We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   555 West Ash Street, San Diego, CA 92101 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #71 of 270 hotels in San Diego
Edmonton
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We were quite satisfied, and I'm a very particular kind of guy! Front desk staff were very helpful and friendly, room service did a good cleaning job, complimentary breakfast was quite tasty and fresh, great available parking and the location was awesome and walking distance to several key sites like the USS Midway. Other than three very small holes in room curtains where light shined through in the morning, I'd say this was pretty close to perfection as you can get. Price was reasonable and good vlaue. I would definitely stay here again. Well done!

Room Tip: Get a high up bay side room for best views of ocean and sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

653 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    191
    340
    93
    16
    13
See reviews for
151
266
42
71
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

Only spent 2 nights here but enjoyed the stay. The room we had was in the middle of the top level, great view of the water! The room was a good size, big bed and nice tv. Breakfast was in the restaurant next door, either hot or cold. Very good location, only a few blocks from the water. Staff were helpful as well!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Gallen
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Rooms:
Big and space full, modern, with big television
The beds are comfortable
Table an couch in the room

Bathroom:
Enough space for two persons with bath tube and shower

The Hotel:
with pool, unfortunately in the middle of two buildings, almost no sun.
Parking house next to the Hotel
Breakfast in the restaurant next to the hotel

The hotel its located near to the sea, just two blocks away. The city center (gas lamp quarter) its about 15min walk away. Little Italy, with a lot of nice restaurants, is 5 min walk away. Across the street is " Raid aid" which is open 24/7 which sales everything you need.

I would definitely recommend this Hotel for trip to San Diego!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula, California, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Location is the draw for this hotel. It has been remolded and is clean. For the price it was a disappointing. We were first given a room next to an elevator and overlooking the parking garage, we requested a room away from the elevator and were given a room next to the parking garage. The bed was good, TV was large, hot water was very very hot, watch out for this.Nice breakfast hot and cold choices.We were there on a weekend and there was no close place to have a libation after a long trip. The city is pretty quiet in this area during the weekend.However, you can walk to Little Italy and I'm sure there is refreshment there. I had not realized there would be a fourteen dollar charge per night parking and a required twenty dollar deposit for incidentals, usually hotels just ask to use the credit card on file--I think it was just the way they verbalized this that made me wonder. Great shuttle service to our harbor dinner cruise. Friendly driver, saved us from the hassle of finding and paying for parking..

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the elevator and parking garage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

My wife, 5 year old son and I spent five nights here during our recent visit to San Diego. Overall, we were happy with our stay. The hotel is centrally located downtown (very quiet at night and don’t be surprised to see all the homeless a block or two away) and within walking distance to Little Italy and the Gaslamp Quarter, giving you lots of dining and shopping options. You are also a five to ten minute walk to both the USS Midway (we spent a good part of the day there) and Maritime Museum. It was also a short drive to both Sea World and the San Diego Zoo.

The staff were really friendly and helpful and the room was quite nice and comfortable. There is also a public computer available if you need to print anything. There is also an in-room safe, which is something that we really appreciate wherever we stay.

Breakfast was included with our room rate, so I don’t like to be too negative about that, but it did seem just a bit lacking. There were a couple of tour groups while we were there and it appeared they were having trouble keeping up as well, and there did not seem to be enough space to deal with the number of people. We had to sit in the bar section a couple of times. Also, breakfast was served in the hotel restaurant, whose décor is really, really basic and seems to have this cold, sanitary, 80’s feel to the place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson AZ
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We were very impressed with our recent stay at the Bayside Inn. We had requested a room on a high floor, and from our 11th floor room we had a beautiful view of the Star of India ship in San Diego bay. Our balcony room was very clean, and included a microwave and refrigerator. The only thing we could have wished for was a nice comfortable chair; there was plenty of room. The hotel was quiet and within walking distance of most of the sights in San Diego. We walked the two blocks to Little Italy for dinner. Breakfast was excellent with plenty of choices. We will definitely stay at this property again!

Room Tip: Opt for the bayside rooms; they are lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

I stayed here as part of a UK organised Tour Group for 2 nights in May 2013 but I doubt if we were given much preferential treatment because it was good anyway. As a group we were given a pleasant afternoon tea upon arrival while they sorted the registration with our Tour Guide and also putting the luggage in our rooms. Splendid. The bedrooms were nice with a balcony, comfortable beds, nice bathroom with all the complimentaries one would expect. Cleaning during the following day was good. We were not disturbed by traffic or other guests. Breakfasts were substantial with a good choice, so if you stayed several days you would not be bored, Yes, with tour groups there is often a bulge in dining rooms etc but then you get that anywhere. A free guest computer in the hall was welcome compared to what we found elsewhere. All staff very friendly and willing to assist. I would stay here again. It was the standard by which we judged the other hotels in California/Arizona/Utah.

Room Tip: Mention any special needs when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn

Address: 555 West Ash Street, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#70 Family Hotel in San Diego
#75 Business Hotel in San Diego
#77 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Downtown San Diego, at the south end of the Little Italy the Best Western Plus Bayside Inn is a convenient location for leisure or business travel. We have 122 rooms, all with Balconies and many with views of the San Diego Big Bay or Downtown Skyline. Amenities include a Restaurant serving complimentary breakfast daily and dinner Monday thru Friday. Our Lounge is open daily, Monday to Friday from 4:00pm to 9:00pm. Room Service is available. We have an outdoor heated pook and whirlpool, FREE WI-FI in rooms, pool area, lobby and restaurant for you to stay connected. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Otel, HotelsClick, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Expedia so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Bayside Hotel San Diego
Best Western Bayside Hotel
Best Western San Diego
San Diego Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.