We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful oasis” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Sea Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Blue Sea Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Blue Sea Beach Hotel
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   707 Pacific Beach Drive, San Diego, CA 92109 (Formerly Best Western Blue Sea Lodge) (Mission Beach)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save 20% in Pacific Beach
Ranked #25 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Newberg, Oregon
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful oasis”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

First of all let me state that we probably wouldn't have stayed here because of the cost, had we not been down for a wedding. That being said, this is a great location, being on Pacific Beach, within walking distance to restaurants and the beach. The check-in/out staff were friendly and efficient. The rooms were tastefully appointed. The bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was a little inconvenient for two people to get in/out with the sink being at the door. Our tv reception for some reason was bad, but the movie channels seemed to be clear. Parking is at a premium in the whole area, so an additional fee of $18 per night per car is tacked on to your bill.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

926 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    499
    286
    83
    37
    21
See reviews for
356
271
54
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Newly renovated, oceanfront and close to restaurants makes it a perfect place for families! We got the king suite with rollout sofa and two bathrooms. Even a balcony for the suite area and bedroom. Way exceeded our expectations and would definitely come back here.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Location is wonderful! Beach right outside, sand in your toes within seconds. Not all rooms have the beach view, unfortunantely ours faced the parking lot. Boo! Parking is $18.00!!!!!! And pretty much mandatory, finding parking on your own...not feasible. Rooms were clean, nicely decorated and beds comfortable.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Lakewood
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

We stayed here in April and it was awesome. The staff was friendly and the room was clean and well equipped. Lots of restaurants and shops nearby and of course the ocean and boardwalk too. You can find a better spot for people watching, running, walking, and relaxing. They have a great pool too with a great view of the ocean and board walk. We could have stayed there there another week rather than the 4 short days we had booked.

Room Tip: I didn't book far enough in advance to get an ocean front room but we'll get one next time...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dietlikon, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

We are a family of five and had an ocean front suite with two bathrooms and enough space for the five of us. Terrific view of the beach, although the balcony is a little tight, but then you spend most time on the beach anyway.
Great service, excellent location also with restaurants and shops nearby. We enjoyed our stay very much.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

On our recent trip to San Diego to visit our 10 year old grand daughter, we decided to take her to the beach for a few days. Our choice was the Blue Sea. We stayed there last year and saw much improvements over the previous year! The rooms were much nicer, cleaner and overall fresher. I think they could use more lawn chairs at the pool area and maybe someone or some policy for bursts to boy place a towel on a chair and use it on an diff throughout the day. Also had to speak to some 30 something about their language in the pool area due to our granddaughter and other younger children in the pool. One more important note: if you want to swim or let the children play at the beach, you have to lug all of your beach gear quite a easy down the beach as the areas around the hotel are strictly for surf boarding only!

Room Tip: Ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

My wife, 2 kids and I stayed here in June. Just like most of the other reviews have stated, the location is fantastic. There are restaurants and shops within easy walking distance.
Our room was clean, the beds were comfortable and everything worked as it should.
Check-in was a breeze and all throughout our stay the staff was very friendly.
The parking situation is a nightmare but they only have so much space so it is what it is. I do think for the price you're paying for a room that parking should be free for guests.
My only other suggestion is that the pool should get cleaned more frequently. There was quite a bit of hair floating around right as you walk into it. During our 3 night stay it never went away which was a little gross. All in all I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Sea Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Sea Beach Hotel

Address: 707 Pacific Beach Drive, San Diego, CA 92109 (Formerly Best Western Blue Sea Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Beach , Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#28 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#29 Business Hotel in San Diego
#64 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Blue Sea Beach Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pairing a beachfront location with newly renovated deluxe accommodations, the Blue Sea Beach Hotel knows a thing or two about vacationing. Whether you are traveling with family or flying solo, you'll appreciate our easy access to the Strand surfing and sunbathing and an assortment of iconic attractions and activities like the San Diego Zoo and the Gaslamp Quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookIt.com and Priceline so you can book your Blue Sea Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Blue Sea Hotel San Diego
Best Western San Diego
San Diego Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Sea Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.