We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“started of our trip in California” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN San Diego/Miramar Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN San Diego/Miramar Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN San Diego/Miramar Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9310 Kearny Mesa Rd, San Diego, CA 92126 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS San Diego/Miramar Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #107 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
1 review
“started of our trip in California”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

After much delay with the weather we made it to San Diego and welcomed to the Best Western. Our room was very nice so we extended our stay one more night. The complementary breakfast also help decided to stay the extra night. We will travel all around California so we will look for other Best Western Thank you

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN San Diego/Miramar Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear JeanJ580,

Thank you for taking the time in reviewing the Best Western Plus San Diego Miramar. We are delighted to hear your “room was very nice” and because of that you decided to stay an extra nice. We strive in providing a well-maintained property and are touched that you took notice. As you mentioned, we do offer a complimentary breakfast to our guests and are thrilled you were able to enjoy it during your stay. We anticipate your next night with us and appreciate your feedback regarding the Best Western Plus San Diego Miramar.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    50
    26
    15
    19
See reviews for
71
27
24
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Morrison, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Chris, Juan and Amy made us feel like family upon arrival and through our full 3 day stay. They were always friendly and smiling. Chris and Juan assisted us in finding local activities as we had never visited the area before and they were even able to give us printed google map directions to various attractions in the area. The breakfast area was always clean and well stocked. The staff was even able to tell us areas that were congested with traffic and the time(s) of day to avoid certain areas. I would definitely stay here again if/when I return to the San Diego area.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN San Diego/Miramar Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Tracy H,

Thank you for taking the time in reviewing the Best Western Plus San Diego Miramar. We are delighted to hear our staff “were always friendly and smiling”. We work hard in providing outstanding quality service and are touched that you took notice. We value your kind words about Chris, Juan, and Amy and will do our best to make sure they hear them, too. As you mentioned, we do offer a complimentary breakfast to our guests and are so glad you were able to enjoy it during your stay. We look forward to your next night with us and appreciate your feedback regarding the Best Western Plus San Diego Miramar.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankara, Ankara, Turkey
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

I was really happy with my stay at MIramar Hotel on Kearny Mesa Road. The only you should think about is its location. It is out of the downtown and the parks. You certainly need to rent a car if you don't have.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN San Diego/Miramar Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear SecilDR,

Thank you for providing feedback regarding your stay at the Best Western Plus San Diego Miramar. We are delighted to hear you were “really happy” with your stay at our hotel. We work hard in providing our guests with a memorable experience and are delighted to have accomplished said task. We hope to see you again, during your next trip to San Diego. Once more, thank you for reviewing the Best Western Plus Miramar.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgewood, New Jersey
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

this place is great if you have a Marine stationed at Miramar. Maybe a 7-10 min ride up the road to the North gate depending on traffic. Rooms were clean enough. Juan at the front desk is a gem.. the breakfast is very good. really good coffee and something for everyone!
the pool is on the smaller side but clean. The only problem I have was locking the pool and kicking adult out at 10pm... We stayed here for 2 nights while waiting for my son to get off for the weekend and then returned for 1 more night after the weekend. we were given a discount for being a return customer! Our room had a broken phone and no alarm clock on the second visit and we really needed it due to leaving for the airport early in the am.. The front desk clerk a very nice woman (wish I had gotten her name) went out of her way to see if she could fix the phone and then found us an alarm clock... we will return again!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN San Diego/Miramar Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Pooh54,

Thank you for taking the time in reviewing the Best Western Plus San Diego Miramar. We are delighted to hear our hotel is a “good clean place”. We apologize for some of the amenities in your room not working properly, but are thrilled to hear our staff was able to mend the situation. As you mentioned, we do offer a complimentary breakfast and are so glad you were able to enjoy it during your stay. We look forward to your next stay with us and appreciate your feedback regarding the Best Western Plus San Diego Miramar.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We were given an older room...that was not up to Best Western Plus standards. The bathroom was small and old and stained, the air conditioning not working and the carpet dirty to the point we all got black feet. This was not worth what we paid, even at a high time in San Diego. The breakfast was ordinary. Lots of smokers hanging around outside. Parking is tight.

This seemed like an old motel that has tried to be upgraded to a Best Western Plus but misses the mark. The Foyer and check-in desk area are nice but that masks some of the rooms and especially the one we stayed in.

Unless you get a newer room, look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Check out the room before committing. They are not all the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN San Diego/Miramar Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear 499kiwi,

Thank you for investing your time in reviewing our hotel. We always aim to wow our guests and are disappointed to have missed such an opportunity with you. Please know your concerns are being addressed with our staff, in hopes of improving the stays of our future guests. We hope you would be so kind as to give us another chance and stay with us again, in the future. Once more, thank you for reviewing our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Clean hotel, comfortable accommodations, however there was a problem with wireless internet for the 2 days of our stay. A bit pricey, but after all, this is California in the summer. Hot breakfast was adequate each morning, typical Best Western fare.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN San Diego/Miramar Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Henry W,

Thank you for providing feedback regarding your stay at the Best Western Plus San Diego Miramar. We are delighted to hear we are a “clean hotel” with “comfortable accommodations”. We work hard in providing a well-maintained property and are touched you took notice. We are sincerely sorry to hear about the difficulties you experienced with the wireless internet. Please know your concern is being addressed, in order to improve our future guest’s experience. We hope to see you again, during your next trip to San Diego. Once more, thank you for reviewing the Best Western Plus San Diego Miramar.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishop, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Rooms are ordinary, but clean, with usual basic mod cons. Staff is friendly and helpful. Have stayed at this particular motel for many years, as its quality -- though modest -- is consistent. The location is popular with military families and can sometimes be a little noisy on weekends, but the noise is not heard inside the rooms.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN San Diego/Miramar Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time in reviewing the Best Western Plus San Diego Miramar. We are pleased to hear our hotel is “reasonable, clean” and “convenient to freeways”. We work hard in providing a well-maintained property and are glad to have accomplished said task. As you mentioned, we are centrally located to several of San Diego’s famous attractions and are delighted you were able to benefit from it during your stay. We look forward to your next stay with us and appreciate your feedback regarding the Best Western Plus San Diego Miramar.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN San Diego/Miramar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN San Diego/Miramar Hotel

Address: 9310 Kearny Mesa Rd, San Diego, CA 92126 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS San Diego/Miramar Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN San Diego/Miramar Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN San Diego/Miramar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Inn Miramar San Diego Hotel
Best Western San Diego
San Diego Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN San Diego/Miramar Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.