We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Need a Makeover” 2 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4041 Harney Street, San Diego, CA 92110 (Old Town)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2 & Earn a Reward
Ranked #71 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence 2014
La Quinta,Ca
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Need a Makeover”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

This hotel is beautifully located but dark and dingy inside. Our room 305 has a dresser in it that we could hardly open it was so broken down. The bed was very comfotable, Also we had a billing problem with them that was not resolved. I would only stay here again as a last resort.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryanaguinaldo, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for the feedback and alerting us to repairs needed in 305. I also appreciate your comment about our comfortable beds. If you have not gotten your billing error resolved by the time this response is published, please feel free to reach out to me through the hotel so that I can investigate and work with you directly. As a last word, I’d like to share that with eight different buildings we have many different room locations with varying natural light. If another getaway brings you to San Diego, I am confident we can find you a room that will exceed your expectations! Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,005 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    412
    371
    122
    60
    40
See reviews for
352
295
42
139
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warner Springs, California, Usa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Beginning of June we had occasion to stay in Old Town San Diego again. The Hacienda again provided excellent service and great ambiance for this short stay of two nights. Their restaurant, the Acapulco, has superb Mexican food and great service.. as well as tasty margaritas

Room Tip: didn't get to the SPA.. but all else was splendid!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryanaguinaldo, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for your hearty compliments and again gracing us with a stay! We hope another visit is in the making soon. Call ahead so we can welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

This hotel reminded me of being in Mexico. It is a sprawling complex with several buildings. There are a lot of steps with beautiful Mexican tile and some amazing plants in the common areas. The location is excellent, only 1 block from the Main Street in old town but far from the highway unlike the other hotels. The pool is quite small for such a big complex and gets very crowded at times. Come early if you want a lounge chair. The best restaurants we found were the Old Town Mexican Cafe and the one in the center of historic old town. Cayote cafe was good but not as good as the other 2. Don't even waste your time eating the free breakfast at O'Hungrys on Main Street or Acapulco in the hotel. They were both terrible and we kicked ourselves for not spending the money to eat at a good restaurant downtown.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryanaguinaldo, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for your review. As a seasoned reviewer on TripAdvisor, your compliments of our hotel speak volumes! For anyone planning to visit, let us know your cuisine preferences and we would be happy to make recommendations throughout Old Town and the rest of San Diego.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Hacienda is located within old town and is a great location. Within walking distance to all shopping, restaurants. Would not hesitate to stay here again. It really gives you a feel for the old San Diego. Great restaurants with Mexico food, can not go wrong. Saturday there is a local craft fair with unique gifts. Front desk girls were extremely helpful with information and directions. Pool was heated and you could just walk in,no adjusting to the water temperature-loved it. room was clean, had a refrigerator and microwave. Air conditioner could have been more powerful as did not cool the back of the room, but that was so minor. If you go to old town this is the place to stay!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryanaguinaldo, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for the great description of our location, service and property amenities. We sincerely enjoyed having you as our guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

The views are fantastic especially if you walk to the top! The grounds are well kept and very pretty to walk around with many different blooming flowers and plants. The hotel is in a fantastic location right next all the main attractions in Old Town San Diego. The hotel front desk wasn't the friendliest or most helpful of our trip but the atmosphere made up for it. It was bit of a maze finding your way around at first but i found that all part of the charm of something very different to anything i have stayed in before. Would have been nice if the front desk had shown us where ALL the elevators were, some are not so visible due to the many levels positioned across from each other, on arrival i had to carry all our bags up 2 flights of stairs and we had alot of luggage being it was our last night of our 33 day tour! Thankfully I was shown another elevator the next day by one of the friendly ground staff. There were parking fees but most places do charge nowadays. Free WIFI and good size room with a sofa bed. Loved the old style room with a spanish theme. Just charming i thought.

Room Tip: The higher you go the better the views all across San Diego but may have more difficult access if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryanaguinaldo, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time now to share your thoughts. These are so valuable in helping us improve our product and service. I was especially glad to hear you enjoyed our views, charming rooms and the unique beauty of our property. We take great pride in making our guest’s stay an enjoyable and memorable experience which makes your compliments and suggestions truly appreciated. We are thrilled your last night with us was a great finale to your 33 day tour!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

This was our 5th time staying at Hacienda Hotel Old Town. Over the years we have chosen Hacienda due to it's great location, good service and usually great room selection. This time around we had a few issues. We were given a room on the 1st floor of building 6, which I knew from past experience comes with often a noisy hallway. I immediately asked for a different location, but was assured that it would not be an issue as they try to place the families in this location to minimize noise. The front desk also noted that they were indeed full already. Funny that were checking in early (2:45p) and the group checking in next to us got a room change when they were checking in. Around 11pm, a bachelor party group arrived in the rooms directly next to both sides of us. They quieted down after a call to the font desk, but only for a few moments. Luckily/Unluckily they must have left for the bars as it was quiet until 2am when they came back and woke myself and for second time this evening my son. I would have had no issue with the room location had they followed through with placing only families in the area. However telling me they are full, and that they only place families in that area was obviously a ruse. Maybe the lady checking us in didn't have time to accommodate us but it is probably due to her lack of effort that this rating is so low for a place we have previously always enjoyed. For the first time in many years we will be looking for a different place to stay next time we are in San Diego.

Room Tip: Don't stay in building 6 rooms 609+. Noisy hallway and no view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryanaguinaldo, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for the review of your stay. We are so sorry for the noise you experienced. Just like your previous visits, we are committed to your comfort and satisfaction. We recognize there was a problem with the communication and service at the front desk during this time period and our leadership team is in the process of making swift corrections. I am sure you can understand that as a business which has proven it’s value in the past, problems periodically do sometimes surface. We sincerely do not want to lose you as a loyal guest. I would welcome the opportunity to speak to you directly to listen to your suggestions for how our guests can properly experience the great customer service you received in the past. I can be reached at the hotel at your convenience and please reference this review. Thank you again for leaving this review and I look forward to speaking with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town

Address: 4041 Harney Street, San Diego, CA 92110
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#74 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town 3*
Number of rooms: 198
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Best Western, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com, Hotwire, EasyToBook, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hacienda Hotel Old Town San Diego
Best Western San Diego
San Diego Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.