We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   555 West Ash Street, San Diego, CA 92101 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #72 of 270 hotels in San Diego
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

I think i paid a bit more for a bay view but on the top floor it was worth it. A short walk from the Amtrak Station, the waterfront and Little Italy. Everything was satisfactory and a fridge and microwave in the room was a welcome extra. The hotel airport shuttle was prompt, making it easier to get there. A satisfying stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

656 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    192
    341
    94
    16
    13
See reviews for
152
268
42
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moreno Valley, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We were pleased of the location. My girls and I brought our bikes and we found it to be very easy access to most tourist spots. The room was very clean and to see the ocean is very exciting from our room. Little Italy is only a few blocks away, with a lot of restaurants to choose from.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Was in San Diego for a week at a conference and found this hotel perfect for my needs. The price was great, and included free internet and breakfast. The breakfast in the restaurant next door was much better than some free breakfasts I've had; had multiple hot dishes, breads, cereals, yogurt, etc. each day. The hotel is location a few minutes walk from the trolley lines that can take you throughout the city, and from the harbour front. Lots of restaurant choices with little Italy just north of the hotel. The staff were very helpful and polite. I also took the free shuttle to and from the airport...had a little trouble on the way back to the airport where they couldn't find the driver for about 20min (even though I had booked shuttle at front desk the night before), but I guess you get what you pay for there. I would definitly stay at this hotel again if I'm back in San Diego.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Colorado, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Although this hotel is about 5 blocks from the bay and lacking views of the ocean (ask for a city view), it makes up for it with friendly, professional staff, good shuttle service, clean rooms and some of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in while at a hotel!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire England
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We had a room on the tenth floor that had a good view of the bay. We stayed here two nights and the hotel is in a good location, on the edge of Little Italy and restaurants and cafes - fantastic pizza and salad take-out (can eat in) from Napizza at 1702 India St.

The room was large, well maintained and clean. The only problem with the room is that the a/c system was not up to keeping the room cooled and it even remained hot with the curtains closed to keep the sun out. It was nice to stand on the balcony in the evening looking out at the bay.

Breakfast is taken in the restaurant next door to the hotel. Our experience of the breakfast selection was that it was very limited, the cereals are geared for children, no bananas or yoghurts and the coffee was awful. As other reviewers have said there is a Riteaid two blocks down from the hotel where you can get supplies for breakfast if the hotel one doesn't appeal.

The hotel is close to the Embarcardo and an easy walk. Balboa Park and the zoo are a short drive from the hotel.

Parking at the hotel cost $14 a night and the carpark is safe.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

In May/June 2013, my fiancé and I (in our late twenties) stayed at Best Western Plus Bayside Inn Hotel for two nights. We had booked – and paid extra – for a room with bayview; however, from our room on the sixth floor we didn’t see too much of the bay (maybe it is better when you get a room on a higher floor). Our room (607) was spacious and clean with two Queen beds. The bathroom was functional; however, the water temperature in both the sink and shower was difficult to regulate and it could take quite a while until the cold water stopped being burning hot.

Breakfast was included in the room rate but was rather basic. The hotel has its own parking garage at the cost of 14 $ which we think is a good price. Wifi was free. The staff was very friendly.

Furthermore, the hotel is located very conveniently: it is a 15-minute-walk to Horton Plaza / the Gaslamp Quarter .

We paid about 140 € per night for Best Western Plus Bayside Inn Hotel (excluding parking). Considering this relatively high price, we choose to give the hotel 3/5 stars. Nevertheless, we would recommend the hotel (especially if you get a good deal) and if we returned to San Diego, we would consider staying at Best Western Plus Bayside Inn Hotel again.

Room Tip: Try to get a bayview room on a higher floor. There was not too much of a bayview from the sixth floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We stayed at the Best Western Plus Bayside for 1 night during our Family Vacation to Southern California, and it was a great place to rest our weary heads.

The room was huge, with very comfy beds, a small sofa, coffee table and little writing table. We didn't get a chance to use the pools, but those that were using them looked like they were having a good time.

Breakfast was good and was a nice start to the day.

We had no issues with the Wifi while in-house. It worked flawlessly.

Be warned however that due to this property being located in the Downtown San Diego area, there is a charge for parking. ($14 at the time of our visit)

The location is great! A quick walk to the Bay and you are at attractions like the Maritime Museum of San Diego and the USS Midway Museum. (I highly recommend both!)

Overall this was a great place to stay while enjoying what San Diego had to offer.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn

Address: 555 West Ash Street, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#70 Family Hotel in San Diego
#75 Business Hotel in San Diego
#77 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Downtown San Diego, at the south end of the Little Italy the Best Western Plus Bayside Inn is a convenient location for leisure or business travel. We have 122 rooms, all with Balconies and many with views of the San Diego Big Bay or Downtown Skyline. Amenities include a Restaurant serving complimentary breakfast daily and dinner Monday thru Friday. Our Lounge is open daily, Monday to Friday from 4:00pm to 9:00pm. Room Service is available. We have an outdoor heated pook and whirlpool, FREE WI-FI in rooms, pool area, lobby and restaurant for you to stay connected. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Expedia so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Bayside Hotel San Diego
Best Western Bayside Hotel
Best Western San Diego
San Diego Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.