We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Ocean View” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Sea Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Blue Sea Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Blue Sea Beach Hotel
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   707 Pacific Beach Drive, San Diego, CA 92109 (Formerly Best Western Blue Sea Lodge) (Mission Beach)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save 20% in Pacific Beach
Ranked #29 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Richfield, Utah
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great Ocean View”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

been here a few times...ocean front suite. awesome view of the beach and the boardwalk!!!...beds are OK but a little hard. pay per view movies too(still in theater movies). staff very nice!!! the only thing bad about this property is that the pool and hot tub, (which are ocean front also) close at 10pm. cant beat it if you want ocean front!!!

Room Tip: the building that has the suites in it has been remodeled...i think it is the north building
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueSeaGM, General Manager at Blue Sea Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2012
Dear Jody B,
Thank you for taking the time and posting your comments! I highly agree with you that the view from any ocean front room, let alone our great suites, is awesome. I can appreiciate your comments regarding the hours of the pool and hot tub and we have found that this hour seems to work best for the majority of our guests. Thank you for undestanding this policy.

Thank you again for your comments, Jody B and we look forward to having you stay with us again in the near future.

Have a great day!

Regards,
Ruben Garza
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

910 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    485
    284
    83
    37
    21
See reviews for
350
266
54
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
las Vegas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

We really enjoyed our trip. We had a beachfront room with a great view. We walked across the boardwalk and were on the beach. My granddaughter had a wonderful time playing on the beach. The staff were very nice.

Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phoenix
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

Such a great location to visit the beach and be around some great eateries.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

Spent a couple of nights here with our son and teenage granddaughters. Price was $189 per night, which is pretty good for beachfront property. Staff was very pleasant, personable and helpful. Check-In was uneventful and quick. Car parking is always a challenge along the Boardwalk. There was plenty of parking specifically reserved for the hotel. It was well illuminated at night and had a uniformed security guard, who patrolled the lot. Room was on the second floor with elevator access. Advertised as a "partial ocean view." Partial apparently meant that only 3/4 of the balcony and its sliding glass door had a view of the ocean. You could only look at the beautiful sandy beach and the busy Boardwalk through the other 1/4. Made for interesting people watching while lounging on the balcony!!

Beach was spectacular as always with easy access via the pool, which bordered the Boardwalk. Tired after spending your day playing on the beach, swimming in the pool and lounging on your balcony? Walk next door to the World Famous PB restaurant and enjoy an wonderful seafood dinner.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 206, which faced northwest. I'd recommend any room which did NOT face south.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

My wife and I had an ocean front room on the third floor and it was great. The unit included a balcony with chairs, perfect for reading or happy hour! The included refrigerator and microwave made our week long stay even more comfortable. The lodge is located right on the boardwalk and within walking distance of great restaurants, stores and a Ralph's Market. You can walk to everything so you don't need a rental car. The staff were all polite and helpful and kept the entire area sparkling.
Thanks for a great vacation.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanalei, Hawaii
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

Other than the San Diego weather being a bit chilly (we came from Hawaii), our stay at the BW Sea Lodge Mission Beach was exceptionally good! I was hoping for a little beach time, but it was too cold. The beachwalk in front of the hotel is super cruise. The front desk staff
(all 4 employees) were super accomodating and friendly. The room was nice with crisp, white, comforter covers and the view of the Pacific Ocean was DYNAMITE! Super impressed with the staff and the quiet!
Mahlo nui loa

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magna, Utah
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

My husband I got an ocean front room... WOW. It was absolutely amazing. I loved everything about my stay. The staff was great. There are a lot of restaurants within walking distance. We slept with the sliding door open and just listened to the waves. So perfect! Loved it!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueSeaGM, General Manager at Blue Sea Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2012
Dear Whitney K,
Thank you for your comments. I am glad to hear that our staff and service made your stay “so perfect”. I would highly agree with your slumber approach and leaving the sliding door open! We look forward to you staying with us again!
Regards,
Ruben Garza
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Sea Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Sea Beach Hotel

Address: 707 Pacific Beach Drive, San Diego, CA 92109 (Formerly Best Western Blue Sea Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Beach , Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#28 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#28 Business Hotel in San Diego
#64 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Blue Sea Beach Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pairing a beachfront location with newly renovated deluxe accommodations, the Blue Sea Beach Hotel knows a thing or two about vacationing. Whether you are traveling with family or flying solo, you'll appreciate our easy access to the Strand surfing and sunbathing and an assortment of iconic attractions and activities like the San Diego Zoo and the Gaslamp Quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Blue Sea Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Blue Sea Hotel San Diego
Best Western San Diego
San Diego Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Sea Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.