We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very best hotel if you love being right on the beach!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Sea Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Blue Sea Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Blue Sea Beach Hotel
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   707 Pacific Beach Drive, San Diego, CA 92109 (Formerly Best Western Blue Sea Lodge) (Mission Beach)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
JUST RENOVATED- 25% OFF
Ranked #40 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
Santa Rosa, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very best hotel if you love being right on the beach!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

The Best Western Blue Sea Lodge is a wonderful family hotel right on pacific beach. We have stayed many times over the last 30 + years. They try very hard to please quests. All the staff are friendly. The manager Ruben was very helpful as was Alma who works at the front desk (free warm choc chip cookies in the late afternoon). They have a little diner, a small laundry room, towels at the poolside, a parking basement and a parking lot next to the office. The shape of the hotel is in a U with the pool in the center, a lovely view of the beach and a great outside shower at the beach gate. If you need something for the room they are very prompt. For a great breakfast and lunch with a beach view try World Famous next door to the Blue Sea.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

811 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    422
    253
    80
    37
    19
See reviews for
310
243
49
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

What a great location. I ended up with a full ocean front room . Only thing between my patio and beach was some bushes and boardwalk
Lively area with resturants and shops, but quiet at night. The pool overlooks the ocean. Breakfast was not the typical hotel fare. The small diner served several fresh options. The room was on the small side but I hung out on the patio or beach so it didn't matter. as a female traveling alone I felt safe. Went for a few days relaxation before a business trip and couldn't have asked for a better experience
Only downsides were the elevator was broken and surf was rough for swimming.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surprise, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

This is a wonderful beach front hotel with easy access to restaurant along the boardwalk. The employees were awesome and made a wonderful first impression. The front desk staff quickly gave us a key so we could access the restrooms and pool prior to our room being ready. Even though the hotel is older, it was our favorite hotel out of the four we stayed at during our west coast vacation. Our room was clean and well maintained. Fridge and A/C worked very well. We will defiantly stay at the Blue sea Lodge again! Thanks Jennifer C. for assisting in creating wonderful memories.

Room Tip: Ocean View
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruben G, General Manager at Blue Sea Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time and commenting on your recent stay. I am glad to hear that our staff was able to assist you and to help you enjoy your Girls Vacation. I will be sure pass on the “Thanks” to Jennifer C.
Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to you spending your Next Girls Vacation with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raymore, Missouri
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

This is a nice beach front hotel in the San Diego area. It's a little dated and the buildings are divided in a odd way. Rooms and ocean view can vary greatly. Parking is expensive and limited. Public parking is very near by if you are able to cat and mouse for an available spot.

The rooms themselves were clean but we went during spring break week and had to deal with trash and bodily fluids in the hallways. The pool wasn't trashed but they never had any pool towels available. The hotel seemed understaffed to deal with it. They were slow to respond but friendly and apologetic.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bremerton, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

The Blue Sea Lodge is located right on the beautiful Pacific Beach boardwalk where you can walk, jog, ride a bike, rollerblade, or jump into the warm ocean water to body board or surf! You may choose to people watch, or take a short walk to one of the many restaurants. The staff at the Blue Sea is very friendly too.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We have stayed at the Blue Sea Lodge many times and always enjoyed the location and nearby restaurants and bars - and this trip was no different. Arriving well before check in time, the front desk staff quickly gave us a key so we could access the restrooms and pool prior to our room being ready. They checked our bag and off we went for lunch and people watching... When time came to check in, we were not happy with the room they wanted to give us so we asked for a different room and were quickly accommodated, no hesitation from the hard working front desk crew. They really were awesome and a wonderful first impression. Our room was clean and well maintained. Fridge and A/C worked very well. Room attendants unobtrusive and efficient. A great stay overall. This location does seem to be more and more "spring break" like, so I am not sure we will make the trip again "in-season" so you may want to take that into consideration when making your lodging decision

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

The Blue Sea lodge has location to boast about, but we found the rooms to be average. You are definitely paying to be on the beach! Our room was comfortable, but we had room #112, and we had issues with the plumbing. We let the staff know about the problem, but it was not resolved before we had to depart. The issue was sewer gas smell, had to leave the fan on, with the door closed to evacuate the air in the bathroom.
Would have liked to use the hot tub more, but it was always filled with small children, splashing, and so forth. I wish that these upper scale hotels would restrict the hot tub to adults, leaving the pool for the kids to splash in.
The staff was pleasant, and professional. We had charges that posted to our credit card by mistake, and the manager promptly took care of reversing the charges.
All in all, this was a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Sea Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Sea Beach Hotel

Address: 707 Pacific Beach Drive, San Diego, CA 92109 (Formerly Best Western Blue Sea Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Beach , Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#27 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#28 Business Hotel in San Diego
#63 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Blue Sea Beach Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pairing a beachfront location with newly renovated deluxe accommodations, the Blue Sea Beach Hotel knows a thing or two about vacationing. Whether you are traveling with family or flying solo, you'll appreciate our easy access to the Strand surfing and sunbathing and an assortment of iconic attractions and activities like the San Diego Zoo and the Gaslamp Quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Loews Hotels, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Blue Sea Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Blue Sea Hotel San Diego
Best Western San Diego
San Diego Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Sea Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.