We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great boutique style hotel and would visit again and again!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Sea Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Blue Sea Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Blue Sea Beach Hotel
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   707 Pacific Beach Drive, San Diego, CA 92109 (Formerly Best Western Blue Sea Lodge) (Mission Beach)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save 20% in Pacific Beach
Ranked #24 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great boutique style hotel and would visit again and again!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Do not be deceived by the exterior. Nicely appointed hotel with great attention to detail like modern decor with water and free fruit in lobby, philosophy toiletries and a friendly staff. Lots of parking ($18 per day) and easy beach access. Right next door to world famous. Patios could be better and if only we had an ocean view. Will come back!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

927 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    500
    286
    83
    37
    21
See reviews for
356
271
54
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hoboken, New Jersey
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Upon approaching the Blue Sea Beach Hotel my girlfriend and I were worried we had overpaid for a hotel that looked like it needed a lick of paint. When we got inside, we realized that's exactly what they've done. Honestly, this is one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in.

We stayed on the top floor facing the beach (definitely worth paying the extra $30-40 a night) and had a great view of the beach from our balcony that overlooked the boardwalk. The bed was comfortable, room large and relaxing, shower had good pressure and the girlfriend was happy to see a Keurig in the room for morning coffee.

The pool was nice and the glass front allowed us to see the beach while relaxing and the last night cider (stored in our in room fridge) on our balcony as the sunset was perfect.

Room Tip: Definitely pay the little extra and get a full view of the beach. Ask for top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruben G, General Manager at Blue Sea Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Wow! I am so happy to hear that our hotel is one of the best hotels you have every stayed in! Thank you for those wonderful comments and we look forward, Alex, to your next visit to the Blue Sea Beach Hotel. Enjoy the rest of your summer!
Regard,
Ruben Garza
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cave Creek, Arizona
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

I took my daughter and her friend to the beach and we loved our stay at the Blue Sea Beach Hotel. It was great to just walk out and be on the beach. We stayed in a deluxe king suite with a partial ocean view and the view was excellent! Enjoyed the balcony and watching the ocean, sunset, and people on the boardwalk. Rooms were very clean and we made use of the fridge and Keurig coffee maker. Hotel staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruben G, General Manager at Blue Sea Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Julia,
So happy to hear that you had a great stay! Glad you enjoyed some of the new amenities we offer such as our Keurig coffee maker. Thank you so much for staying at the Blue Sea Beach hotel and we look forward to having you , your daughter and her friend come back for some great ocean front accommodations!
Regards,
Ruben Garza
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

The location is simply perfect if you love the beach and ocean. The tranquil sounds of the waves add to the true beach feel. This is not the Ritz Carlton by any means but it is a well designed beach front destination hotel.

Without hesitation I can definitively say I will return!

Room Tip: I would suggest an upper legal ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruben G, General Manager at Blue Sea Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you Samuel, for those great comments! We look forward to your return visit to the Blue Sea Beach Hotel and thank you for staying with us!
Sincerely,
Ruben Garza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, Missouri
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

We just spent 5 nights in this wonderful hotel. It has been updated and is right on Pacific Beach. We enjoyed sitting on the balcony each night and watching all the activities that occurred on the boardwalk! The Staff was extremely helpful and courteous! We even had a Keurig Coffee Maker in our room! Lots wonderful restaurants down the boardwalk.... my favorite was Jordan 23!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruben G, General Manager at Blue Sea Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
So happy to hear that you found our staff very helpful and courteous! We greatly appreciate your 5 night stay with us and that you found the Blue Sea Beach Hotel to be an “excellent choice” for your hotel accommodations.
Sincerely,
Ruben Garza
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Lawn, Illinois
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Not having a room in the San Diego area, my wife and I happened upon the Blue Sea website. Unfortunately, since it was short notice, the standard room we wanted was only available for one of the two nights. Luckily, I called, and in order to accommodate us, we were upgraded to a two-room suite at no extra charge. A double balcony looking out at the ocean! We loved it so much we inquired about a third night and they gave us the same rate. Super friendly staff! The hotel is older but the rooms have been renovated and are very nice. The location is excellent. You literally walk out and onto the beach and it is within walking distance to restaurants, bars, shops, and the boardwalk. You can get a more elegant hotel but you'll pay a lot more, and here everyone is down to earth.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruben G, General Manager at Blue Sea Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Donald,
I am very happy to hear that you and your wife had a great stay with us! Thank you so much for those wonderful comments regarding our “super” friendly staff! They take great pride in providing superior service to our guests! Enjoy the rest of your summer!
Regards,
Ruben Garza
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

The Blue Sea Beach Hotel was a great place to stay. The price was by far the best price I could find on any hotel in San Diego and this hotel was located on the beach. The Rooms are a great size and are immaculately clean, had comfortable beds, nice colors and a great view of the ocean, overall just plain beautiful. The service from the staff was great. The pool area was well maintained and had a open view of the ocean. We parked our car and never used it the entire stay because there was so much to do within walking distance of the hotel. It was a great vacation and I have already booked my next stay there. It's a great feeling to wake up in the morning and look out your window and see the ocean and be able to walk out to it.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruben G, General Manager at Blue Sea Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you so much for your comments, Vincent! I am very pleased that our staff and the services we provided you and your family made for a great vacation. Our team looks forward to your stay next summer!
Regards,
Ruben Garza
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Sea Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Sea Beach Hotel

Address: 707 Pacific Beach Drive, San Diego, CA 92109 (Formerly Best Western Blue Sea Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Beach , Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#28 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#29 Business Hotel in San Diego
#64 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Blue Sea Beach Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pairing a beachfront location with newly renovated deluxe accommodations, the Blue Sea Beach Hotel knows a thing or two about vacationing. Whether you are traveling with family or flying solo, you'll appreciate our easy access to the Strand surfing and sunbathing and an assortment of iconic attractions and activities like the San Diego Zoo and the Gaslamp Quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com and BookIt.com so you can book your Blue Sea Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Blue Sea Hotel San Diego
Best Western San Diego
San Diego Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Sea Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.