We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Labor day getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4041 Harney Street, San Diego, CA 92110 (Old Town)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #68 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Labor day getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The Hacienda is a beautiful hotel built on the side of a hill in terraces in Old Town San Diego. It's very clean and the staff is friendly and helpful. The room was very comfortable and clean.it is close to many attractions. The only problem we had was parking as there are not enough spaces for guests. The parking fee is quite high considering we parked out in the street 2 of the 3 nights we were there. Inspite of this, I recommend it for a family stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryanaguinaldo, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for your recommendation which highlights the cleanliness of our property and rooms. We take great pride in keeping each room fresh. Our Executive Housekeeper is a long time employee and does a great job! I look forward to sharing your review with her. Let us know if we can assist with parking on your next visit, there are several options. Thanks again for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

843 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    333
    316
    103
    55
    36
See reviews for
295
246
38
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Heber City, Utah
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We pricelined a 3 star room, but the first room we were given here was a zero star dirty dive. Very old, very outdated and just plain dirty. When I complained the staff was very courteous and after some negotiating they offered to upgrade our room. We were given some kind of a family suite that was completely different and much more updated. There are some nice things about this hotel, the gardens are nice and it is spread out, but it can make it very confusing trying to negotiate the maze of buildings to get to the pool or parking. Our second room was nice enough, but the first room was enough for me to NEVER use Priceline again. Overall I am very disappointed with best westerns you never know what you will get, even with the "plus" designation. I know the parking fee is the norm, for San Diego, but it is just plain ridiculous.

Room Tip: Do not Priceline and be absolutely sure of the room you are getting if you choose to stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryanaguinaldo, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
While we’re pleased with the outcome of your room assignment, it seems that there were a few factors that dampened your overall enjoyment of your stay. The best way to make a reservation is through our website and you can always look here on TripAdvisor for a great special! Please let me know if another vacation should bring you to our great city. I would like our leadership team to manage your reservation in a personalized way. We hope for another chance to win your loyalty!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This hotel is in the middle of it all. Right in Old Town, short walk to the light rail that is very convenient. We stayed here for 3 nights and never used our car. Although normally breakfast is extra cost, we got vouchers for breakfast for the time we were there. The walk up the hill to the Acapulco restaurant is fortunately short. The breakfast was adequate. The hotel itself is a Best Western "plus" so a little more upscale than the usual BW. Parking for us was $7/day well worth it since it was covered keeping the car cool. It does have a Spanish hacienda look which is very attractive. When we return to San Diego, we will either stay here or at the BW Bayside which is close to the pier.

Room Tip: There are several buildings to the complex. We were in number 8 which was the closest to the lobby...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryanaguinaldo, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your satisfaction with our friends here on TripAdvisor. Not having to drive = priceless! That is one of the great things about our location near the trolley and train, plus our complimentary shuttle. And yes, all the Best Western PLUS hotels are AAA 3-Diamond properties! We look forward to serving you again. Don’t hesitate to reach out to me through the hotel is I can ever be of assistance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

My family and I stayed here Labor Day weekend. We have 3 younger children and though the facility is not tailored to youg children it is located great (Old Town). We love the Mexican restaurants and shops, literally 2 mins away (walking). We stayed here and ventured to Sea World and Legoland. Price was great through Expedia and they had an Alcapulco restaurant on site which is convenient. The facility is beautiful on the outside as it resembles a Spanish style decor. Inside as well but very plain. We love this location and have been staying here for years and will continue to.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryanaguinaldo, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for your continued loyalty to the Best Western PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town! We sure appreciate your comments pointing out our great location near some of San Diego’s best attractions for kids. We’re glad you enjoyed your holiday with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

While almost all other hotels are your standard tower with endless hallways hotel, this hotel has a lovely feeling with it being nestled up on the hills with a view of the bay (depending on your room). Rooms are decorated nice with wooden shutters, and I have never had a problem with the staff (I've stayed there many times). Sometimes beds could be better - it's hit and miss.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryanaguinaldo, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for giving us your two enthusiastic thumbs up! We’re thrilled to hear you enjoyed the charm of our garden-like property design. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pace, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel a few times now and enjoy it's proximity to the area and trolley. This time I would rather have been in a room with a view and not surrounded by party people. Other than this we will stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryanaguinaldo, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience! Please let us know when you will be returning. Our leadership team can manage your reservation to make certain you are in the quietest section of the property. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pomona, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Very nice décor and courtyard. The rooms are spacious. The hotel is walking distance to many restaurants and sights in Old Town. I have been staying at this hotel with friends for the last six years. We always have a great time at this hotel. The staff are also flexible with our after hours partying. We are always treated with courtesy and respect. I'm certain we will be returning next year.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryanaguinaldo, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for writing a recommendation for the Best Western PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town! We enjoy serving you while you are here. On that note, don’t hesitate to reach out to me if I can ever be of assistance. Thanks again and we’ll see you next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town

Address: 4041 Harney Street, San Diego, CA 92110
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#72 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Otel, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hacienda Hotel Old Town San Diego
Best Western San Diego
San Diego Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.