We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our New Favorite” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Sea Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Blue Sea Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Blue Sea Beach Hotel
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   707 Pacific Beach Drive, San Diego, CA 92109 (Formerly Best Western Blue Sea Lodge) (Mission Beach)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% Off Midweek Exclusive
Ranked #36 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
Scottsdale, Arizona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Our New Favorite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

This is our 3rd visit to this hotel and the newly renovated rooms was a plus. Its beautiful here and so easy for food, things to do, beaches. I am completely happy with the service we had, the front desk was so kind each and every time we entered your lovely lobby. We were made to feel so comfortable. Thank you so much for making this our new favorite place in San Diego.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruben G, General Manager at Blue Sea Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
We are ecstatic to be your new favorite hotel in San Diego. It is our goal to ensure all of our guests receive the personal service and high quality accommodations that you have written about in your review. Thank you for making us your home away from home. We can’t wait to see you again on your next visit.
Sincerely,
Ruben Garza
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

835 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    437
    262
    80
    37
    19
See reviews for
318
248
52
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sedona, Arizona
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

The newly renovated room was beautiful and had almost everything, including a lovely view of the ocean and pool.
Just two problems: the patio furniture was too large for the tiny balcony, so we could hardly manage to fit and the elevator was not working. It appears that much of the hotel is currently under renovation, although it was not intrusive. Parking is extra. If you stay in the front building, park in the underground parking if possible, since you can then take the elevator straight to your floor.

Room Tip: Get a room in one of the front buildings for a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruben G, General Manager at Blue Sea Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
I’m pleased that you enjoyed the fabulous views of the ocean during your visit. I appreciate your opinion on the patio furniture; I’ll definitely take that into consideration when we choose replacement furniture. I am happy to report that the elevator issue has been rectified and is fully functional. Thank you for staying with us!
Regards,
Ruben Garza
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

We visit San Diego frequently and always stay at the Blue Sea Lodge. The manager Ruben Garza along with his staff always treat us first class. The rooms have been remodeled to make them even more appealing. We enjoy the overall vibe and location of this great property which is located right on the Pacific Ocean just a few steps away from great eating and shopping. We will continue to frequent The Blue Sea Lodge...

Room Tip: We like Ocean side rooms to get the full experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruben G, General Manager at Blue Sea Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
It’s always a pleasure having you stay with us. We are pleased that you liked the newly remodeled rooms; we all agree that it is a tremendous improvement and we are very excited that our frequent guests have all approved of the changes. We’ll see you again on your next visit.
Sincerely,
Ruben Garza GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

Third trip to Blue Sea with college group of 60 well behaved athletes. Hotel location can't be beat. It's right on beach and lots of places to venture out and explore right from the hotel... food, entertainment and workouts. Renovations to rooms are great -- as are the oceanside/poolside rooms. Jen Cruz was excellent to work with... (again)... she not only made it easy to book, but helped with references for food options and shuttle services. Check in was a breeze, and housekeeping was very accommodating with our varied schedules. The existence of a lobby/meeting area was a must for our group. We will be back! Need I say more?

Room Tip: All good options. Can upgrade for oceanfront and oceanview rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruben G, General Manager at Blue Sea Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
It was a pleasure having your group back again for the third year. I am happy we were able to accommodate your group’s needs during your visit. Every year we look forward to seeing you again at the Blue Sea Beach Hotel.
Regards,
Ruben Garza -GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

Jennifer Cruz and her team at Blue Sea Lodge were extremely accommodating with our group of 30. We booked the rooms about 10 months in advance, in anticipation of a competition we were prepping for. Jennifer was a pleasure to work with along the way leading up to our stay and her staff was very pleasant while we were there. She also was very helpful with providing recommendations for a shuttle service and where we could get a discount for our transportation. Access to the beach and the pool/hot tub were great. The rooms were well kept and nice. They were doing some renovating in one of the buildings, but there wasn't an issue with the noise and it wasn't a mess. The price was very affordable, especially important when traveling with such a large group and coming all the way from Texas- so we were on a budget. Thank you, Blue Sea Lodge, for helping make our first trip to San Diego a more memorable one!

Room Tip: There was not a fitness room (that I saw). Rooms in the second building can have a great ocean view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruben G, General Manager at Blue Sea Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
We are so pleased to hear that your group had a great stay. Because our hotel is centrally located to all San Diego attractions we are the perfect place to stay for both large and small groups. Jennifer Cruz takes great pride in her work and ensures that each of our groups is well taken care of from the date of booking until after the stay is complete. We look forward to serving your group again in the future.

Regards,
Ruben Garza
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

Beautiful, clean, recently updated hotel in a fantastic location- and inexpensive! I'm still amazed we got to stay in this fantastic beachfront hotel on our budget. The hotel is right next to the board walk and there is plenty of food and shopping within walking distance.
The hotel staff was friendly and accommodated our early check in request and held our bags after check out. This is now my go-to hotel in SD. Everything about our stay was perfect.

Room Tip: We got upgraded to a full ocean view corner room. It was larger than the other rooms and the balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruben G, General Manager at Blue Sea Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
So happy to hear that we are now your “go-to hotel” in San Diego! We will continue to strive to ensure your next stay with us is “perfect” as well. Thank you so much for staying with us!
Sincerely,
Ruben Garza
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arcata, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

Newly renovated rooms are very nice! We got an oceanfront room and it was definitely worth the extra money. We didn't get the rooms that we requested but were given a comparable room. Service is great. Can't beat being steps away from the boardwalk. If you don't want to hang on the beach, the pool has a great view! Have stayed here several years. Just getting better! Construction going on now but didn't bother us at all. Will stay here next year! Thanks Ruben and crew!

Room Tip: Choose an ocean front room if you can afford it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruben G, General Manager at Blue Sea Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Thank so much for those wonderful comments, Tera! We greatly appreciate your continued patronage and I am so glad to hear that you liked our newly renovated rooms. Look forward to your visit next year!
Regards,
Ruben Garza
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Sea Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Sea Beach Hotel

Address: 707 Pacific Beach Drive, San Diego, CA 92109 (Formerly Best Western Blue Sea Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Beach , Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#27 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#28 Business Hotel in San Diego
#63 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Blue Sea Beach Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pairing a beachfront location with newly renovated deluxe accommodations, the Blue Sea Beach Hotel knows a thing or two about vacationing. Whether you are traveling with family or flying solo, you'll appreciate our easy access to the Strand surfing and sunbathing and an assortment of iconic attractions and activities like the San Diego Zoo and the Gaslamp Quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, AAA Travel Services, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Blue Sea Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Blue Sea Hotel San Diego
Best Western San Diego
San Diego Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Sea Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.