We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   555 West Ash Street, San Diego, CA 92101 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #67 of 268 hotels in San Diego
Rancho Cucamonga, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one night. The room was very spacious and clean. The suite was furnished with cooking utensils, plates, cups, etc. Great view of the marina. A little pricey but that's due to peak season rates. Overall we enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Second floor has better views and is more private
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

624 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    182
    328
    85
    16
    13
See reviews for
138
257
40
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Spent 4 nights in this hotel and it was in a pretty good position to explore San Diego. Walking distance to the train / trolley stop, the bayside area, gaslamp quarter, and right next to Little Italy we could have easily spent longer here.

The hotel itself was nice and clean and I think all rooms have views towards the bay. The swimming pool and spa was great and the staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast provided was very good and better than other Best Western hotels I have stayed at. We also ate at the restaurant once and the service and food was excellent. I would stay here again if in San Diego.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room higher than 5th floor to get a view of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

I think i paid a bit more for a bay view but on the top floor it was worth it. A short walk from the Amtrak Station, the waterfront and Little Italy. Everything was satisfactory and a fridge and microwave in the room was a welcome extra. The hotel airport shuttle was prompt, making it easier to get there. A satisfying stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moreno Valley, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We were pleased of the location. My girls and I brought our bikes and we found it to be very easy access to most tourist spots. The room was very clean and to see the ocean is very exciting from our room. Little Italy is only a few blocks away, with a lot of restaurants to choose from.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Was in San Diego for a week at a conference and found this hotel perfect for my needs. The price was great, and included free internet and breakfast. The breakfast in the restaurant next door was much better than some free breakfasts I've had; had multiple hot dishes, breads, cereals, yogurt, etc. each day. The hotel is location a few minutes walk from the trolley lines that can take you throughout the city, and from the harbour front. Lots of restaurant choices with little Italy just north of the hotel. The staff were very helpful and polite. I also took the free shuttle to and from the airport...had a little trouble on the way back to the airport where they couldn't find the driver for about 20min (even though I had booked shuttle at front desk the night before), but I guess you get what you pay for there. I would definitly stay at this hotel again if I'm back in San Diego.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Colorado, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Although this hotel is about 5 blocks from the bay and lacking views of the ocean (ask for a city view), it makes up for it with friendly, professional staff, good shuttle service, clean rooms and some of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in while at a hotel!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire England
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We had a room on the tenth floor that had a good view of the bay. We stayed here two nights and the hotel is in a good location, on the edge of Little Italy and restaurants and cafes - fantastic pizza and salad take-out (can eat in) from Napizza at 1702 India St.

The room was large, well maintained and clean. The only problem with the room is that the a/c system was not up to keeping the room cooled and it even remained hot with the curtains closed to keep the sun out. It was nice to stand on the balcony in the evening looking out at the bay.

Breakfast is taken in the restaurant next door to the hotel. Our experience of the breakfast selection was that it was very limited, the cereals are geared for children, no bananas or yoghurts and the coffee was awful. As other reviewers have said there is a Riteaid two blocks down from the hotel where you can get supplies for breakfast if the hotel one doesn't appeal.

The hotel is close to the Embarcardo and an easy walk. Balboa Park and the zoo are a short drive from the hotel.

Parking at the hotel cost $14 a night and the carpark is safe.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn

Address: 555 West Ash Street, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#70 Family Hotel in San Diego
#75 Business Hotel in San Diego
#77 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Downtown San Diego, at the south end of the Little Italy the Best Western Plus Bayside Inn is a convenient location for leisure or business travel. We have 122 rooms, all with Balconies and many with views of the San Diego Big Bay or Downtown Skyline. Amenities include a Restaurant serving complimentary breakfast daily and dinner Monday thru Friday. Our Lounge is open daily, Monday to Friday from 4:00pm to 9:00pm. Room Service is available. We have an outdoor heated pook and whirlpool, FREE WI-FI in rooms, pool area, lobby and restaurant for you to stay connected. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Despegar.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Bayside Hotel San Diego
Best Western Bayside Hotel
Best Western San Diego
San Diego Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.