We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Western Hacienda, Old Town San Diego” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4041 Harney Street, San Diego, CA 92110 (Old Town)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #69 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
Aliso Viejo, California, United States
1 review
“Best Western Hacienda, Old Town San Diego”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Best experience in Old Town. Why not get the feel of living "Old California" Style? Best view in San Diego. Beautiful view of Coronado Bay with the mildest weather in all of California! Don't go to Mexico when you can experience "Old Mexico" in the safety and comfort of San Diego.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryanaguinaldo, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for the thoughtful review. It reads like a great recommendation and of course, we are honored by your generous compliments. We sincerely enjoyed having you as our guest and hope to see you again soon in our own little slice of “Old California”!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

839 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    331
    315
    102
    55
    36
See reviews for
295
244
38
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Naperville, Illinois
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised with this lovely old hotel, built into San Diego's Old Town hillside... it's picturesque, the location is fantastically convenient, and the breakfasts at the attached Acapulco restaurant were delish! Each day, we sat on our balcony, looking out over San Diego's city & harbor to Point Loma, far off into the distance - beautiful & peaceful mornings :) We hopped onto the trolley to tour the city and bay one day, ate locally the next (Old Town Mexican Restaurant is super good!), shopped, and then used the car to get out into the Santee & Lakeside areas where we have roots. A delightful experience, and you can't beat the weather!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the harbor and Point Loma :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryanaguinaldo, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for the excellent review including the photo of our famous view!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pico Rivera, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Had to be transferred to 3 rooms,due to mechanical problems. My wife's shoes were ruined. The air conditioner was not working and the toilets overflowed. Very bad experience. The rooms were cleaned and the hotel dining and bar lounge was clean.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryanaguinaldo, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. Per our message to you, we hope that you were satisfied with the adjustment to your bill (at check-out) due to the inconveniences you experienced. Your review is fortunate in that is gives us the opportunity to clarify that these types of incidents are rare. Again please accept our apology. If there is anything further you would like to discuss feel free to reach out to Dean or I anytime through the hotel. We hope to have another chance to provide a hospitality experience that lives up to our reputation. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuma, Arizona
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We have stayed here multiple times and have never been disappointed. It is a lovely hotel in the hills above Old Town. You can easily hop on the trolley and go just about anywhere you like in San Diego without having to drive. Or just hang out in Old Town where there are many restaurants, shops and museums to see. Also there is a theatre right there also.
The staff has gone out of there way to help when necessary and make things very pleasant.

Room Tip: We found when we go through expedia, etc. we get put on the back side with no view and no breakfast...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryanaguinaldo, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you! It’s a delight to read the happy reviews on our loyal guests and speaks volumes to the consistency of our quality. Exceeding expectations is what it is all about! Come back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The Hacienda is a beautiful hotel built on the side of a hill in terraces in Old Town San Diego. It's very clean and the staff is friendly and helpful. The room was very comfortable and clean.it is close to many attractions. The only problem we had was parking as there are not enough spaces for guests. The parking fee is quite high considering we parked out in the street 2 of the 3 nights we were there. Inspite of this, I recommend it for a family stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryanaguinaldo, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for your recommendation which highlights the cleanliness of our property and rooms. We take great pride in keeping each room fresh. Our Executive Housekeeper is a long time employee and does a great job! I look forward to sharing your review with her. Let us know if we can assist with parking on your next visit, there are several options. Thanks again for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heber City, Utah
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We pricelined a 3 star room, but the first room we were given here was a zero star dirty dive. Very old, very outdated and just plain dirty. When I complained the staff was very courteous and after some negotiating they offered to upgrade our room. We were given some kind of a family suite that was completely different and much more updated. There are some nice things about this hotel, the gardens are nice and it is spread out, but it can make it very confusing trying to negotiate the maze of buildings to get to the pool or parking. Our second room was nice enough, but the first room was enough for me to NEVER use Priceline again. Overall I am very disappointed with best westerns you never know what you will get, even with the "plus" designation. I know the parking fee is the norm, for San Diego, but it is just plain ridiculous.

Room Tip: Do not Priceline and be absolutely sure of the room you are getting if you choose to stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryanaguinaldo, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
While we’re pleased with the outcome of your room assignment, it seems that there were a few factors that dampened your overall enjoyment of your stay. The best way to make a reservation is through our website and you can always look here on TripAdvisor for a great special! Please let me know if another vacation should bring you to our great city. I would like our leadership team to manage your reservation in a personalized way. We hope for another chance to win your loyalty!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This hotel is in the middle of it all. Right in Old Town, short walk to the light rail that is very convenient. We stayed here for 3 nights and never used our car. Although normally breakfast is extra cost, we got vouchers for breakfast for the time we were there. The walk up the hill to the Acapulco restaurant is fortunately short. The breakfast was adequate. The hotel itself is a Best Western "plus" so a little more upscale than the usual BW. Parking for us was $7/day well worth it since it was covered keeping the car cool. It does have a Spanish hacienda look which is very attractive. When we return to San Diego, we will either stay here or at the BW Bayside which is close to the pier.

Room Tip: There are several buildings to the complex. We were in number 8 which was the closest to the lobby...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryanaguinaldo, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your satisfaction with our friends here on TripAdvisor. Not having to drive = priceless! That is one of the great things about our location near the trolley and train, plus our complimentary shuttle. And yes, all the Best Western PLUS hotels are AAA 3-Diamond properties! We look forward to serving you again. Don’t hesitate to reach out to me through the hotel is I can ever be of assistance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town

Address: 4041 Harney Street, San Diego, CA 92110
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#73 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Otel, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hacienda Hotel Old Town San Diego
Best Western San Diego
San Diego Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;