We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel right on the sand” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Sea Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Blue Sea Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Blue Sea Beach Hotel
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   707 Pacific Beach Drive, San Diego, CA 92109 (Formerly Best Western Blue Sea Lodge) (Mission Beach)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save 20% in Pacific Beach
Ranked #24 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence 2014
L.A.
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“nice hotel right on the sand”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2011

I recently stayed at the Best Western Blue Sea while visiting my son who is a university student at SDSU. I picked this hotel for it's close proximaty to his house in Pacific Beach. I was warmly greeted by the staff, Caesar, who promptly got me into my room. We enjoyed the hotel and really liked the location and the little bit of an upscale feel to the hotel. Room was very nice and well maintained. I am a BW Platinum elite member who stays at many BW locations Worldwide so I definetly would stay here again and give the hotel and it's staff a "2 thumbs up"

Room Tip: become an elite program rewards member
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

926 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    499
    286
    83
    37
    21
See reviews for
356
271
54
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2011

Hotel is situated within a stones throw of the beach. Ideally located close to some amazing resturants and vibrant bars. Rooms are clean and spacious with great views of the Pacific Ocean.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2011

We recently stayed here during our California vacation. Best part of the hotel is the location - right on beach. We had a partial ocean view room that looked out to the Northwest side and we loved the view. We loved hearing the waves when the door was open too. Yes, the room décor needs updating, but it still served our purposes. It was clean, as we found nothing wrong with our room and yes we did look. Parking is $16 per night unless you can find free street parking right next to the hotel, as we did, so that helped. Maybe it was the time we were there, but we had no noise issues at all during our stay. I too wish that they would ban smoking in all areas of the hotel, but again we didn't have an issue. Loved waking up with coffee made in the room and then sitting on the balcony or going down to the pool area and looking at the beach and ocean. It was fun lying in the enclosed pool area, watching our kids play football, baseball, or whatever on the beach too. Best thing about this hotel is the location right on the beach, which is why we chose it and we were not disappointed in that. Also, the hotel staff was very nice, helpful and accommodating. Jason was also very helpful with our questions before we got there too. Cost would be a factor on staying there again, but we would stay there again if the opportunity would present itself and cost was not too high.

Room Tip: Great location
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2011

We found this hotel on line. We got a great perspective via satellite. It looked amazing! The beach was right there off of the pool! We thought it was too good to be true! But we were so pleasently surprised to be able to lay out at the pool and watch the surfers in the ocean! We opened our sliding glass door and stepped out onto the balcony and saw the sun set over the pier. We walked up a block and found an amazing little Italian restaurant with the best lasagna around. Then we Walked back to our room and soaked in the hot tub! It was a dream hotel! We will definetely return!
Lisa Shaw- Riverside, ca.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms over the pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2011

For those of you who might question a stay at a Best Western, question no longer. From the time we arrived when Jason the manger who was very busy accommodating everyone including us, he gave excellent service in light of the fact that he was flying solo!!! He checked our bags and let us use the facilities until our room was ready, (we tried to check in around noon early). We walked the beach and Pacific Beach town for a bit and then were greeted by Cesar, the desk clerk who was busy trying to accommodate calls and check-ins but made time for us and even offered us an upgrade to an ocean front suite which was WELL worth every dollar!!! The staff were smiling and helpful as well as pleasant and we had a peaceful night's rest! Great location and staff and management who make sure that your stay is comfortable and that you know the area as well. Thank you, Cesar, Jason, AND Lupe for making us feel right at home:-)

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2011

I enjoy going here because the location is right on the beach and walking distance to many attractions. Including restaurants, bars, etc.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2011

We enjoy yourself at the lodge and would recommend it to everyone who is looking for that breath taking view of the beach and the sound for beautiful night sleeping.

Room Tip: Book your room early to ensure that best room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Sea Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Sea Beach Hotel

Address: 707 Pacific Beach Drive, San Diego, CA 92109 (Formerly Best Western Blue Sea Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Beach , Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#28 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#29 Business Hotel in San Diego
#64 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Blue Sea Beach Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pairing a beachfront location with newly renovated deluxe accommodations, the Blue Sea Beach Hotel knows a thing or two about vacationing. Whether you are traveling with family or flying solo, you'll appreciate our easy access to the Strand surfing and sunbathing and an assortment of iconic attractions and activities like the San Diego Zoo and the Gaslamp Quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookIt.com and Priceline so you can book your Blue Sea Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Blue Sea Hotel San Diego
Best Western San Diego
San Diego Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Sea Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.