We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Made me fall in love with San Diego” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Sea Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Blue Sea Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Blue Sea Beach Hotel
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   707 Pacific Beach Drive, San Diego, CA 92109 (Formerly Best Western Blue Sea Lodge) (Mission Beach)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Made me fall in love with San Diego”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

This was my first time in San Diego, and we had stayed in a budget hotel in a different location the night before. But after coming to this hotel, we saw a really cool side of San Diego right from our hotel balcony and wished we could have stayed longer. We also rode the bikes the hotel rents out, as early as 7 a.m. the entire boardwalk which goes with less expensive in Mission Beach to more expensive as you go further along Pacific Beach. This hotel was right in the middle of the boardwalk where you could see all the surfers and skateboarders and just a jovial atmosphere in general. I felt the rooms were very nice and had everything you needed. I have even talked a coworker into going to San Diego this year for his vacation and staying at this hotel.

Room Tip: Getting a partial ocean view even with the parking lot next door gives you more of the happenings of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

825 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    430
    259
    80
    37
    19
See reviews for
315
245
51
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

My Husband, Son and myself stayed at the Blue Sea Lodge for our second year in a row at the end of May and again, it has met and exceeded every expectation we have!! We were in room 106 which was beyond close to the beach as far as view was concerned and the room itself was roomy and super-clean! The staff is amazing to deal with and everyone is beyond helpful! Everything is accesible from the Blue Sea, we can park our car and walk everywhere from the hotel including the grocery store. Absolutely convenient!! This will be our "home away from home" spot every year and we can't wait for our next visit!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for our anniversary. Overall, we really enjoyed it. The good things - location is awesome. We walked the whole beachfront walk and decided we prefer the south side of the pier and the hotel is just in a perfect place. Close to restaurants, stores, etc. the hotel is older, but well kept. The rooms were clean and nice. The staff were very helpful and friendly. We arrived early and they gave us an access card for the restroom and the pool, and let us park in their lot. The debate able cons - it is a family hotel so there were a lot of kids. We did not go in the hot tub for that reason. There were always little kids in there and I feel they just can't help peeing in there. The pool was nice, though. One night only, thank goodness, there were some super loud and obnoxious college kids making noise until 2:30 a.m. The only con - you have to pay parking which is 18 bucks a day, so be prepared for that. It sucks but it is understandable that they have to charge, but that amount seems excessive. Overall, I recommend this hotel if you want to stay on Pacific Beach. I would stay here again for sure.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view room, or pool view because they see the ocean, too!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We had a 1st floor room with balcony facing the ocean- rm 112. I was hesitant at first to accept this room because we had booked a 2nd floor room, thinking it wouldn't be as noisy along the boardwalk. But it was great. The boardwalk was NOT noisy at all.
The choice of restaurants, the clean beach and pool, the location to the activities of the area were all great.
I am hoping, however, they fix the air conditioner in the room. It was broken . They did give us a fan, but it was too noisy . The room gets a little stuffy and being on the 1st floor, we did not want to open the slider to the deck during the night. They also offer coffee, breakfast sandwiches and waffles in a lovely room off the reception area. Try Tony Roma's Restauarant...the bar was fun :)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruben G, General Manager at Blue Sea Beach Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience. I am delighted to hear that the first floor room on the board walk worked out for you and you were able to “fall asleep to the waves”. I do, however, want to apologize for the A/C issue you had, which you would be glad to know has been addressed. Thank you for staying with us!
Ruben Garza
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

Only stayed one night because the bed felt like an inexpensive interspring mattress, past its prime. No breakfast, $30/night parking, and more expensive than a nice place three small blocks away. Ocean views are great, staff was nice rooms are clean, great restaurants very close.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We stayed here with our 18-month-old and loved it. The location was prime because it's right on the beach, so it wasn't a big deal to spend an hour at the beach and then need to go back to the room for nap/snack/mealtime. We could go right back later without worrying about parking or it being a big ordeal. The hotel provided a Pack-n-Play. The balcony made a great camp-out spot for us at his bedtime (he can't sleep when he can see us!). Good proximity to Crystal Pier, Konos (delicious) and a liquor store that sold the necessities (milk, etc.). Friendly staff, too. Would stay here again with or without kids.

Room Tip: Go for oceanfront. The ocean is a free white noise machine!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruben G, General Manager at Blue Sea Beach Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience on your recent stay with us. I am delighted to hear that our balconies made a great “camp- out spot” during your toddler’s bed time. Your patronage is greatly valued and we look forward to you and your family staying with us again the next time travel brings you to San Diego.
Have a great Summer!
Ruben Garza
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised at the quality of the hotel and the service - will definitely stay here again! If you're looking for The Four Seasons, this isn't for you. If you want a great value on the beach, with a little more to offer than your average beach motel, you'll love this place.

I recently got married and was looking for a room block for our wedding guests with one specific requirement: the hotel must be right on the beach (versus on the bay). This was the only real hotel (not a motel) that we found along the boardwalk that was a decent price. There are a few higher end hotels but we didn’t think our guests would pay $300+ for a hotel room each night! We were a little skeptical to book this place given that Best Westerns don’t have the highest quality reputation, but I’m so glad we did! We went and looked at the rooms before hand, thanks to the manager, and they are kept so clean, are very spacious, and there are so many affordable partial ocean view and ocean view rooms with private balconies and beautiful views!

Our guests just loved the location and the amenities of the hotel – they're simple, but it's a step up from all the other motels on the boardwalk and the true draw is the prime beach location. I highly recommend staying here!

The hotel:
Location: on the beach/boardwalk! Most rooms come with a view.
Pool and hot tub - with an ocean and boardwalk view – great for people watching if you want to laze around and feel like you’re at the beach, without actually leaving the hotel.
Parking lot - it’s a steep $18/night! We were able to negotiate this down with our room block, but that’s a lot if you ask me for a single guest to pay.
On-site café: this is nothing fancy but you can buy coffee and simple breakfast and lunches here.
Lobby: Again, nothing fancy, but there are plenty of tables and chairs, water, free cookies in the afternoon, and free wi-fi in the lobby area.
Free wi-fi! Hard to find these days!

The area:
Awesome. Right in the heart of Pacific Beach and a quick walk to Mission Beach/Belmont Park area. Walking distance to all the bars, restaurants, shops, etc. but far enough away that there’s also peace and quiet. There are other hotels even closer to the “PB Strip” but my fear was that they’d be too loud (i.e. the Ocean Park Inn looked a little nicer but it’s surrounded by bars on three sides!).

The rooms:
Again, very clean and spacious. Most rooms come with a fridge and mini kitchen area, and the usual TV, safe, etc. Quiet!! This is a huge perk in this area!

ABOUT OUR ROOM BLOCK EXPERIENCE: We worked with Jennifer Cruz, the Group Sales Director, and could not have been more pleased with her help and attention to detail. She was such a pleasure to work with! If you book a room block here, you won’t regret it! She emailed me an updating rooming list every week, upgraded us from a standard room to an ocean view SUITE (we were so excited!!), helped us coordinate the welcome bags for our out of town guests to ensure they’d be given to everyone on our room block list, proactively offered to make a welcome sign in the lobby using the logo we used in our wedding program, was there when my husband and I checked in to give us ear plugs since she knew we were worried about the noise, and even gave us a little present on our wedding night to thank us for all the business! What a great experience working with her, and staying at the hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side may be quieter as they're further from the parking lot on PB Drive. Requ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Sea Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Sea Beach Hotel

Address: 707 Pacific Beach Drive, San Diego, CA 92109 (Formerly Best Western Blue Sea Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Beach , Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#27 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#28 Business Hotel in San Diego
#63 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Blue Sea Beach Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pairing a beachfront location with newly renovated deluxe accommodations, the Blue Sea Beach Hotel knows a thing or two about vacationing. Whether you are traveling with family or flying solo, you'll appreciate our easy access to the Strand surfing and sunbathing and an assortment of iconic attractions and activities like the San Diego Zoo and the Gaslamp Quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Loews Hotels, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, AAA Travel Services, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Otel, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Blue Sea Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Blue Sea Hotel San Diego
Best Western San Diego
San Diego Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Sea Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.