We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The sound of the ocean + great customer service = happy family!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Sea Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Blue Sea Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Blue Sea Beach Hotel
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   707 Pacific Beach Drive, San Diego, CA 92109 (Formerly Best Western Blue Sea Lodge) (Mission Beach)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
1 review
“The sound of the ocean + great customer service = happy family!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

We booked our stay with 1-800 Best Western people. Usually pleased with this route. This time we thought we were booked at the water and were sadly mistaken. We called here directly and the staff was
very accommodating and helpful. Made us feel welcome and were more than willing to make this sad customer happy again. They gave us GREAT food recommendations to Cafe Coyote. We wish continental breakfast was included in the stay. However, we are definitely coming back again!!! .

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruben G, General Manager at Blue Sea Beach Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
I am so happy to hear that our staff was able to make you and your family feel welcomed and that we were able to change those accommodations to your satisfaction. I would agree with you, that Café Coyote is a great place to dine for some really good Mexican food! Thank you so much for staying with us and we definitely look forward to having you stay with us again!
Sincerely,
Ruben G.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

825 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    430
    259
    80
    37
    19
See reviews for
315
245
51
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

With a magnificent view of the beach and the pool on the side, our room was gorgeous. We had expected a simple room that would be fine to sleep in as we were to spend most of our time on the beach, but were pleasantly surprised to find a large airy room in which we actually spent lots of time, skipping fancy dinners for a quick bite to eat in the hotel room before heading out to watch the sunset. A perfect location for families and beach goers. Also recommend grabbing a few rental bikes and pedaling down to ocean beach for the afternoon.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bremerton, WA
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Although I've stayed in lodging downtown, hotel circle, old town, point loma, etc. whenever I travel to San Diego, the venue I still very, much prefer in my 30+ years of travel, is the Best Western Plus-Blue Sea Lodge at the beach. I've traveled to many locations in the USA and internationally, but the Blue Sea managerial, front desk and custodial staff are absolutely the friendliest and most accommodating people you'll ever find. The hotel location is "right on the beach" with many high quality restaurants, nightlife and entertainment which is conveniently located within walking distance of the hotel. Don't miss your travel opportunity to be treated like you own the place and will be welcome for a repeat visit. I certainly wouldn't decline this offer!!

PS; Sorry (Ruben & Jenny) for not posting this review sooner, as the occupancy level may have otherwise been well over the top for the last couple months. See you again, soon...i hope.

Room Tip: Rooms on the west (boardwalk or oceanfront) side have the best view, but the ground floor rooms aren...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Thanks to staff this place was was awsome.right on ocean close to farmers market all restuarants were all walking distance .Did not need a car we bought two day trolley pass .BeAch was clean for long walks could here waves from room seen dolphins fr room recommend binoculars also went whale watching thanks for great time

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruben G, General Manager at Blue Sea Beach Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
I am so happy to hear that our Staff played a role in you having an “awesome“ stay at the Blue Sea Lodge. Those dolphin sightings sure are very special and exciting and it is nice that you were able to take in those sightings from the comfort of your balcony.Yes, binoculars probably would be a good recommendation! Thank you so much for posting your comments and we greatly appreciate your patronage!
Sincerely,
Ruben G.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Perfect location with everything you'll need in walking distance. Plenty of restaurants close by. This visit we ate at World Famous, Green Flash, Tony Roma's, Olive and Kono's. There were some trips up the boardwalk for ice cream too.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

If you are looking to a great hotel with an awesome view of the ocean then this hotel has it. Walking for anything is very close at hand. Hotel and staff are great, nice big rooms and nice size bathrooms

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Terrible - that is one word that sums up our stay there. We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights this summer and we would NEVER go back. The only good thing going on there is that the beach is close by. During our stay, we called the front desk 3 times to get the A/C working in our room; we finally gave up and "baked" in our 80+ degree room the entire stay. Also, on one of the days that someone was supposed to fix the A/C, our sliding door was left competely open - the entire day! Is was very noticeable when we got back to the room, and we were in shock to see what they had done. They were very lucky that our personal belongings were not stolen. The only thing the front desk said to us about that was "sorry" - nothing else was done. Nothing was even said or done for us about the A/C problem. They did NOTHING to make our stay there enjoyable. DO NOT STAY HERE, unless you want to risk the same happening to you. They do not care about customer service. We will not be coming back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruben G, General Manager at Blue Sea Beach Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
On behalf of the entire management team, I would like to apologize for the issues you encountered during your stay. It is our goal to ensure every guest has an enjoyable stay and leaves completely satisfied. I am very sorry that your visit was less than perfect. I would like the opportunity to speak with you in person regarding these issues. I can be reached at 858-488-4700 or via email at rgarza@bestwestern-bluesea.com.

Regards,
Ruben G.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Sea Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Sea Beach Hotel

Address: 707 Pacific Beach Drive, San Diego, CA 92109 (Formerly Best Western Blue Sea Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Beach , Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#27 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#28 Business Hotel in San Diego
#63 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Blue Sea Beach Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pairing a beachfront location with newly renovated deluxe accommodations, the Blue Sea Beach Hotel knows a thing or two about vacationing. Whether you are traveling with family or flying solo, you'll appreciate our easy access to the Strand surfing and sunbathing and an assortment of iconic attractions and activities like the San Diego Zoo and the Gaslamp Quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Loews Hotels, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, AAA Travel Services, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Otel and Tingo so you can book your Blue Sea Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Blue Sea Hotel San Diego
Best Western San Diego
San Diego Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Sea Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.