We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel For Exploring San Diego & Surrounding Area” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bookmark
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2051 Shelter Island Drive, San Diego, CA 92106   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #12 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
England
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great Hotel For Exploring San Diego & Surrounding Area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Just spent three nights at this lovely hotel. We chose the hotel based on existing reviews and cannot fault it in terms of room size, facilities, restaurant, location and value.
We arrived pretty frazzled after a Friday evening rush hour journey through San Diego from Palm Springs to find we had been allocated a large third floor room with a marina view. The room was large, clean, well equipped with two queen beds, free wi-fi and plug ports for charging phones etc.
The restaurant food was good quality and reasoanbly priced - excellent shrip scampi pasta and crab cakes as well as a good selection of local craft beers at the bar - all served by friendly, enthusiastic staff.
There is an exercise room close to the reception are. This is small but well equipped with good quality treadmill, bike and cross trainer all in good order and towels and drinks provided. Also the pool area is very pleasant later in the afternoon.
The hotel's location is close to the city airport, which means there is some noise from aircraft but we couldn't hear anything once the windows were closed. The hotels location also means it is away from the city centre - bear this in mind if you intend to spend all your time there - however the location is ideal for Seaworld and San Diego Zoo (both about 10 mins by car thanks to excellent map and directions from reception staff) as well as exploring the coastal towns nearby such as La Jolla. We would definitlely want to stay again if we are lucky enough to visit San Diego in the future.

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms with marina view are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,956 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,147
    607
    138
    43
    21
See reviews for
688
807
60
147
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (488)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Essex, UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012 via mobile

We spent 3 nights here over the Christmas holiday. The room was so cramped the door banged on the bed if you swung it too wide. To make matters worse we saw a huge cockroach in the bathroom one morning. When I complained, the reception staff apologised and said it was because the hotel is near water and this attracts them.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

& a very nice property. This is apparantly 3 hotels combined into one & it works out pretty nicely. The staff is very friendly & helpful. We were originally placed in a bay view room & they switched us the next night to a marina view without much hassle. The bay view would be beautiful but the parking lot distracts. Two pools & a restaurant & an ideal San Diego location. This is where I want to stay on my next visit to San Diego, just lovely.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed in the 2-story "villa" with the kitchen/dining downstairs, and 2 king bedrooms upstairs. 6 women, and the room had 3 bathrooms - PERFECT! (and I had looked at alot of properties in San Diego - none of them had this). right in front of our patio was the pool, with a view of the marina. spectacular. All my guests loved the property, and the staff was very helpful. I do recommend double and triple checking that the room is stocked for the correct number of guests, etc. in advance. a beautiful property. I hope to have another occasion to book this room again!

Room Tip: you will want to choose Marina view or Bay view. I preferred Marina!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, UK
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We decided to book this hotel because of the glowing reviews on Trip Advisor, for our two-day stop over in San Diego and were not disappointed. From the moment we drove up to the hotel we were impressed with the location and the appearance, and it just got better and better. The reception staff were extremely welcoming and helpful, and provided us with comprehensive details about local tours in the area, restaurants, and other useful tips. We were given rooms in the newer part of the hotel, Casa Del Mar, which were really lovely, really clean and had all the comforts you could ask for - plus a balcony with views over the bay across to the San Diego skyline. Breakfast was not included in the price but to be honest the selection and cost was very reasonable, and in fact we dined in the hotel both evenings because the ambience, the service, the food and the scenery were too good to miss! Facilities in the hotel were excellent - they have two pools, both with hot tubs; an ample gym; restaurant; bar; free parking; free wi-fi and the grounds and gardens are all kept spotlessly clean and tidy. In fact there is nothing we could fault about this hotel. Would we go back ... yes in an instance, and next time we will stay longer than two days, not only for the hotel but San Diego has so much to offer.

Room Tip: We stayed in a corner ground floor room in the newer Casa Del Mar Building facing the Bay. Well reco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

The Best Western island Palms is a great getaway hotel in a beautiful location. i booked our reservations for a specific room 6 months ago for our anniversary. when we checked in they told us that they upgraded us. great! well kind of... we were in the casa del mar buiding like i had originally booked, but we had NO view like we were supposed to, just a patio looking at the building right next to ours. our upgrade was to a larger room (#410) with a kitchen on the bottom floor. instead of the room i had requested, am upper level floor WITH a marina view. i know their intentions were good, but we didn't need a kitchen for 1 night. also, we found trash on our floor and for being in an upgraded building, i was a little disappointed with the furniture, the couch and bed were both very uncomfortable and stiff. then, when we checked out, they accidentally charged us for the upgrade but once i saw it they corrected it and put the difference back on my card. all and all its a beautiful hotel in a great location, i just wish we got the view and room i originally booked for a special occasion.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encinitas, CA
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

I booked this hotel to have a high school reunion because the location / meeting room / price was really great... Having a really nice room was an added benefit. As with most all of my Best Western experiences, I was pleased with my room. I reserved a king suite which had a little patio (smaller than the floor plan picture made it look) a nice living room area with ample seating, a complete kitchen (full size fridge, microwave, toaster, coffee pot, dishes..) and the luxurious bed with numerous pillows and high quality bedding. The bathroom was very large and had been recently updated with granite, and beautiful fixtures. It had a shower but no bathtub. It was probably the quietest room I've ever stayed in.
The customer service was superior and even the housekeeping staff was friendly and attentive...more than helpful. The garden areas around the rooms are lush and tropical, the view from one side of the building is of the marina and on the other side is beautiful San Diego bay and down town SD on the other side. Gorgeous!

Room Tip: I stayed on the marina side of the hotel, room 222 and it was very quiet. However, my friends staye...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Address: 2051 Shelter Island Drive, San Diego, CA 92106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in San Diego
#17 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#37 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on San Diego's Shelter Island, the Island Palms Hotel and Marina is surrounded by the blue waters of San Diego Bay. Nestled among 6 acres of lush, tropical landscaping, this spectacular setting overlooks our private yacht marina and San Diego's largest yacht basin. Features and amenities include 227 beautifully-appointed guest rooms and suites, 2 heated waterfront pools and spas, waterfront restaurant and bar and over 6,300 square feet of water view meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Best Western, Hotels.com, Travelocity, AAA Travel Services, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Otel, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel And Marina
Best Western San Diego
San Diego Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.