We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only One Flaw” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   555 West Ash Street, San Diego, CA 92101 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #71 of 270 hotels in San Diego
Temecula, United States
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Only One Flaw”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Great service, great location and great rates. However, if you want a good nights sleep, book a "city view room", do not book a "bay side room" because of the constant trains with horns blaring and railroad crossing bells. It makes for a miserable nights sleep.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tlwickens, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear Gary P,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Best Western Plus Bayside Inn and for taking time to provide a review with details about your stay. We are happy to see that you enjoyed our service and location. With the train station a few blocks from us it can sometimes be heard with the balcony door open and we are happy to accommodate guests on the east side with a city view if availability permits. We hope to have the opportunity to accommodate you again in a city view room the next time you drive into the city for a weekend getaway.

Best Regards,
Grace Gerzen
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

653 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    191
    340
    93
    16
    13
See reviews for
151
266
42
71
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Pros: Somewhat walking distance from every downtown/gaslamp bar/restaurant or even the harbor attractions. Beds were really comfortable. View was pretty good, with a few buildings in the way, but the view has one of the harbors with boats passing by. Cons: Small lobby area. Small pool (but why swim in the pool when you can be out in the beach?) Not that decorated/visually stunning inside the building. Overall: You get what you pay for, above average service, decent to above average room, decent free breakfast (that's always a plus for me), and away from the busy areas of San Diego Downtown, but close enough to get to those places. Had a lot of good rest time from the food coma I built up from the downtown restaurants and farmer's market.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tlwickens, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear Randy S,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Best Western Plus Bayside Inn and for providing a review about your stay. We are pleased to see that you enjoyed our proximity to all down town San Diego has to offer. We are excited to share that our lobby will be updated and remodeled this coming fall of 2014. Thank you for sharing details about the service you received and our breakfast. We hope to have you as our guest again.

Best Regards,
Grace Gerzen
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coolidge, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

The remote don't work too good and there's no elevator access the parking garage and for what you pay for the room...you should get FREE Parking! Other than that, this is a good hotel, esp., the Bayside view!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tlwickens, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Julie E,

Thank you for your review and for staying with us at the Best Western Plus Bayside Inn during your trip to San Diego. My apologies that the lower level parking was not available for your use and that the remote was not working as well as it should have. We are grateful for your detailed feedback that will allow us the opportunity to see our hotel experience through the eyes of our guests and know where to focus our efforts to exceed the expectations of all of our guests. Thank you for taking time to provide an informative review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and our beautiful view of the San Diego Bay.

Best Regards,

Grace Gerzen
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York, Usa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Good location. Friendly and helpful staff. Free shuttle to and from airport. very nice breakfast complimentary. You have a nice view from all side but I would ask for the Bay view if only for the sunsets. I will go back!!!

Room Tip: Go for Bay view
See more room tips
Green Features: Very friendly. Recycle bin, choose to not have your bed linen and towels not replaced every day!!!
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tlwickens, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Sandy K,
Thank you for taking time to share your experience while staying with us at the Best Western Bayside Inn. We take pride in being convenient and accommodating and are please you liked; our location, shuttle service and breakfast. We look forward to having you as our guest again!


Best Regards,

Grace Gerzen
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Upon arrival with our family, the staff was so kind to make sure the whole family was on the same floor. They were very friendly and helped us with all our needs. The staff in the restaurant were very nice and the breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tlwickens, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Thank you for taking time to write a review on your recent stay over the holiday weekend. We appreicate all who take time to let us know what you think, how your stay was and if you enjoyed San Diego.
T. Wickens, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

I stayed for two nights in this extremely well-located hotel. The breakfast included was varied and yummy. The rooms were clean and beds very comfortable. We enjoyed the pool area and hot tub as well. I highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tlwickens, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Ariana W,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Best Western Plus Bayside Inn during your trip to San Diego and for taking time to share your experience. We strive to exceed the expectations of our guests and are please to see that you enjoyed our location, breakfast, and the care our housekeeping team takes when cleaning and maintaining our hotel. Thank you for your high recommendation!

Best Regards,

Grace Gerzen
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights after a Panama Canal cruise. Location was very good. Could walk to the "Midway' and to Little Italy to catch the tour trolley and to have great meals int the restaurants in Little Italy. The staff was very friendly. Totally enjoyed it.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tlwickens, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear Judy B,
We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Best Western Plus Bayside Inn. Thank you for taking time to review your stay and our proximity to attractions like the Midway and Little Italy. Our team takes great pride in the service provided and we thank you for sharing about the friendliness of our staff. We look forward to accommodating you again should you choose to vacation in San Diego or perhaps take another cruise docking in the nearby terminal.

Best Regards,
Grace Gerzen
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn

Address: 555 West Ash Street, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#70 Family Hotel in San Diego
#75 Business Hotel in San Diego
#77 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Downtown San Diego, at the south end of the Little Italy the Best Western Plus Bayside Inn is a convenient location for leisure or business travel. We have 122 rooms, all with Balconies and many with views of the San Diego Big Bay or Downtown Skyline. Amenities include a Restaurant serving complimentary breakfast daily and dinner Monday thru Friday. Our Lounge is open daily, Monday to Friday from 4:00pm to 9:00pm. Room Service is available. We have an outdoor heated pook and whirlpool, FREE WI-FI in rooms, pool area, lobby and restaurant for you to stay connected. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Expedia so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Bayside Hotel San Diego
Best Western Bayside Hotel
Best Western San Diego
San Diego Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.