeing.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wjorman, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you for the review! We appreciate the feedback and you are correct, sitting in one of our spas after a day on the town is definitely the right way to relax.

Thank you again for staying with us and we do hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,701 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    974
    543
    126
    40
    18
See reviews for
592
681
54
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (414)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rancho Cucamonga, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

What's not to love about this place?! We stayed in in the Casa Marina with a bay/ocean view, second floor. Nice view, although the top (third) floor would have been better, but alas, no rooms were available. Next time book EARLY. Rooms were well appointed and very clean. Beds were very comfortable..( and I am VERY picky when it comes to bed comfort). Free and ample parking, free bike rentals, and an in-house restaurant that was very good. Very nice staff always willing to please. Highly recommend this place and will definitely stay here on our next visit to San Diego.

Room Tip: Casa Marina is the newer section. Marina view is quieter, but the bay side has views of downtown San...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wjorman, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you for the great review. It’s really nice to hear that everything went well and that our staff took care of you.

We’re sorry that we didn’t have a 3rd floor room available during your stay but hopefully we can take care of you the next time. In fact, please feel free to contact the hotel directly when you make your next booking and we’ll be happy to assign the right room location.

Thank you again for the feedback and we will look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, CA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

My wife and I got a free night because of the Best Western rewards program, and we settled on this place in San Diego Bay.

It was a great choice. We stayed in the Casa del Mar building. The suite was very spacious and decorated very well. My wife was delighted that we had two bathrooms and two television sets. She awarded herself the larger bathroom. I could watch sports on one TV in the living room while she watched the shows she likes in bed on the other TV. Just like at home.

We had a pleasant patio and nice views of the water. We enjoyed strolling along the waterside as the sun went down.

The room came equipped with lots of stuff in addition to the two TVs: a microwave, a small refrigerator (both standard in many places), dishes, forks and knives. The killer option for both of us--glass glassware. If a motel room has glass glasses you know it's got to be good.

The bed was one of the most comfortable I've encountered in a long time. My wife wanted to stay another night because of the bed, but I promised her we would return another day.

I see that the general manager monitors these comments. We were in Room 412, and the only negative about the stay was that the Wi-Fi was spotty.

Room Tip: Some comments have complained about the rooms. Stay in either the Casa del Mar building or the Casa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wjorman, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you very much for the 5-Star review! It really sounds like you had a wonderful time and we’re so happy that you chose to stay with us.

We do address all feedback that we receive and we will certainly investigate the WiFi signal near room 412. We’re required to maintain adequate bandwidth levels throughout the hotel and we’ll correct any issues that we discover.

Again, thank you for staying with us and we hope you’ll come back and see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todo Mundo
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

The reviews of this property seem to be ranking different hotels. If you are in the standard rooms, your experience will be about 2 1/2 stars. As others have mentioned, these rooms are old, dark, and not exceptional. There were tiny ants in my room -- not a lot, but enough to give me the creepy crawlies and a general feeling of dirt and discomfort. I was happy to leave this hotel.

The one cool thing about it were the desk-top connections where you could plug in your own e-device (iPad, laptop, etc) and watch your own content on their large, flat screen TV's. I'm including a photo of the connection panel.

Other than that, if you're in a standard room, expect no more than a 2 1/2 star experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wjorman, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for the feedback and I’m sorry to hear that the room did not meet your needs. If we receive any reports of insects we will immediately address them and contact our outside pest control service if necessary.

Thank you again for the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthem, Arizona
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Not only is it a great location, the staff is among the best we have ever encountered. The rooms are spacious and very well appointed. We are in the bar the first afternoon, food was excellent and service was amazing. The second night we ate in the dinning room again great service and excellent food.

Room Tip: Room either face the bay where you can watch the cruise ships come and go or the marina both are exc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wjorman, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you so much. We really appreciate your kind words and will certainly share them with our staff.

We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

After reading the rave reviews, I have to be honest and say that I was pretty disappointed in our stay at the Island Palms. My husband and I booked a week's stay in September 2012. We booked a traditional non-view guest room. I didn't realize that the hotel has several buildings and the traditional rooms are quite dated and very dark. Had I known that the traditional rooms are in a building from the 60s (my best guess), I would have paid extra for a room in the newer Casa Marina building.

The staff at the hotel was very good. They were friendly and accommodating and although they did not offer to upgrade us to nicer room (even for a surcharge), they were pleasant and helpful. Maid service was great.

The hotel has two pools. The main pool just off the lobby is small but has a nice tropical feel with landscaping and umbrellas. The pool outside the Casa Marina building is also small and lacks any sort of shade or ambiance.

Nice features at the hotel include: coin-op guest laundry, great happy hour, in-room coffee maker and mini-fridge and free internet/parking.

Overall, the hotel had great amenities and a friendly staff, but I would not recommend it based on the outdated and dark rooms.

Room Tip: Definitely pay extra for the Casa Marina building. The Island Palms rooms are dated and dark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wjorman, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you for the feedback and I’m very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the type of room that you reserved.

Our website is designed to display only the types of rooms that are available on the specific dates that are being requested. During our busier periods, such as summer and weekends or when making a last-minute booking, room types are not available during the reservations process and can’t be offered by the front desk.

I do wish we would have had some options to offer you as we really enjoy making all of our guests as comfortable as possible. We do hope you’ll give us another opportunity to serve you and please feel free to reach out directly to us if you do.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We love this hotel. My grandkids ages 3 through 15 love it as well. The Hotel staff are friendly and accomdating. I love both the Marina and Ocean Views. The rooms are outstanding and well appointed with refrigerators and microwaves. We love it here and it is our home away from home. My son and his family are stationed in San Diego so it is convienvent when we wish to spend time with them. I love everything about this hotel and might I add. Location! Location! Location!!!!!

Room Tip: I personally love the rooms that overlook the Marina!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wjorman, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you so much and it’s good to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again and providing another memorable experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Address: 2051 Shelter Island Drive, San Diego, CA 92106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in San Diego
#17 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#38 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on San Diego's Shelter Island, the Island Palms Hotel and Marina is surrounded by the blue waters of San Diego Bay. Nestled among 6 acres of lush, tropical landscaping, this spectacular setting overlooks our private yacht marina and San Diego's largest yacht basin. Features and amenities include 227 beautifully-appointed guest rooms and suites, 2 heated waterfront pools and spas, waterfront restaurant and bar and over 6,300 square feet of water view meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel And Marina
Best Western San Diego
San Diego Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.