We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great ComicCon hotel!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   555 West Ash Street, San Diego, CA 92101 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #64 of 269 hotels in San Diego
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great ComicCon hotel!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights while attending ComicCon. It was a great hotel for the convention, right on a shuttle stop, or walking distance from the trolley. The room was equipped with a refrigerator and microwave, which we appreciated, traveling with a child. It was the only ComicCon hotel available with the fridge and microwave. It also had free Wi-Fi! The beds were EXTREMELY comfy. We had a bayview room on the 10th floor, AND a small balcony, which was really lovely. The free breakfast in the adjoining restaurant was nice, but we wished we could have brought the coffee and a pastry up to our room. The proximity to Little Italy is great for restaurants, but don't expect much in the way of nearby fast-food options, because there aren't any. All in all, an excellent stay and we would stay here again.

Room Tip: We loved our bayview room on an upper floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

612 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    178
    322
    84
    15
    13
See reviews for
134
254
39
68
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oregon, USA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This property was such an incredibly pleasant suprise, and I'm super picky when I travel about cleanliness, convenience of location, and safety (woman traveling alone for business). The staff is just great and the rooms are updated, clean, and quite large. I know that others have posted reviews mentioning about the train/trolley noise, so just in case I requested a city side room (which all face away from the train lines) and a higher floor. I didn't hear one single thing all night.

Great suprises: the rooms were very updated and super clean. There was a huge double glass sliding door that you could actually open... onto a little veranda that you could walk out on. I loved hearing the city during the day and getting fresh air. It's pretty rare in my experience that you can actually open windows/doors in hotel rooms. Also, this property is only 3 blocks away from Little Italy... incredible restaurants there. Only 3 blocks away from trolley - super convenient.

Really great stay. Really great staff. Really great location. Ask for a higher floor room on the city side, as the views of the city are wonderful. I'd absolutely stay here again. It's a clean, safe area to walk around in, even at night. Also - a note about breakfast: standard baked goods, cereal & milk, oatmeal, whole fruit, and hot eggs, potatoes, and meat. Not bad for a free breakfast.

Room Tip: High floor, city side. Great views adn can't hear trains on that side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

This hotel provided a great location to the bay area. We were new to visiting San Diego and this location was excellent! It's in the downtown area. We traveled with our kids and the hotel is in a safe area. Very close driving distance to the Zoo, Balboa Park, Sea World, Mission Beach and Old town San Diego. The room was nice and clean. The breakfast buffet was delicious! It included tasty hot dishes, eggs, ham, cereals, breads, fruit, etc. The front desk staff was very helpful and courteous. Check-in and check-out was great and smooth. The staff manning the breakfast was extremely nice, and helpful to provide driving directions or tourist attraction suggestions. Would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

This was on the tail end of our road trip and what a delight. It is clean, tidy, comfortable, nice decor and wonderful staff who are extremely professiona and nothing is a problem. The room originally prebooked was not available so we were upgraded and compensated with vouchers for the neighbouring restaurant. We really enjoyed our stay here and will be back. The location is excellent. Not to far out and just far enough out to be enjoyable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, United States
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Stayed one night in July before leaving San Diego after daughter's wedding. It seemed more like a business hotel, which was fine for one night. Didn't use pool. Enjoyed the free hot buffet breakfast next door. Short drive or medium walk to Little Italy for dinner. Staff was very pleasant and helpful. Room was well-appointed and comfortable. We had a bay view on 14th floor which was great. Price was $170 plus fees thru BW website.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed here for just one night during Comic-Con but were impressed with clean and pleasant the room, great shuttle provided, excellent location, and most of all the kindness of the gentleman and the front desk. Aside from being efficient and professional, he kindly gave my teenager a comic-con card he'd found when we asked about where to find them (you need to be a geek to understand, but it was a nice gesture). This hotel is not for those who are looking for something really fancy, but a nice place to relax when in San Diego. Only downside: it was rather expensive, but that might just be because of the convention.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Cucamonga, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one night. The room was very spacious and clean. The suite was furnished with cooking utensils, plates, cups, etc. Great view of the marina. A little pricey but that's due to peak season rates. Overall we enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Second floor has better views and is more private
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn

Address: 555 West Ash Street, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#70 Family Hotel in San Diego
#74 Business Hotel in San Diego
#77 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Downtown San Diego, at the south end of the Little Italy the Best Western Plus Bayside Inn is a convenient location for leisure or business travel. We have 122 rooms, all with Balconies and many with views of the San Diego Big Bay or Downtown Skyline. Amenities include a Restaurant serving complimentary breakfast daily and dinner Monday thru Friday. Our Lounge is open daily, Monday to Friday from 4:00pm to 9:00pm. Room Service is available. We have an outdoor heated pook and whirlpool, FREE WI-FI in rooms, pool area, lobby and restaurant for you to stay connected. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Bayside Hotel San Diego
Best Western Bayside Hotel
Best Western San Diego
San Diego Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.