We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If it's not about service, what is it about?” 2 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4041 Harney Street, San Diego, CA 92110 (Old Town)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #72 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
Israel
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“If it's not about service, what is it about?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We had quite a disappointment with the Best Western. Arriving late, with three young children, we specifically asked to have a rollaway bed ready in our room when we booked. So wha if we askedt.

Asked again when checked in. The guy promised the bed will be right there. So what if he promised. We had to call again from the room (kids already frantic) to get a rollaway.

The guy brings the bed, made, and covered with canvas. Good. Takes the canvas off, and simply tosses it on the room's floor (???!).

Enough of beds.

When checking in, the guy directed us to the hotel's parking building and charged $15 for overnight parking. The building was, of course, full. Had to park on the street. Called the reception, they agreed (!) to waiver the parking charge.

Overall, the attitude was "we're doing you a favor letting you stay here". And not for cheap either. Would recommend looking elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryanaguinaldo, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
I am very saddened to hear that your experience during your stay was disappointing. Thank you for sharing your insights. I have researched your situation thoroughly and had discussions with our team to look for ways to improve and avoid such comments in the future. As a result of your feedback last week, we have upgraded our procedure with regards rollaway beds and also reviewed our service mission statement with our staff. It is our deepest commitment to ensure that every guest feels cared for, appreciated and respected. We would love to have another opportunity to show you the full level of hospitality all our guests deserve. Please feel free to contact me directly if I may ever be of service to you in any way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

943 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    380
    351
    115
    58
    39
See reviews for
332
280
38
131
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, California
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Again, we came on a Saturday, and although San Diego's Old Town is rocking particularly on weekends, we had a great night's rest. Service and room were again immaculate. These rooms are really large and nicely furnished. The location suits us well,as it's easy to meet with friends for dinner in Coronado or to meet family for brunch in Kearney Mesa..

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryanaguinaldo, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Welcome back! Thank you for again taking the time to share your satisfaction with the Best Western PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town! “A great night’s rest” is one of the best compliments any hotel can receive! Please let me know if I can ever be of assistance during your future visits. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerville, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for three nights for a recent professional conference downtown. The hotel was close to public transportation (5-7 minute walk to the Old Town Tranportation Center) and just a block from the historic center of Old Town San Diego. The room was quite comfortable, clean and with plenty of ammenities. The hotel is laid out in several buildings connected by terraces and balconies, with palm trees and pretty gardens. A lovely place to sit out and read, rest, etc. The one criticism I have was the very mediocre meal I had in the Acapulco restaurant in the hotel. Despite being in the center of authentic Mexican history and other restaurants, the food tasted like the worst chain meal swimming in processed cheese. That one thing aside, I would highly reommend this hotel.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryanaguinaldo, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you for staying with us while on business in San Diego! We’re glad you enjoyed spending time relaxing at the hotel and found our location so convenient. Also, your comments regarding Acapulco will be forwarded to the leadership team, for correction. We appreciate your seasoned recommendation and look forward to hosting you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesquite, Nevada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We recently stayed at this property for a business meeting. The first night when we arrived we were given a room we requested..a two room suite. Well we walked into this interior room in building 7 and were extremely disappointed. The suite was basically a room with a wall in the middle of it. It was very dark and we had a view of a local Old Town establishment's dumpster ( which was emptied around 5AM) we tried to switch but were told the hotel was sold out. The next morning, I called the front desk to request two adjoining rooms in a building that was brighter and did not feel like a cave. The front desk was extremely accommodating. They were able to place us in the first flor 800 building, not a great view but bright. It felt like we were staying at a totally different hotel. I want to commend the AM front desk staff for their excellent service. Our only regret was that we had not started out in this configuration. We had one night of very little sleep, packed our bags and left them in the trunk until the new rooms were ready, and got a very late start to enjoying our only "free time" day in San Diego.

The breakfasts at the Acapulco Restaurant were fine. Our breakfast waiter was very pleasant as was everyone else on the staff. My husband loved the scrambled eggs with onions, pepper, and ham.

If I had based this review on the first night's stay it would only be one star. However, based on night's two and three, I can honestly give it four stars.

Room Tip: Stay away from building seven unless you like small compact suites. You will have more room in a dou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryanaguinaldo, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience! I am pleased our staff came through for your second and third nights with us; they will be recognized for their service excellence. Our buildings were built in stages, and offer a variety of room configurations and views. That makes it easy to accommodate most preferences of guests based on our occupancy level. Next time business or pleasure brings you back to San Diego, let us know in advance so we can make sure to assign you to the location you desire. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana Point, CA.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Went down to Old Town and wanted a close in hotel. You can't get much closer than this one! I was expecting a run of the mill BW, clean but nothing to go ga-ga over. Well I was wrong, This hotel is wonderful. The lobby was inviting and cozy, the front desk staff courteous and very helpful, the landscaping around the hotel was superb, all kinds of succulents and flowers in large containers, etc. Our room was clean and airy and the bed and pillows comfy and soft. The free breakfast isn't anything gourmet but still bacon, eggs, potatoes, waffles, cereal, muffins, toast, coffee and juice. When you consider the location (just a couple of blocks before the action begins) and the niceness of the hotel, you can't beat it. Highly recommend..

Room Tip: would say stay away from rooms by the pool, kids at night screaming but staff does make them stop a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryanaguinaldo, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you for the recommendation! We are pleased to have exceeded your expectations in every way!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town

Address: 4041 Harney Street, San Diego, CA 92110
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#74 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town 3*
Number of rooms: 198
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, AAA Travel Services, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hacienda Hotel Old Town San Diego
Best Western San Diego
San Diego Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.