We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicely renovated rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Sea Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Blue Sea Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Blue Sea Beach Hotel
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   707 Pacific Beach Drive, San Diego, CA 92109 (Formerly Best Western Blue Sea Lodge) (Mission Beach)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save 20% in Pacific Beach
Ranked #24 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Nanaimo, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nicely renovated rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

Excellent room, very comfortable beds. Terrific location on the beach and you can sit in their hot tub and watch the sun go down. Front desk staff a bit young and need service experience, but they were friendly. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruben G, General Manager at Blue Sea Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Thank you Linda for your comments! So happy that you enjoyed our newly renovated room! We look forward to providing you with great service and accommodations the next time travel takes you from British Columbia to Sunny San Diego.
Sincerely,

Ruben Garza
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

927 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    500
    286
    83
    37
    21
See reviews for
356
271
54
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

Nothing better than getting out of your hotel and getting on the beach. I got a room with a partial view of the ocean. So worth it. Got great pictures of the sunset from my room. Microwave and mini fridge in the room. Mission Bay was 2 blocks away behind the hotel. Great pier to walk to. Can walk to Mission Beach. Lots of weeds on the beach but they clean it every morning. They had apples and water in the lobby which was always nice to get on the way in or out. Very clean, fairly quiet, especially for Spring Break.

Room Tip: My room was facing the busy parking area and public wasrhooms but it was still fairly quiet. Nice to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruben G, General Manager at Blue Sea Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
I agree that there is “nothing better than getting out of your hotel and getting on the beach”! Our beach-front location is unmatched! I am happy to hear that you were able to enjoy our complimentary diffused water and fresh apples in our lobby area. Thank you so much for staying with us!
Sincerely,

Ruben Garza
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

I chose this hotel while I was in San Diego for a business conference at another resort & had planned for my family to join me. Mid-week I decided to switch our reservation so we could be beach front. Upon arrival/check-in, I was pleasantly surprised to see our room had gone through a major remodel/upgrade compared to prior reviews and photos online. The look of the exterior is deceiving to the inside - very clean & remodeled. Even if you only get partial view of the beach, you certainly get the sound of the ocean waves. Our room had a mini fridge & microwave, which worked great for us. Super easy to walk right out on the beach and/or the boardwalk. Although you pay to park in their lot, their parking prices are cheaper than most hotels in the area. If you are patient enough to wait, we always were able to find a spot in the small public parking area (car must be moved every 24 hours if you park in the public lot). You are about 15 minutes from Sea World, 20-30 minutes to the San Diego Zoo & Safari Park, & 10-15 minutes to La Jolla (view of sea lions), so a car is recommended. We really enjoyed our stay in San Diego and the Blue Sea Beach Hotel was a great online find!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruben G, General Manager at Blue Sea Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
“Exceeded Expectation”That is always our goal at the Blue Sea Beach Hotel, Sarah! Thank you for those wonderful comments!
Regard,
Ruben Garza
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Hill, Texas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

This hotel has had a major remodel. It is done very tastefully. The rooms are quite large and comfortable, but not all have an ocean view. We were able to get a partial view from our balcony. The staff was very pleasant and the hotel was nice and quiet most of the time. It lacks an onsite restaurant but there are options within walking distance. The onsite parking is expensive but well worth it. The only thing the room lacked was a much needed microwave. We had a lovely stay.

Room Tip: If you can be on the beach, do so. What a wonderful view of the Pacific Ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruben G, General Manager at Blue Sea Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Thank you Cindy for staying at the Blue Sea Beach Hotel! We are so happy that you enjoyed your accommodations in one of our newly renovated rooms. Your patronage is greatly valued and appreciated!
Regards,

Ruben Garza
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
O'Fallon MO
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

We were in San Diego and stayed at the Blue Sea Beach Hotel in Mid February this year. We had a partial ocean view room that was newly decorated. The staff was extremely accomodating. Check in was a breeze, and our stay could not have been better. We loved the boardwalk, and restaurant next door. Do not hesitate to stay here!
p.s. as a travel agent, I had a coupon I passed on to someone else. When they booked there was some confusion, and the manager stepped up to the plate and took care of it immediately. That''s customer service as it should be!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruben G, General Manager at Blue Sea Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us, Ann! We look forward to providing you and your clients with some great service and accommodations in the near future!
Sincerely,

Ruben Garza
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLYMOUTH
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

The location of the Hotel, in the middle of the boardwalk along Mission Beach, is where you want to be. We had an ocean front room that was homey, clean and comfortable. The management obviously takes care to fix things when they wear out. This ship was in order.

Room Tip: The ocean front rooms overlook the boardwalk. It can be a little noisy with the door open but worth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruben G, General Manager at Blue Sea Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Our team does take great pride in keeping the Blue Sea Beach Hotel looking great! Rest assured I will pass your comments to the rest of our team. Thank you for staying with us!
Regards,
Ruben Garza
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeside, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

We love in SD but needed a mini stay-cation and this was where my bf likes to surf... Up the beach a little. So we decided to stay and it was amazing! The Room was stunning, keurig & mini wet bar.
Amazing view of beach and the spa/pool have a stunning view of beach too. Rooms are newly renovated and they did an amazing job!!! We fell in love the second we walked in!!! In walking distance to all restaurants, boardwalk and bars. 10 stars!!!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruben G, General Manager at Blue Sea Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Thank you for those wonderful comments, Brandy! I am very happy to hear that you found our newly renovated rooms to be stunning. We would “absolutely” love to have you back for your next Stay-cation!
Sincerely,

Ruben Garza
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Sea Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Sea Beach Hotel

Address: 707 Pacific Beach Drive, San Diego, CA 92109 (Formerly Best Western Blue Sea Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Beach , Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#28 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#29 Business Hotel in San Diego
#64 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Blue Sea Beach Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pairing a beachfront location with newly renovated deluxe accommodations, the Blue Sea Beach Hotel knows a thing or two about vacationing. Whether you are traveling with family or flying solo, you'll appreciate our easy access to the Strand surfing and sunbathing and an assortment of iconic attractions and activities like the San Diego Zoo and the Gaslamp Quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com and BookIt.com so you can book your Blue Sea Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Blue Sea Hotel San Diego
Best Western San Diego
San Diego Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Sea Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.