We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   555 West Ash Street, San Diego, CA 92101 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #73 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

This was on the tail end of our road trip and what a delight. It is clean, tidy, comfortable, nice decor and wonderful staff who are extremely professiona and nothing is a problem. The room originally prebooked was not available so we were upgraded and compensated with vouchers for the neighbouring restaurant. We really enjoyed our stay here and will be back. The location is excellent. Not to far out and just far enough out to be enjoyable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    344
    95
    16
    13
See reviews for
154
270
42
72
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Louis, United States
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Stayed one night in July before leaving San Diego after daughter's wedding. It seemed more like a business hotel, which was fine for one night. Didn't use pool. Enjoyed the free hot buffet breakfast next door. Short drive or medium walk to Little Italy for dinner. Staff was very pleasant and helpful. Room was well-appointed and comfortable. We had a bay view on 14th floor which was great. Price was $170 plus fees thru BW website.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed here for just one night during Comic-Con but were impressed with clean and pleasant the room, great shuttle provided, excellent location, and most of all the kindness of the gentleman and the front desk. Aside from being efficient and professional, he kindly gave my teenager a comic-con card he'd found when we asked about where to find them (you need to be a geek to understand, but it was a nice gesture). This hotel is not for those who are looking for something really fancy, but a nice place to relax when in San Diego. Only downside: it was rather expensive, but that might just be because of the convention.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Cucamonga, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one night. The room was very spacious and clean. The suite was furnished with cooking utensils, plates, cups, etc. Great view of the marina. A little pricey but that's due to peak season rates. Overall we enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Second floor has better views and is more private
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Spent 4 nights in this hotel and it was in a pretty good position to explore San Diego. Walking distance to the train / trolley stop, the bayside area, gaslamp quarter, and right next to Little Italy we could have easily spent longer here.

The hotel itself was nice and clean and I think all rooms have views towards the bay. The swimming pool and spa was great and the staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast provided was very good and better than other Best Western hotels I have stayed at. We also ate at the restaurant once and the service and food was excellent. I would stay here again if in San Diego.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room higher than 5th floor to get a view of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

I think i paid a bit more for a bay view but on the top floor it was worth it. A short walk from the Amtrak Station, the waterfront and Little Italy. Everything was satisfactory and a fridge and microwave in the room was a welcome extra. The hotel airport shuttle was prompt, making it easier to get there. A satisfying stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moreno Valley, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We were pleased of the location. My girls and I brought our bikes and we found it to be very easy access to most tourist spots. The room was very clean and to see the ocean is very exciting from our room. Little Italy is only a few blocks away, with a lot of restaurants to choose from.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn

Address: 555 West Ash Street, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#70 Family Hotel in San Diego
#76 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#76 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Downtown San Diego, at the south end of the Little Italy the Best Western Plus Bayside Inn is a convenient location for leisure or business travel. We have 122 rooms, all with Balconies and many with views of the San Diego Big Bay or Downtown Skyline. Amenities include a Restaurant serving complimentary breakfast daily and dinner Monday thru Friday. Our Lounge is open daily, Monday to Friday from 4:00pm to 9:00pm. Room Service is available. We have an outdoor heated pook and whirlpool, FREE WI-FI in rooms, pool area, lobby and restaurant for you to stay connected. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Odigeo, Otel, getaroom.com and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Bayside Hotel San Diego
Best Western Bayside Hotel
Best Western San Diego
San Diego Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;