We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An awesome visit!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Sea Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Blue Sea Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Blue Sea Beach Hotel
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   707 Pacific Beach Drive, San Diego, CA 92109 (Formerly Best Western Blue Sea Lodge) (Mission Beach)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save 20% in Pacific Beach
Ranked #24 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Burlington, Canada
1 review
“An awesome visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights during our California trip. It was awesome. Our first time in California and experiencing the Pacific Ocean and there we were right on the beach. We had a beautiful view of the ocean from our 3rd story balcony. We saw surfers and loved that the beach was not over crowded, we were there in Nov/2012. We went for walks along the boardwalk that went right by the hotel.

The staff were so friendly and accomodating. They looked after everything we needed. We had no trouble with the free parking above ground, always found a space.

Our room was spacious and clean. I noticed that it looks like nearly every room has a view of the ocean too which is awesome. The bed was very comfortable and I loved the balcony.

We would recommend this hotel and we'd stay there again.

Lynn B

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

926 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    499
    286
    83
    37
    21
See reviews for
356
271
54
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
China Lake, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Whenever I go to San Diego and for whatever reason, I make a point of staying here. It's simply the Best On The Beach! Cesar and his staff have the place running like a well oiled machine and they take an interest in EVERY aspect of their guests' wishes - even whims: nothing is too large or too small for them to accommodate. As Denis W. states, this hotel is for the true beach and ocean lover. The fact that it's the best in San Diego is due to a staff that from housekeeping to concierge to management services is the best in their field. The restaurant named "World Famous", across the little square from the Blue Sea, is the perfect complement to the hotel and between them they provide an environment one wishes one never had to leave. It should go without saying that every type of room in the hotel is outstanding value for money.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms and suites on the 3rd. deck are best for privacy; those on the 1st. provide eye-to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is right on the beach/ promenade. There are a few restaurants and shops very conveniently located near the hotel. We went to Joe's Crabshack, World Famous, and another place for coffee in the morning. I just wanted to share that this hotel is very average at best, nothing necessarily wrong with our stay, but it's also not worth the 4 or 5 stars... There were a few things that bothered me: a few grapes under the bathroom counter left by a previous guest, housekeeping missed them all 3 nights we stayed, a few long black hairs in the bathtub/shower (gross) , noise from drunk younger crowd partying late into the morning hours (remember, it's cheap) and overall just not impressed... Location is good. Bed comfy. Sheets fresh and clean. Value is good for the area. I guess you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueSeaGM, General Manager at Blue Sea Beach Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Zorrie,
Thank you for taking the time and writing a review on your recent stay. I apologize for those housekeeping issues you encountered and I have passed on your comments to our housekeeping manager and those items are being addressed. I am happy to read that you found our beds clean and comfortable! Your patronage is greatly valued and we look forward to you staying with us the next time you travel to San Diego. Have a great Holiday Season!
Sincerely
Ruben Garza
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richfield, Utah
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We always stay here but decided to stay down the road at the hotel by the firestation bar...well it was @$&%@# there, bums sleeping all over in front of the place by the ocean...came running back to a suite here for about the same price...love it love it love it!

Room Tip: suites ocean front rule!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Stayed here twice now. August 2012 and November 2012. First time with wife and two teenage daughters in a pool/ocean view room and a second time with my father in an ocean front room.

Walk through the pool area onto the strand and beach.

This hotel is for the true beach and ocean lover. Great resaurant/bar next door for breakfast, lunch, dinner and coctails. Plenty of casual dining and lots of shops within walking distance. Coffee and light breakfast in the lobby if you're in an hurry.

If you want room service and valet parking for your Ferrari, this is not your place. If you want a perfect location on the beach for a couple hundred bucks a night this is definitely it. We're so happy we've already booked one of the ocean front rooms for the last week of July and the first week of August 2013.

Room Tip: Can't go wrong with ocean front. Second choice is pool/ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champlin, Minnesota, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

The rooms are nice sized and always clean. As this is a beachfront hotel the rooms are a little worn but clean is more important! Bed was a little squishy. Parking is extra but you have a choice of open lot or secured under the hotel. I've been to this hotel 3 different times and will continue to go back when I need a great place to stay on Pacific Beach.

Room Tip: Oceanfront is awesome! Due to being on the boardwalk I suggest a 2nd or 3rd floor room for security...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tucson
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We found this hotel on the costco travel site. I loved the location and the view of the beach was fabulous. The room was comfortable, plenty of space, clean. I am a light sleeper, and found the room quiet and comfortable. I stayed on the second floor and could see dolphins swimming with the surfers, off our balcony. Just a beautiful vacation. Parking in the free area is difficult with the public, $17 fee for garage. They have added buildings at different times, that is where the extra point goes- it is a maze getting out of the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Sea Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Sea Beach Hotel

Address: 707 Pacific Beach Drive, San Diego, CA 92109 (Formerly Best Western Blue Sea Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Beach , Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#28 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#29 Business Hotel in San Diego
#64 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Blue Sea Beach Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pairing a beachfront location with newly renovated deluxe accommodations, the Blue Sea Beach Hotel knows a thing or two about vacationing. Whether you are traveling with family or flying solo, you'll appreciate our easy access to the Strand surfing and sunbathing and an assortment of iconic attractions and activities like the San Diego Zoo and the Gaslamp Quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and BookIt.com so you can book your Blue Sea Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Blue Sea Hotel San Diego
Best Western San Diego
San Diego Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Sea Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.