We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   555 West Ash Street, San Diego, CA 92101 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #89 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights in July as part of a 2000 mile West Coast road trip. Great hotel, good location, about 15-20 minute walk from USS Midway & Seaport Village and one block from Little Italy. All rooms have a small balcony, we were on the 12th floor overlooking the pool and a bay view which was lovely and it got the sun all afternoon. Only downside was that we were on the same level as the people working in the office block next door!
Nice clean room, good size (even for 4 of us - 2 adults & 2 teenagers) very comfy beds, TV, free wifi, fridge, microwave, coffee maker etc. Complimentary breakfast served in small restaurant next door to hotel, despite the few negative comments I've seen in other reviews I actually thought it was pretty good; cereals, oatmeal, pastries, toast etc, pancakes, scrambled eggs plus one other hot option which seemed to change daily. Free parking in hotel's own multi-storey car park. Staff were very pleasant and helpful. A guest laundry would've been nice but apart from that it was great. Would stay again and would recommend to others.

Room Tip: Bayside view rooms for good view and sun all afternoon
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tlwickens, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dear shinythingsvicky,
Thank you for staying with us at Best Western Plus Bayside Inn. We are pleased to see you enjoyed our proximity to the bay, Seaport Village and Little Italy. Thank you for sharing that we offer good sized rooms with comfortable beds, refrigerators and microwaves. We appreciate your time taken to review your stay and your feedback about enjoying our breakfast and that the staff is pleasant and helpful. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you vacation is San Diego!
Best Regards,
Grace Gerzen
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

806 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    416
    120
    24
    16
See reviews for
189
328
51
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We've stayed in this hotel for a total of 10 nights over the last two years. Both times we were there for Comic Con so our expectations were pretty minimal, we just wanted a quiet room and free breakfast. Our first year we were on the 11th floor with a bay view. The view was very nice, but the room was a bit small. This year we stayed on the 14th floor with a city view. The room was quite a bit larger than the previous one, so much so that we didn't mind missing the bay view.

We did appreciate the refrigerator, specifically for keeping chilled water so we didn't have to purchase the more expensive bottles at the convention center. There's a CVS in walking distance where one can stock up on snacks, drinks, or anything that was forgotten while packing. The trolley is a comfortable distance, as is the bay where there's an awesome museum (Maritime Museum). A few blocks away there are many restaurants, most Italian since this is the Little Italy area, but there are also some more casual places like the Burger Lounge.

The staff was always kind and we never had any issues with cleanliness or noise. The breakfast was decent, they usually had eggs, sausage, pancakes, toast, and pastries. This location is a bit of a haul from the Gaslamp, which is where a lot of the nightlife is, but we stayed here because we genuinely wanted peace and quiet in the evening. As a bonus, there's an Avis about three blocks away where we were able to rent a car for $85 cheaper than the airport location. This Best Western also has a free airport shuttle for departures.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tlwickens, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dear Sara L,
Thank you for reviewing Best Western Plus Bayside Inn. We are pleased to see you enjoyed your return trip for Comic Con and our proximity to the bay. Thank you for sharing that we offer peace and quiet and that our staff was always kind. We appreciate your repeated patronage and look forward to welcoming you back next summer!

Best Regards,
Grace Gerzen
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We enjoyed our stay here. The room was nice and clean though we had one towel on arrive that was stained. We had a bit of trouble getting the TV to turn off but unplugging it worked. The staff was welcoming and friendly. Our courtesy drive was the best though he could slow down in traffic..just not use to this fast congested driving of CA cities. They held our luggage for us in a secure spot with it well tagged which was appreciated. It was in easy walking distance from the pier area and even Gas-lamp if you don't mind the walk. The lobby bathroom needed a key for use. This was a nice place but in my opinion you pay for the view and proximity to the water as it wasn't anything special for the piece beyond that. We did not use the pool. The breakfast area was a separate restaurant but you selected your food much like other chain hotels. some hot items and usual cold items.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tlwickens, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear Dianaandfamily,
Thank you for staying with us at Best Western Bayside Inn. We are pleased to see you enjoyed our proximity to the bay and Gaslamp District. We sincerely apologize for the stained towel and the difficulty with turning off the TV. Thank you for your time taken to provide a review. We are pleased to see our shuttle driver “was the best” and we will share your feedback with him. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back should you visit San Diego again.

Best Regards,
Guest Relations Manager
Grace Gerzen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

i was 3 blocks from the train station and 3 blocks from my business meeting place. i walked to dinner in little italy, also just a few blocks away. my view room was a bonus. the bed was comfortable. the lobby was wanting and the breakfast pretty terrible. that being said, i will stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tlwickens, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear 401traceyc,
Thank you for taking time to review your stay at Best Western Plus Bayside Inn. We are pleased to see you enjoyed our proximity to Little Italy and our comfortable beds. Please except out apologies for not exceeding your expectations with breakfast. We look forward to welcoming you back and we are sure you will be please to know our lobby will be completely redone and upgraded this fall-winter.
Best Regards,
Grace Gerzen
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Very nice Hotel, close to Little Italy which has some amazing restaurant's. Staff could not be more helpful nothing was a problem. The free breakfast was the only thing that was a little disappointing but it was free, so you cannot really complain. Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tlwickens, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear 2katrina69,
Thank you for taking time to review your stay at Best Western Plus Bayside Inn. We are pleased to see you enjoyed our proximity to Little Italy. Please except out apologies for not exceeding your expectations with breakfast. Thank you for sharing about how helpful our staff is. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Best Regards,
Grace Gerzen
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

My husband and I stayed here as part of our honeymoon. On our arrival we were pleased to hear that our room had been upgraded to the 14th floor. We were so impressed with the breathtaking view of the harbor. We got some great pictures of the sunset from the balcony. The bed was huge and very comfy which is great after a day walking around San Diego. The rooms were very clean, in fact the whole hotel was. The cleaning staff worked very hard. The staff on reception were helpful and gave us advice on the zoo and even ordered us a taxi to get there.

The restaurant had a good choice of foods available for breakfast (the peppered potatoes were my favourite although the maple syrup pancakes were a very close second). The hotel is in a great location to Little Italy, some fantastic places to eat and drink. It is also close to the cheesecake factory and a little further on it is close to gas lamp.

If we come back which Im sure we will. We will stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tlwickens, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear rach14milli,
Thank you choosing to stay with us at Best Western Plus Bayside Inn. We are pleased to see you enjoyed our breakfast (especially the peppered potatoes and pancakes). Thank you for sharing about your experience with our front desk team at check in and how hard our housekeeping team works. We look forward to having you as our guest again should you visit San Diego in the future.
Best Regards,
Grace Gerzen
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

The hotel seemed full, and our room was on the 12th floor. During our three night stay, only one of the two lifts (elevators) was working and there were long delays. Our room had a (distant) view of the bay, but no balcony. The restaurant within the complex provided a free breakfast, and advertises dinner, but is closed for dinner on the weekends. Fortunately the 'Little Italy' area starts across the road with plenty of fine restaurants and family cafes available.

The location was good as it was walking distance to the bay, the trolley and the tour depot. It was obviously popular with families and would have been good value with the car park available as well.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tlwickens, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear Brightievictoria,
Thank you for taking time to review your stay with us at Best Western Bayside Inn. Please except our sincere apologies for any inconvenience due to the upgrade process to our elevators. With the exception of one room on the second floor, all of our rooms have balconies with various views. Thank you for sharing about our restaurant providing breakfast daily and dinner on weeknights.
Best Regards,
Grace Gerzen
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn

Address: 555 West Ash Street, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#72 Family Hotel in San Diego
#75 Business Hotel in San Diego
#76 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Downtown San Diego, at the south end of the Little Italy the Best Western Plus Bayside Inn is a convenient location for leisure or business travel. We have 122 rooms, all with Balconies and many with views of the San Diego Big Bay or Downtown Skyline. Amenities include a Restaurant serving complimentary breakfast daily and dinner Monday thru Friday. Our Lounge is open daily, Monday to Friday from 4:00pm to 9:00pm. Room Service is available. We have an outdoor heated pook and whirlpool, FREE WI-FI in rooms, pool area, lobby and restaurant for you to stay connected. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Bayside Hotel San Diego
Best Western Bayside Hotel
Best Western San Diego
San Diego Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.