We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only One Flaw” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   555 West Ash Street, San Diego, CA 92101 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
BEST VALUE RATE BOOK NOW
Ranked #77 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Temecula, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Only One Flaw”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Great service, great location and great rates. However, if you want a good nights sleep, book a "city view room", do not book a "bay side room" because of the constant trains with horns blaring and railroad crossing bells. It makes for a miserable nights sleep.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank Gary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tlwickens, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear Gary P,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Best Western Plus Bayside Inn and for taking time to provide a review with details about your stay. We are happy to see that you enjoyed our service and location. With the train station a few blocks from us it can sometimes be heard with the balcony door open and we are happy to accommodate guests on the east side with a city view if availability permits. We hope to have the opportunity to accommodate you again in a city view room the next time you drive into the city for a weekend getaway.

Best Regards,
Grace Gerzen
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,008 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
San Diego, California
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Pros: Somewhat walking distance from every downtown/gaslamp bar/restaurant or even the harbor attractions. Beds were really comfortable. View was pretty good, with a few buildings in the way, but the view has one of the harbors with boats passing by. Cons: Small lobby area. Small pool (but why swim in the pool when you can be out in the beach?) Not that decorated/visually stunning inside the building. Overall: You get what you pay for, above average service, decent to above average room, decent free breakfast (that's always a plus for me), and away from the busy areas of San Diego Downtown, but close enough to get to those places. Had a lot of good rest time from the food coma I built up from the downtown restaurants and farmer's market.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Randy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tlwickens, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear Randy S,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Best Western Plus Bayside Inn and for providing a review about your stay. We are pleased to see that you enjoyed our proximity to all down town San Diego has to offer. We are excited to share that our lobby will be updated and remodeled this coming fall of 2014. Thank you for sharing details about the service you received and our breakfast. We hope to have you as our guest again.

Best Regards,
Grace Gerzen
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coolidge, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

The remote don't work too good and there's no elevator access the parking garage and for what you pay for the room...you should get FREE Parking! Other than that, this is a good hotel, esp., the Bayside view!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Julie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tlwickens, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York, Usa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Good location. Friendly and helpful staff. Free shuttle to and from airport. very nice breakfast complimentary. You have a nice view from all side but I would ask for the Bay view if only for the sunsets. I will go back!!!

Room Tip: Go for Bay view
See more room tips
Green Features: Very friendly. Recycle bin, choose to not have your bed linen and towels not replaced every day!!!
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tlwickens, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Sandy K,
Thank you for taking time to share your experience while staying with us at the Best Western Bayside Inn. We take pride in being convenient and accommodating and are please you liked; our location, shuttle service and breakfast. We look forward to having you as our guest again!


Best Regards,

Grace Gerzen
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Upon arrival with our family, the staff was so kind to make sure the whole family was on the same floor. They were very friendly and helped us with all our needs. The staff in the restaurant were very nice and the breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Denise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tlwickens, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Thank you for taking time to write a review on your recent stay over the holiday weekend. We appreicate all who take time to let us know what you think, how your stay was and if you enjoyed San Diego.
T. Wickens, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

I stayed for two nights in this extremely well-located hotel. The breakfast included was varied and yummy. The rooms were clean and beds very comfortable. We enjoyed the pool area and hot tub as well. I highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Ariana W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tlwickens, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Ariana W,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Best Western Plus Bayside Inn during your trip to San Diego and for taking time to share your experience. We strive to exceed the expectations of our guests and are please to see that you enjoyed our location, breakfast, and the care our housekeeping team takes when cleaning and maintaining our hotel. Thank you for your high recommendation!

Best Regards,

Grace Gerzen
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights after a Panama Canal cruise. Location was very good. Could walk to the "Midway' and to Little Italy to catch the tour trolley and to have great meals int the restaurants in Little Italy. The staff was very friendly. Totally enjoyed it.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Judy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tlwickens, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear Judy B,
We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Best Western Plus Bayside Inn. Thank you for taking time to review your stay and our proximity to attractions like the Midway and Little Italy. Our team takes great pride in the service provided and we thank you for sharing about the friendliness of our staff. We look forward to accommodating you again should you choose to vacation in San Diego or perhaps take another cruise docking in the nearby terminal.

Best Regards,
Grace Gerzen
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
#141 of 279 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 stars 1,441 reviews
Downtown
BEST WESTERN Cabrillo Garden Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Urban Boutique Hotel
Urban Boutique Hotel
#93 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 stars 278 reviews
Downtown
The Westin San Diego
The Westin San Diego
#40 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 583 reviews
Downtown
The Sofia Hotel
The Sofia Hotel
#98 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 stars 1,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn

Address: 555 West Ash Street, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#71 Family Hotel in San Diego
#74 Business Hotel in San Diego
#76 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Downtown San Diego, at the south end of the Little Italy the Best Western Plus Bayside Inn is a convenient location for leisure or business travel. We have 122 rooms, all with Balconies and many with views of the San Diego Big Bay or Downtown Skyline. Amenities include a Restaurant serving complimentary breakfast daily and dinner Monday thru Friday. Our Lounge is open daily, Monday to Friday from 4:00pm to 9:00pm. Room Service is available. We have an outdoor heated pook and whirlpool, FREE WI-FI in rooms, pool area, lobby and restaurant for you to stay connected. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and getaroom.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Bayside Hotel San Diego
Best Western Bayside Hotel
Best Western San Diego
San Diego Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing