We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Sea Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added Blue Sea Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Blue Sea Beach Hotel
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   707 Pacific Beach Drive, San Diego, CA 92109 (Formerly Best Western Blue Sea Lodge) (Mission Beach)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 268 hotels in San Diego
Valparaiso, Indiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Room was upgraded by a very friendly staff and all services were very much appreciated, Even the maintenance staff went out of their way to asist us during our checkout. We stayed for four days and enjoyed the use of the beach and the close proximity to fine dining options, The shopping opportunities were numerous and varied.

Room Tip: Full ocean view is awsome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

752 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    387
    235
    75
    37
    18
See reviews for
279
229
47
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Astoria, Oregon
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We have stayed here many times when we visit our kids at Mission Bay. The staff has always been welcoming, the room clean , and although the parking for the rental car seems a bit steep, it feels secure.
on this trip, the desk staff was 'disinterested' at best. The two young ladies seemed reluctant to interrupt their conversation, and looked a the 'wrong computer' at first, putting us down for 2 nights instead of 5. The room wasn't as spotless as on previous occasions. Somehow, it seemed just borderline clean. After we moved and used the towels on the bathroom cabinet shelf, we noticed a thick layer of dust behind them. Ick.
advertising the new 'cafe' in the lobby as 'breakfast and dinner available' is stretching it. The breakfast choice was a EggMcMuffin thing heated in a microwave ( none of the other appliances were working...) and overpriced. My husband and I both came down with the flu, and I wound up picking up something to eat at night ( didn't want to venture out alone after dark). Again, the oven and whatever needed to make stuff listed on the menu was out of commission, so had a cold sandwich. This may be an ok place for coffee, a bagel, roll etc., but shouldn't advertise itself as a place for meals.
the refrigerator didn't work. Almost impossible to get down on the floor to check the control, and couldn't work it, even with a coin. Left a note, not action. Gave up.
When we approached the parking garage, the gate wouldn't open. When I ran into the office to inquire, they 'redid' my key, and said 'try again, if that doesn't work try the other gate, its newer. And if that doesn't work, just park outside'. Hmmmmm. Again, this from another desk person, totally detached,no greeting etc. Either watching something on the computer, or sitting there looking bored.
We did inquire about a discount, as the hotel was not even half full and dropins were given rooms ( on the weekend) for much less than we paid. No such luck.
We did write to the manager upon our return home, and have an apology and a promise of 2 free nights. Haven't seen any of that in form of a voucher or whatever, and not holding our breath. It may be time to start looking around.... we do like the location though. We would like to hear from people who have been at Paradise Island.

Room Tip: we had the double queen with partial view. Its ok.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueSeaGM, General Manager at Blue Sea Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
I again want to extend my sincerest apologies for the inconveniences you experienced on your recent visit to our hotel. The items you mentioned have been addressed by our management team and we appreciate this valuable feedback you provided us. Your patronage is greatly valued and appreciated. Rest assured, you will be receiving your Gift Certificate any day now and we look forward to having you as our guest once again in the near future. Have a great New Year!

Sincerely,

Ruben Garza
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Always stay here when in San Diego. Staff is always friendly and helpful. They have been able to accommodate our request for a specific room though it is never a guarantee. My dream someday is that they allow small pets. Many of the area facilities have begun to do this.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueSeaGM, General Manager at Blue Sea Beach Hotel, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear Kathy W,
Thank you for your comments regarding our staff! We do our very best to accommodate all requests and the staff does an excellent job with them, considering, as you mentioned, the requests are not guaranteed. We look forward to having you stay with us again the next time you visit San Diego.
Have a great day!

Sincerely,
Ruben Garza
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Haven, Utah
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Nice hotel. Didn't have to stray too far to access great restaurants and beach related businesses. Don't worry too much about an ocean view room, the well groomed beach is only steps away, who goes to the beach to stay in their room anyway? We'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueSeaGM, General Manager at Blue Sea Beach Hotel, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear Allison F,
Thank you for comments regarding our staff and our overall facility! I am glad to hear that you experienced some of those spectacular sunsets our guests get to experience while staying with us. I am happy to say that ownership is planning some major renovations in 2013 which we look forward to you enjoying the next time you stay with us.
Have a great week!
Sincerely
Ruben Garza
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arvada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Stayed at this hotel in December 2012 with family. I love the location, which is right on the beach...ask for an ocean view, and you will have lovely views at sunset. We were very pleased with the staff, the restaurant, the parking garage, and the pool and hot tub. The only negative thing I could say is that it's a little rough around the edges. It's not dirty by any means, but if there was some new capeting and a little bit of cosmetic touch-ups, I would be giving this a five-star rating. I will definitely stay there again however, with or without a little remodeling. Awesome experience right in the heart of Pacific Beach!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012 via mobile

We visit San Diego 2 - 3 times a year and love to make it a couple day explore. We just finished one of those trips at the Blue Sea Lodge. Located ON the beach it was wonderful. The rooms were clean and fair sized for a beach location. The full ocean view was truly a 220 degree view. The staff was very friendly and helpful in where to eat. The early morning beach walk was on a very clean and quiet beach. Already looking forward to our next visit.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

I had stayed at a couple of other hotels in Pacific Beach, but once I tried this one, it became my favorite. It's the perfect location and the rooms are very comfortable. The staff is always friendly and accomodating. Love everthing about this hotel. I wish I could visit more often!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Blue Sea Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Sea Beach Hotel

Address: 707 Pacific Beach Drive, San Diego, CA 92109 (Formerly Best Western Blue Sea Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Beach , Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#27 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#28 Business Hotel in San Diego
#63 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Blue Sea Beach Hotel 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pairing a beachfront location with newly renovated deluxe accommodations, the Blue Sea Beach Hotel knows a thing or two about vacationing. Whether you are traveling with family or flying solo, you'll appreciate our easy access to the Strand surfing and sunbathing and an assortment of iconic attractions and activities like the San Diego Zoo and the Gaslamp Quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your Blue Sea Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Blue Sea Hotel San Diego
Best Western San Diego
San Diego Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Sea Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.