We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location with Nice Accommodations” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4041 Harney Street, San Diego, CA 92110 (Old Town)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #71 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great Location with Nice Accommodations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2009

Old Town is splendid for so many reasons: great restaurants & shops; close to the trolleys--if you want to venture out of Old Town to other areas.

Best Western Hacienda is pretty nice--in the heart of Old Town! Here are the pros & cons of the property:

PROS: Reasonable enough rate; FREE Internet in your room; pretty roomy; gorgeous landscaping all over the facility; close to everything--restaurants, shops, the train station for trolleys are a quick walk away; granted us a 1pm check out; FREE shuttle to & from the airport; cordial bell staff.

CONS: It's a bit of a hike from the lobby to your room...We had to go through 3 elevators to get there. Fine for us, but may be a bit of a pain for those with some walking troubles; slightly outdated decor, but okay for the price; front desk staff was just okay.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

943 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    380
    351
    115
    58
    39
See reviews for
332
280
38
131
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
leicester, uk
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2009

Excellent location for Old Town restaurants and sites. Hotel is lovely, old mexican style. Pool just lovely too. The 800 building although at the front was excellent spot. Would not hesitate to book there again. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2009

I stayed here with my friends this past weekend and loved the hotel so much that I'm bringing my husband back in September. It's located in such a convenient location, the hotel itself is just charming and the view is just incredible. The elevators are a little slow and I wasn't too thrilled at having to pay for parking as a hotel guest but those are my only complaints (there are stairs everywhere on the property and ample parking on the street).

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix AZ
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2009

Love this hotel - 4th stay. Clean, gorgeous grounds & courtyards, can't beat the location if you like Old Town. Parking is ample. Staff could not have been more accomodating as we indicated we would like to change rooms on night 2 to be in the "old" building which I find more charming even if it could use a little updating. Everything works; shower, microwave, frig, AC, and with comfy beds with 4 pillows each we slept well. Nice private balcony. Room service was prompt, reasonable and friendly. Will continue to stay at the Hacienda in the future.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2009

My husband and I stayed for the second time at the Best Western Hacienda Hotel in Old Town, San Diego for a quick weekend getaway. We had such a great time...we are loyal customers to this hotel. The staff is very friendly, and the location is ideal. It's so great to be able to just park your car once, and be within walking distance to Old Town, with lots of shopping and restaurants like Fred's. We had a gorgeous view, with a perfect room with a nice balcony, overlooking the pool. It's a nice, quiet hotel, even while being over the pool! The decor is nice, and the lack of noise was amazing. Even with a wedding reception going on below, we still slept great!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Dora, Florida
Top Contributor
208 reviews 208 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
316 helpful votes 316 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2009

A decade ago we spent several nights each year at this charming hotel. It was one of our most favorite places to stay, and even though it was above our budget we always found the money to indulge in the delights of this lovely hotel. We returned to San Diego recently after having not been in the town for more than ten years. We know that ten years is a long time in the life of a hotel, but we made reservations hoping things had not changed for the worse.

The good news: The hotel has attempted to keep up with the times by adding small refrigerators and microwaves as well as internet access. Drapes and spreads were fairly up-to-date, and the old Spanish-style furniture still looked good. Our room was fairly large, with a decent-sized bathroom. Service is still a high-priority. A problem in the bathroom was fixed within minutes of our report.

The bad news: Internet access is via cable so only one of us could work on a computer, which was a huge inconvenience for us. We were surprised that wireless was not available. In the past our rooms were always located under shady roofs surrounded by luxurious bougainvillea, over-looking interesting little gardens. This year we were placed in a building that overlooked a parking lot which did not even belong to the hotel. No special feelings from this view unless you want to compare it to a motor court of the 1950's. The absolutely fantastic restaurant in the hotel is under different management and a new menu and we will probably never taste lime-roasted chicken again. What a pity!

The first quoted price of $159/night would have been totally outrageous for this hotel, even though it does enjoy a good location. Our negotiated price of $120/night was still excessive for what we received.

Two random thoughts: It is silly to include a parking charge with a hotel room for which 90% of guests will have reached via automobile. Just add the charge to the room cost.

This hotel had the cheapest toilet paper I have ever used, and that includes some not very nice places in third world nations. I did not understand why they "skimped" on something like this.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2009

We checked in and were greeted by a very dry and unwelcoming front desk staff. The girls at the counter weren't friendly or helpful at all. After some confusion of finding our room and parking in the crazy roundabout parking garage, we settled in to what seemed like a freshly remodeled room. There was a weird sort of toxic smell in our room that I think was coming from the new carpet, it was mildly headache inducing. But aside from that our room was very lovely, and there was a mini fridge and microwave, which is always nice. All of the fixtures seemed new in there. The grounds were lovely and nice to walk around. We weren't put into the haunted section of buildings, so nothing to report there.
We set out into Old Town looking for dinner and to just poke around, and it seemed that more places then not just felt very unfriendly, or maybe they are tired of tourists. Which was kind of sad since I had such good memories of the place from when I was a child. It's funny you would think that a place that thrives on the tourist dollar would make more of an effort to be a little friendlier, but no such luck. But if you are looking for a lovely place to stay right there in Old Town, this is your hotel.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town

Address: 4041 Harney Street, San Diego, CA 92110
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#74 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town 3*
Number of rooms: 198
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, AAA Travel Services, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hacienda Hotel Old Town San Diego
Best Western San Diego
San Diego Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.