We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean, great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4041 Harney Street, San Diego, CA 92110 (Old Town)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #72 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
Eugene
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very clean, great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Super clean! The hotel is very pretty, the room was lovely, the restaurant is convenient with good food, and we had fun walking the old town before we hit the road. We could see the Sea World fireworks from the balcony, which was a hit with the kids! I enjoyed sitting on the balcony with my coffee in the early morning quiet. Nice place.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryanaguinaldo, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Very nice review! Thanks for bringing the family to visit. You picked the right place for kids!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

943 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    380
    351
    115
    58
    39
See reviews for
332
280
38
131
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Iselon, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

The staff were very accommodating. The cleanliness of the room needs to be addressed. Problems with the plumbing. When my wife and I arrived home from our stay she had bug bites on her back, shoulder and face.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryanaguinaldo, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Thank you for your review and pointing out the responsiveness of the staff. Generally, our rooms are rated as super clean here in TripAdvisor but in case, we want to investigate your stay further. We take a lot of pride in being a hotel that can provide a comfortable and safe accommodation. We welcome the opportunity to be in contact with you and can be reached through the hotel. Ask for Dean Featherstone or myself and please reference your review. We would like another opportunity to show you the kind of experience our reputation is built upon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Beautiful hotel in the heart of Old Town San Diego. Private courtyards to relax in away from street noise. Hotel staff, from front desk, to restaurant to housekeeping, are all friendly and helpful. Rooms spacious and well equipped, everything was clean and in working order. Hotel is close to wonderful restaurants and great shopping. Close to Old Town Trolley Tours; the trolley provides a two-hour tour of San Diego with multiple stops at Balboa Park/San Diego Zoo, waterfront, Little Italy, etc. Lots of other tours and sightseeing opportunities available that can be easily accessed without the need to rent a car! Very close to the airport.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryanaguinaldo, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Great description of our service, amenities and location. Thanks for taking the time to recommend the Best Western PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel, CA
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

By far my Worst ever hotel experience. Front desk ladies were so rude and disrespectful. Hotel is dark brown and dingy. Flood in my hotel room in 700 building, wet moldy carpet, front desk sent a mop. Maitenence men were very kind, and we saw them all day and night because of the issues in our 1st room and 2nd room. Never a peaceful moment in the room. Went to the pool and the pool towels were the size of a hand towel, what a joke. This hotel is cheap, gross and I would never ever recommend this hotel to anyone. If you complain, you will get a fast talk and then hung up on by front desk girls, they will never answer your questions clearly. They will roll their eyes at you, cover up their name tags with their hair, and talk down to you. Hotel Manager Dean was kind and caring. But I think the front desk girls need a lesson in MANNERS. Be sure to get a receipt because I read this hotel will over charge your credit card after they send you off.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryanaguinaldo, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Your experience sounds very frustrating. Please accept our apologies for our inability to fulfill your expectations. Please know that your review content is valuable to our leadership team in determining how we can use this situation to improve our communications and procedures. If there is anything further you would like to discuss personally with us about your stay, please feel free to reach out to Dean at the Front Desk. Finally, I really do appreciate you mentioning that your experience with the maintenance team was positive despite the issues you experienced. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phoenix, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

This place is amazing pool fountains set up on the side of a moutain makes for a great adventure the restaraunt is awesome views views and more views at night the fireworks from sea world look as if they are being put on just for you amazing place nice little spot I will definatly bring my family back to this place great food shops and perfect freeway access best san diego best western yet

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryanaguinaldo, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thanks a lot for the lovely review! Your descriptions of the fireworks are delightful. We hope to welcome your family here next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sasebo, Japan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

This Hotel has the best service, people and food I had ever experienced. The plus to this experience is that you receive tickets for "FREE" breakfast and dinner plus two free drinks. The dinner is fantastic!!! The free drinks are awesome!! The location is surreal, great view and happy people.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryanaguinaldo, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thank you for the recommendations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Great place to stay - walking distance to the trolley downtown too the gas lamp district. The Hacienda Best Western in Old Town is like no other BW I have ever stayed in. They have great rates and excellent value- Quiet rooms and great service in the restaurant - ask for Hector at the bar. He makes the BEST margaritas.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryanaguinaldo, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
We’re glad you felt your lodging dollar was well spent here! I’ll be sure to give Hector a nod for his mixing skills. The Old Town Tequila Factory also has a great Happy Hour on Mondays through Fridays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town

Address: 4041 Harney Street, San Diego, CA 92110
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#74 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town 3*
Number of rooms: 198
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, AAA Travel Services, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hacienda Hotel Old Town San Diego
Best Western San Diego
San Diego Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.