We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PERFECT LOCATION!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Sea Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Blue Sea Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Blue Sea Beach Hotel
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   707 Pacific Beach Drive, San Diego, CA 92109 (Formerly Best Western Blue Sea Lodge) (Mission Beach)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save 20% in Pacific Beach
Ranked #24 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence 2014
El Dorado Hills, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“PERFECT LOCATION!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stopped here on a college drop-off trip for our two children. Our son who works at Mission Bay, recommended this hotel for its location. We expected the hotel to be lackluster due to the great location and price. However, WOW, were we surprised! First, an upgrade to a suite on the third floor. Tons of room and an amazing view. We slept with the slider doors open to hear the crashing waves all night. The staff was great and also recommended great restaurants. They gave us a VIP seating pass to World Famous next door. We got seated promptly and food was great. The pool had a perfect location in front of the beach and we could watch the sunset, have a cocktail, and enjoy people watching. I can't say enough about the wonderful experience and we plan to stay here again when visiting our son in San Diego.

Room Tip: Ocean front are amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruben G, General Manager at Blue Sea Beach Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
ChefSuz,
Thank you so much for taking the time and posting your comments! I am so happy to hear that our staff was able to deliver the service and amenities that made your stay a “wonderful” experience. Sleeping with the doors open and hearing the crashing of the waves is definitely a great experience! We look forward to you staying with us again, the next time you come to San Diego to visit your son.
Sincerely,
Ruben Garza
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

927 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    500
    286
    83
    37
    21
See reviews for
356
271
54
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

The location of the hotel cannot be beat for a beach get-away. Our room was beachfront and we totally enjoyed people watching as well as beautiful sunsets each evening. The nights were quiet with the exception of the soothing sound of the ocean waves. The hotel was the best value for a beachfront hotel I've experienced.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

My mother and I just returned from a 5 night stay at this hotel. This was the first time either of us had been to this hotel and it had been recommended to me by friends as well as coworkers. We booked an oceanfront room through the Best Western website and I had put a note requesting an upper level of the building if at all possible. I was a little concerned in advance after reading some reviews warning about noise from rooms above you as well as suitable parking being available but I am very happy to say that our trip was fantastic and I was completely satisfied with our stay in every way. We were put on the 2nd floor and for our entire stay we would occasionally hear a door close or someone walking in the hallway outside of our room but during the night we heard absolutely nothing within the hotel and we slept soundly. We didn't hear anything from the rooms above. The view from our balcony was exceptional and my mother and I were both able to sit out there comfortably and talk, read, and peoplewatch while we listened to the soothing sounds of the waves. All of the staff were phenomenal and went out of their way to be attentive to us. I cannot understand the recent reviews stating that the staff were terrible and unprofessional, we interacted with the front desk staff as well as others throughout the buildings and every one of them was courteous and went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. The buildings in all of the area are definitely older but in my opinion the staff at this hotel have done everything that they can to make the rooms comfortable and enjoyable. The housekeeping was phenomenal in cleaning our room every day quickly and thoroughly. The bed was the most comfortable one that I have ever slept on in any hotel and unlike other hotels this one provided a ton of pillows on the bed! The parking was no problem at all, plenty of spaces were available in the outside lots as well as underground all hours of the day and night. You do drive through a busy public area for the beach to get to the hotel but we never had any problems getting through regardless of the fact that there are a lot of cars and people about. The hotel also seems to attract a great clientele of all age ranges, everyone that we came across in the public areas and the pool/spa were very friendly. We'll definitely be staying here again!

Room Tip: Definitely book a full ocean front room, it is well worth the rate difference!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruben G, General Manager at Blue Sea Beach Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Rebecca,
Thank you so much for the wonderful comments ! I am very happy to hear that you and your mother had a great stay. Your comments about our staff are greatly appreciated and rest assured I will be sharing those comments with our team members. Thank you again and we look forward to you and your mother staying with us again in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Ruben G.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

I stayed at this hotel two weeks ago, and I must say, it is ABSOLUTELY AMAZING! Do not listen to any of these bad reviews, everyone should stay at this hotel. Our room was a King room with a partial ocean view. The room was very clean and cozy, and the view was incredible. We overlooked the Surfer hotel and out over the boardwalk to the water- it was beautiful! Hotel housekeeping and staff were VERY VERY accommodating, they catered to our every need. This is the best hotel I have ever stayed at in San Diego. Lastly, Christina at the Front Desk is one of the moste exoticly beautiful women I have ever seen. She is stunning!!!! Not only that, but she was very kind and helped us find the best restaurants in town! In fact, everyone at the front desk was so polite and helpful.

I will definitely be coming back!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Bernardino, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

The only thing this hotel has going for it is location on the beach, other than that it is a dump. Don't pay to stay at this unkept excuse for a Best Western Plus Hotel. The staff is disrespectful and laughed at us when we checked out after 3 hours. The location was next to a public parking lot and rest room which was busy. We could see the roof of the public rest room from our first room which had empty wine bottles, sleeping bags and clothing, obviously somebody used it as a crash pad. The facility was run down and the rooms that were assigned to us were dirty, dark, mildew in bathroom. Could barely fit on the balcony, small and at an angle. Furniture was old/outdated.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruben G, General Manager at Blue Sea Beach Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Debbie T, we genuinely regret the issues you had on your recent visit to our hotel. We pride ourselves on our guest services and I am very sorry to hear that your stay was not pleasant. On behalf of the entire management team I would like to emphasize that our hotel places a high priority on service and we are truly concerned about your recent service experience at our hotel. I understand that you have had the opportunity to discuss this matter personally with one of our mangers and I hope that we have addressed your concerns. If you need anything further please don’t hesitate to reach out to me personally. I can be reached at 858-488-4700 or rgarza@bestwestern-bluesea.com.

Sincerely,
R Garza, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Hello - My husband and I recently spent two nights at your hotel (August 9 and 10, 2013). Due to our current occupations, it's very difficult to schedule time for vacation and we specifically chose your hotel because you are on the ocean and the room was described on the website as "Beach View". When we arrived, we were given a room with a view onto the pool, but not the ocean view room we booked through the website. We called the front desk to discuss the issue and were told that it was our fault for not calling the hotel and booking directly rather than using the website. Obviously that response was not acceptable to us - when pressed further your employee told us there was nothing she could do for us that night, but if we didn't mind moving the second night we could have an ocean view suite. She did agree to move us for no extra charge, but we felt that was only fair since we thought we were paying for an ocean view room that we did not receive. While we were very pleased with the accommodations the second night, it is disappointing that we did not receive the room the first night that we spent so much time looking for. Additionally, the room we were given the first night needed a few repairs, including some corner trim that was literally falling off the wall near the door/closet. I had to keep our son, who is 1-1/2, away from that area so he did not hurt himself. I'm not sure we would feel comfortable booking with you again, which is unfortunate since your location is excellent. I hope you are able to fix the way rooms are booked through the website, if in fact that is the reason we did not receive the room we reserved and paid for. Thank you.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mesa,az, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

great location its on the beach you can play in the ocean or relax in the sun. You can rent a bike, walk, jog or people watch. This hotel is near shops and restaurants. Balboa park is a few blocks away for the family day you have been planning.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruben G, General Manager at Blue Sea Beach Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you so much for posting your comments! Many of our guests would agree with you that we do have a great location for doing the activities you mentioned and we are very conveniently located to many shops and very good restaurants.
Your patronage is greatly appreciated and we look forward to having you stay with us again the next time travel brings you to Sunny San Diego!

Regards,
Ruben G.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Sea Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Sea Beach Hotel

Address: 707 Pacific Beach Drive, San Diego, CA 92109 (Formerly Best Western Blue Sea Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Beach , Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#28 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#29 Business Hotel in San Diego
#64 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Blue Sea Beach Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pairing a beachfront location with newly renovated deluxe accommodations, the Blue Sea Beach Hotel knows a thing or two about vacationing. Whether you are traveling with family or flying solo, you'll appreciate our easy access to the Strand surfing and sunbathing and an assortment of iconic attractions and activities like the San Diego Zoo and the Gaslamp Quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your Blue Sea Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Blue Sea Hotel San Diego
Best Western San Diego
San Diego Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Sea Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.