We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   555 West Ash Street, San Diego, CA 92101 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #80 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
Pender Island, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Perfect Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

We stayed here to explore San Diego before embarking on a Panama cruise. We found the location to be excellent 1) we could walk to the cruise ship when we were ready to leave, 2) the tram line is about 2.5 blocks away and you can get 1-4 day passes reasonably trackside 3) Little Italy is right there and is great for meals and night life.
Breakfast was cafeteria style in a restaurant on the corner and was actually pretty decent with quite a few choices including scrambled eggs, pancakes, bacon/sausage/ ham, pastries, toast and cereal.
Room, pool, and hot tubs were clean and in good repair. Staff was good and very helpful.

Room Tip: Oceanview is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

738 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    383
    105
    19
    14
See reviews for
168
304
49
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

I have stayed at other hotels in Downtown San Diego and this hotel is the best price value is good. The hotel staff are very professional and friendly and always go above and beyond. Thank you Silvia Cornejo for always making our stay the best that it can be.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Not cheap, but great value. Well located, peaceful, near the Italian neighborhood. Pleasant, caring, helpful staff. Very comfortable accommodations. If/when I return to San Diego, this would be my hotel of choice.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

The location of the hotel is great and car parking (at a fee ) is available.
We had a lovely room overlooking the bay and it was well maintained. However the really disappointing aspect was the staff on the front desk. They did their job, no more. There were no greetings, no how can I help you, no attempt to make you feel welcome.

We encountered a poor attitude also from the restaurant "manageress at breakfast", whose approach to seating was verging on rude; "you can't sit there it's not cleared", or "Sit there!".
The young man in charge one day was a refreshing change and a good example to other staff in the hotel.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wildomar, California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We stayed for one night while attending a class reunion. We asked for a room with a view, and it was delivered! We stayed in 1411, perfect view of the bay, quiet, clean, very relaxing. We took a taxi back into the heart of the Gaslamp Quarter, easy to get a cab. We walked a block and found one with ease. The staff was very knowledgeable and helpful. It was a great deal!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view on a floor higher than the 8th floor if you want to see the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tlwickens, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Guest:
We are so happy that you enjoyed the view to the San Diego Big Bay from your room during your recent stay. I thank you for taking time to review our property and offer your comments.
If you return to San Diego, we truly hope that you give us the opportunity in the future to serve your lodging needs.
T. Wickens, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stayed here for a week-end. The room was great with all the amenities and services of a business hotel. Breakfast is regular, but you can start here and then enjoy a good lunch in one of the nice restaurants of the city.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view to the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delta
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Don't hesitate to stay here! This hotel is near the cruise ship terminal and the train station. It's central location is within walking distance of Little Italy, The Gaslamp Quarter and shopping at the Horton Plaza. In addition, public transit is close by and easy to use (the bus drivers were also friendly and offered suggestions on how to get to and from Balboa Park). This hotel offers very clean and comfortable rooms (ours overlooked the Bay) and the front desk staff are helpful and friendly. We would recommend this hotel to family and friends.

Room Tip: Ask for the bayview!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn

Address: 555 West Ash Street, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#71 Family Hotel in San Diego
#75 Business Hotel in San Diego
#77 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Downtown San Diego, at the south end of the Little Italy the Best Western Plus Bayside Inn is a convenient location for leisure or business travel. We have 122 rooms, all with Balconies and many with views of the San Diego Big Bay or Downtown Skyline. Amenities include a Restaurant serving complimentary breakfast daily and dinner Monday thru Friday. Our Lounge is open daily, Monday to Friday from 4:00pm to 9:00pm. Room Service is available. We have an outdoor heated pook and whirlpool, FREE WI-FI in rooms, pool area, lobby and restaurant for you to stay connected. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, AAA Travel Services, BookIt.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Bayside Hotel San Diego
Best Western Bayside Hotel
Best Western San Diego
San Diego Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.