We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second Stay Following Year” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Sea Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Blue Sea Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Blue Sea Beach Hotel
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   707 Pacific Beach Drive, San Diego, CA 92109 (Formerly Best Western Blue Sea Lodge) (Mission Beach)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% Off Midweek Exclusive
Ranked #36 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
Barnstable, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Second Stay Following Year”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We gave a review 2012 on this property because we stayed about 3 months and we liked this particular hotel so very much we booked it again for three months in 2013 to escape the cold northeast. Reuben the manager runs a very fine place. The Front Desk people Alma. Caesar, and Sal were most helpful-----in fact they consistently went the extra mile to please. Viri was most helpful when we checked in tmaking sure all our needs were met. It is a beautiful location, very clean hotel. The service people were very courteous also. Everyone is very accomodating. I truly can say after three months I could find no fault with the place. We are looking forward to going back there for another three months in 2014.The location to get to other attractions is great and when you return you are right on the water. to relax. They have fresh fruit served all day and home made cookies in the afternoon which our grand children love. I can't say enough nice things about the place . I would be very comfortable recommending this place to any of my friends..We live in MA. and our grand daughters live in San Diego. We stay here at Blue Sea Lodge to have our own place while 'bonding'

Mary

Room Tip: Rooms facing the ocean have a great view.and are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

835 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    437
    262
    80
    37
    19
See reviews for
318
248
52
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

This was a great place to stay if you want easy beach access and to watch the sunset over the ocean. The check in staff were very pleasant and assisted us when we couldn't figure out the cooling system. (it did come on a little later) We stayed in an ocean front room and enjoyed watching all of the activity on the beach and boardwalk.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greeneyes67
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

What we loved... The location. Right on the beach & walking distance to so many restaurants & shops. We had an ocean front room & the view was amazing. The staff was great. Helped with directions, very friendly & so helpful.
What needs improvement... The property. This is an older hotel & is in some dire need of some TLC. In our room the heater/AC did not work, the carpet was stained & there was visible water damage on our ceiling. The common areas also needed some help.
Overall, we enjoyed our stay...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Will H, Manager at Blue Sea Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for posting your review. I am pleased that you enjoyed the fantastice views and hospitality at our hotel. We strive to make every stay a memorable one and we will use your feedback constructively. Our location directly on the waterfront in Pacific Beach is the perferct place for making memories. We are continually upgrading our facilities and will be undergoing a complete renovation late this year that will address the issues you mentioned. We hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again on your next visit to the beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed at the Blue Sea Lodge for two nights in March, just as the Spring Break season was picking up. The welcome was friendly and efficient, and within minutes we were standing on our balcony which overlooked the boardwalk and beach.

The room itself was not the most modern yet had all the conveniences and as mentioned above a lovely view from the balcony. We slept very well, there wasn't much noise from the boardwalk and (fortunately!) the spring breakers who were in the adjoining room.

In terms of food there was a cafe in the reception area which provided breakfast and dinner, yet there are a number of eateries within a stone's throw so it is easy to find food at any time of day or in the evening. World Famous is opposite the hotel and offers a high standard of food and a sea view. You will not struggle to find good, accessible food in Pacific Beach.

The pool area was pretty small yet well looked after and had a great view of the beach.

All in all, the Blue Sea was a great hotel, and the staff were a large part of that. Michelle in particular was very helpful and made our stay enjoyable.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick
Top Contributor
515 reviews 515 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 195 cities Reviews in 195 cities
261 helpful votes 261 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We stayed here as the last part of our land/sea vacation and got an oceanfront room for two nights that ended up being four. It was very nice, a little oddly shaped, but top floor and right on the ocean and the bathroom was large and modern. It was relaxing to hear the gentle Pacific waves and to gaze out at the blue sea - different than looking out at the Atlantic. This property reminded me of our favorite Best Western in Myrtle Beach. There is underground parking which is an additional $18 per night but there is free outside public parking also. There is a little cafe' inside the lobby which hotel guests can get a breakfast choice of two food items free with a voucher. That was enough to keep us going. There is one shared use computer with printer in the lobby which is out in the open. I had to use the computer a lot during our stay there and it was almost always available. One thing that I noticed about this hotel is that guests were constantly checking in or coming in to inquire about rates. It was busy in here even though it is expensive. I saw many families with several children check in during our stay. We had reservations at a cheaper place for our last two nights and hubby told me to cancel them, that he wanted to stay at Blue Sea. He must have really enjoyed it there.

Room Tip: Get an oceanfront room if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, Usa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

The location is ideal. Sand a step off the boardwalk. A pool a step from one's room. Dining in all sorts of places along the boardwalk or near by. The staff is very attentive and helpful. Rooms enjoy large arcadia doors that open to the ocean or a partial view that ensure fresh cool ocean breezes.

Room Tip: Partial ocean view is just fine, although full ocean view is special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clio, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Wow, where do I start?! With my wife and our four small kids in tow (11, 9, 6, and 4) traveling across the country from Michigan I expected some "difficulties" to pop up from time to time on our spring break vacation and they did but certainly not at the Blue Sea! The place could not have been better - exceeded my expectations in every way! The staff - super friendly, helpful, and caring! The location - perfect! We just loved our 4 nights there! I highly highly recommended this place! I really can't say enough good things about the staff, best I have been exposed to in all my travels and they really take a personal interest in making sure that you have a great time and a wonderful experience!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Sea Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Sea Beach Hotel

Address: 707 Pacific Beach Drive, San Diego, CA 92109 (Formerly Best Western Blue Sea Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Beach , Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#27 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#28 Business Hotel in San Diego
#63 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Blue Sea Beach Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pairing a beachfront location with newly renovated deluxe accommodations, the Blue Sea Beach Hotel knows a thing or two about vacationing. Whether you are traveling with family or flying solo, you'll appreciate our easy access to the Strand surfing and sunbathing and an assortment of iconic attractions and activities like the San Diego Zoo and the Gaslamp Quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, AAA Travel Services, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Blue Sea Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Blue Sea Hotel San Diego
Best Western San Diego
San Diego Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Sea Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.