We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel stay with style!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4041 Harney Street, San Diego, CA 92110 (Old Town)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #72 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
Warner Springs, California, Usa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Hotel stay with style!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Stayed to sample the quality of the Hacienda, since owners are acquiring a place near our home in North San Diego County. These folks are outstanding!
Each and everyone that works there was responsive, friendly, thoughtful, and brightened our time interacting with them!
Highly recommend this as your stay in San Diego!
We will return for our pleasure in the near future; this trip was to attend a court function and 'sample' the operation.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryanaguinaldo, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
We sincerely enjoyed having you as our guest and appreciate your kind compliments of our team. When we set out to hire new staff, we look for those that will genuinely care about the happiness and satisfaction of our guests. Thank you for letting us know it shines through! Please let me know if I can ever be of assistance to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

856 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    337
    320
    105
    57
    37
See reviews for
297
251
38
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, B.C.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Spent 7 days mid January in San Diego 'Old Town' which is directly across the street from the hotel.The Hotel's grounds are beautifully semi-tropical and we loved the Spanish motif. The complex layout took a couple of days to master but we managed.
The Hotel staff were very courteous and helpful and room #822 was the biggest we have ever enjoyed in a Hotel. No bed bugs were seen or felt!
As we aren't big Mexican food fans, we had some meals at a nearby Thai restaurant and found frozen dinners, bought at a convenience store a short walk from the Hotel and heated in the micro wave, superior to what we had in a couple of area restaurants, particularly O'Hungry's which we thought should get an award for the worst cooking we ever experienced anywhere.
The web pix of the Hotel complex doesn't do justice to the reality of it.
Ten minute walk to excellent public transit via bus or tram.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryanaguinaldo, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for the many compliments of our hotel’s architectural charm! We built it to model the style of surrounding Old Town San Diego. By adding fountains and garden terraces, our guests can relax in a tranquil and serene atmosphere. Almost all areas of the hotel grounds offer panoramic views, including many rooms. Before your next trip to San Diego, feel free to contact me through the hotel so that I can suggest restaurants that will suit your taste! This area offers unlimited choices!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

This is the first time we have stayed at this property . It had been recommend to us by others who have staed here. It is very nice and clean and great location for old town where we like to stay. The room was nice and clean . The tub was one of the old metal ones small but well maintained. Did not like the property being spread out all over and the ups & downs. I belive it would be nice if you were staying longer and be able to enjoy the large patios in the sun. we had to walk trhu the rain to get to the looby to catch our cab to the airport .we realize that it does not rain much there so it was a little problem. The staff at the front counter should listen a little more closely to what is being said. Maybe to busy. We road back from the airport with the sales mgr. & van driver which were very helpfull and fiendly . You should attend the happy hour at the canteena up stairs . Great food & drinks at a reasonable price. Would we stay again . Not sure as we have a favourite in old town.

Room Tip: Not sure . The room on the 2 nd floor facing north if sunny would be great .
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryanaguinaldo, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for your compliments and feedback. We are proud of our hotel's cleanliness so it is rewarding to be recognized for that. It sounds like if it wasn’t for the rain, this would have been a perfect stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casper, Wyoming
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Beautiful grounds! Great rates! Great neighborhood! 1/2 a block from old town shops and restaurants! Love this place...=) The parking lot directly across from the hotel is free parking and definitely get a city view room with a balcony.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryanaguinaldo, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Great photo! We are delighted you enjoyed your stay so much and look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, New York, Usa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Its hard to find a good hotel in a good area at a reasonable price. The Best Western Hacienda is this! My wife and I have stayed at this location twice now and have not been disappointed either time.
The Hotel is located in Old Town San Diego which is a state park area. There are restaurants, bars and stores as well as many visitors but during our stays the area has never been overwhelming. Businesses generally close early creating a very quite area at a decent time.

When arriving the desk attendants have all been very helpful and always smiling, they have always had our room clean and ready. The hotel is built into the side of a hill and has several separate buildings with many staircases but elevators available. The walls in the rooms are a little thin, so it can be a little noisy at night but it would not deter me from staying again..

The rooms are very well priced, we got ours for about $100 but beware of two things, they charge a $7 resort for which is not included in the price and there is also a charge of $12 a night to park in the garage. This bothered me at first but then got to thinking that atleast my vehicle was in a safe spot.

The hotel is easy to get to from I-5, I-8 and Pacific Highway and also a very short drive to the airport, zoo and SeaWorld.

Room Tip: The buildings are labeled in 100's ie. building 100, 200 etc, the lower the number the closer to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryanaguinaldo, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for conveying your confidence in our ability to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations! We appreciate the mention of our proximity to many of San Diego’s most popular attractions. For those planning travel, we also offer a complimentary shuttle to many points including the San Diego airport. Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to serving you on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town

Address: 4041 Harney Street, San Diego, CA 92110
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#73 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town 3*
Number of rooms: 198
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hacienda Hotel Old Town San Diego
Best Western San Diego
San Diego Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.