We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4041 Harney Street, San Diego, CA 92110 (Old Town)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #72 of 269 hotels in San Diego
Findlay, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Place to Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

We have stayed at the Hacienda Hotel on three occasions over tha past 12 months, and we have found it to be a great place to stay. With its proximity to Old Town, the Trolley Station, retuarants & etc... the location couldn't be better!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryanaguinaldo, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Thank you for your 5-star review and rating! We are delighted to hear your find our location so convenient while visiting San Diego. We hope that 2014 brings you back to our beautiful city!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

772 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    296
    297
    96
    49
    34
See reviews for
263
226
35
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

We always stay at out favorite hotel The Hacienda in Old Town. Love the pool, beautiful grounds, very nice staff and rooms, beautiful place. Right in Old Town with great restaurants, shopping, museums, haunted Harvey house, old cemetery, all withing walking distance.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryanaguinaldo, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Thank you! We are honored to be your favorite hotel!! Have a great holiday and come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

Location was great, I was working at Point Loma for the week and this was the ideal place to get anywhere in San Diego I needed to go. Having Old Town San Diego close by to walk around in with all the shops and great places to eat was an added bonus, not to mention with all the great maragarita's nearby it was in easy walking distance and I didn't have to get a taxi back to the hotel. If your looking for a workout take the stairs to your room, by the end of my stay I was hurting so bad I used the elevators every time I left my room, the elevators can get you to each building with minimum stair climbing. Lesson learned, don't overdue it. I would stay here again if I'm ever in San Diego.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryanaguinaldo, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
We hope you are inspired to visit again very soon! Thank you for taking the time to share your satisfaction with our hotel. Indeed, our location in Old Town makes an ideal home base for all of San Diego. We have many guests that don’t even bring their car! We offer a complimentary shuttle to several points throughout the downtown area including the airport which makes getting around especially convenient. Also, we are within walking distance of the trolley, train station, several restaurants and museums. Let us know if when you plan to stay again so we can assist in your room placement. Six of our eight buildings have elevators so I am confident we can find the perfect spot for you! Thanks again and Happy Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaluma, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

This hotel is located a quick walk to Old Town, San Diego. The hotel has a parking garage (at an extra charge), which was worth the extra cost. We enjoyed our stay and would recommend the hotel to others.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryanaguinaldo, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Thank you for recommending the Best Western PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town! Please come back and visit again! Wishing you and yours a wonderful holiday season!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

The staff that were on duty during my stay were excellent. The only problem is when I got the okay to stay an additional night I was told after the fact that I had to change rooms. I was told first they were going to find out why and see why I needed to move but that did not happen so when the next day came the staff knew nothing about my request to stay an additional night and they did not try to keep me in my room. The room they moved me to was not as nice as the first one and it was not cool I had to pack everything up!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryanaguinaldo, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Thank you for leaving us this wonderful 5-star review and rating! Service can make or break a vacation and it’s nice to hear you felt our team’s efforts were the highlight of your stay. Please accept my apology for the communication error with regards to your extra night though. Our intent is for our front desk procedures to be smooth. In that vein, I appreciate you bringing this to our attention so we can avoid this mistake in the future. I am thankful to hear it did not dampen your experience. Before your next stay, feel free to reach out to me through the hotel so we can manage your reservation in a personalized manner!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Our room was very clean, no mold, and with free wifi, we even had Pandora waking us up and guiding us to sleep from our iPad. If you are familiar with San Diego and San Francisco accommodation prices, and the lack of choices outside of that price-range, then you won't be shocked. We were there during Dias de los Muertos, the weekend of November 1, 2013. Old Town was hopping with local families, friends, and of course us—tourists. It was a grand time and a perfect time to practice one's Español.

If you enjoy window shopping, stopping for a coffee or a tea, then this hotel's proximity to Old Town works very well. The hotel is within the perimeter of Old Town, so you can get back to your room after a day at a local park, rest a bit, then stumble out for a beverage and a bite to eat. The food around is not bad and what I expect from a touristic location. Ask for extra chile or spice if you know that you are a not a fan of Midwestern-Mexican. Or, remember that indeed, you will be in a touristy spot in the U.S. and not in Mexico, hence the food is not authentic Mexican but truly authentic-tourist-who-was-not-raised-with-Hatch-chiles-or-chile-Pepin. And one who isn't quite sure what the difference is between cilantro and parsley. Enjoy the ambiance and know that the restaurants are not Gayot rated.

Besides adjusting one's palate-expectations in a tourist part of the city, the location is also near a relatively largish park. It's great if you have kids or a puppy who will need a morning run. This park is also next to a square with more shops and restaurants.

We are not a fans of sit-down expensive no-spice Mexican food. So, my favorite foods are the handmade tortillas that are sometimes sold along the sidewalks outside of Coyote Cafe, and the street tacos at the square located north or west of the hotel. Ask the front desk, they can show you a map of Old Town. Along the way to the square you'll walk onto an area where there are no cars (great for kids and puppies!). There's a super tea shop along one side of this area. Ask anyone works there. People were friendly when we went.

Breakfast is on the premises of the hotel in a separate restaurant. You can ask for eggs any way you like (poached, sunny side up…), and they have more than a continental spread. They had hot bacon, sausage, potatoes, and fruit. They even prepared us oatmeal with cinnamon and raisins all for no extra charge. It was part of the breakfast deal that came with our room.

If you also are one to sit down and figure out what the next day's agenda will be, then I recommend going to the small but cozy lobby that had coffee dispensers. If it's chilly, they'll have a wood fire in the fireplace. It's a great way to call it a night.

The locals are friendly enough. And as tourists, we are the ones who are the friendly guests or the entitled intruders. A smile and nod gets you a long way in San Diego, CA.

Room Tip: Our room had a parking lot view but weren't planning to stay in the room for long. We saw, howev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryanaguinaldo, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Wow! Excellent review! Your descriptions of Old Town are so inviting. It’s always wonderful to hear when our amenities and location work out so well for a guest. We also love sharing our knowledge of the local fare here in Old Town and beyond into the downtown area. We look forward your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Braunfels, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

Hard to find building since no identification on it, Everything looked new and clean. Once we finally found our building we were pleasantly surprised with clean, nice accommodations. Nice breakfast with beautiful view.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryanaguinaldo, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
We are grateful for your review! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of our hotel as clean and comfortable with a beautiful view. I am glad to hear you enjoyed the breakfast at our new restaurant, the Tequila Factory! Happy Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town

Address: 4041 Harney Street, San Diego, CA 92110
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#74 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hacienda Hotel Old Town San Diego
Best Western San Diego
San Diego Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.